Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-06-2001, 01:18 AM
Slideman Slideman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 100
Default Trash Finder Prefs

Been trying to trash my Finder preferences but when I attempt to empty the trash a prompt says that the prefs can't be trashed ("finder in use" or something like that). Tried holding down option but to no avail.
Any thoughts?
Thanks
__________________
HD3 accel PT 6.9.2
OSX 10.4.1
G5 dual 2.0
3gig ram
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-06-2001, 01:22 AM
Slideman Slideman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 100
Default Re: Trash Finder Prefs

Oops... forgot to mention: OS 9.04 G4 400 and no other applications open.
__________________
HD3 accel PT 6.9.2
OSX 10.4.1
G5 dual 2.0
3gig ram
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2001, 01:42 AM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,516
Default Re: Trash Finder Prefs

You could boot from your Mac OS install CD, or other bootable CD like Norton, DiskWarrior, TechTool Pro, etc., then delete the finder prefs from your system drive.

Or you may just need to boot normally, drag the finder prefs to the trash, restart, then empty the trash. The Finder should have created a new preference file in the System Folder already, so you can then delete the old one. As you found out, you won't be able to delete them when they are in use.
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-06-2001, 09:10 AM
Slideman Slideman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 100
Default Re: Trash Finder Prefs

Thanks!
__________________
HD3 accel PT 6.9.2
OSX 10.4.1
G5 dual 2.0
3gig ram
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why do we need to trash prefs? Audioartist macOS 9 03-13-2013 09:35 AM
PT9 - having to trash prefs a lot Shanegrla macOS 2 07-15-2011 01:38 PM
trash all prefs Tommy123 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-25-2009 09:18 AM
How do you Trash your Prefs? fooloof Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 02-21-2009 10:58 AM
How do you trash prefs and databases? neeel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-20-2005 10:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com