Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2007, 12:20 PM
Sascha Pendegraft Sascha Pendegraft is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Default Multiple songs per session...

I am recording some lectures for school and want there to be a different CD track for each section without having to open up a new session for each one. It will all be one long lecture, but I need to insert CD tracks (Yes, I am stating the same thing two different ways so that there isn't any miscommunication regarding what my need/ questions is). How do I do this in a session? I haven't even looked in my manual yet, nor have I even searched the menu options...I just need a quick answer, if possible. Thanks y'all.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2007, 01:06 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Multiple songs per session...

Normally, you don't do this in a session, you do it with the CD burning software.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-11-2007, 07:09 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,006
Default Re: Multiple songs per session...

WaveLab and SOund Forge(or is it sonic foundry?) both let you insert track markers in a long piece of audio. When you burn the disc, make sure you select whether you want space or no space(i.e. silence) between "tracks".
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-12-2007, 01:59 PM
Barnabas Barnabas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 966
Default Re: Multiple songs per session...

I set up markers at each track break. Then I select the audio from the start marker to the end marker, and bounce each song (track) one at a time. Then I import these tracks into my CD burning program and set the time between tracks to zero seconds.
__________________
www.barnabas.com Barnabas MultiMedia
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-24-2007, 11:06 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,612
Default Re: Multiple songs per session...

CD Architect will let you drop track markers, and even track index markers, so you could have multiple cue points within each track. NERO also gives you that option to drop markers, but since the release of version 7, I haven't even been able to get NERO to load. Had to switch to Roxio, but don't see a "drop track marker" option.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-24-2007, 11:00 PM
MJarzabek MJarzabek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 28
Default Re: Multiple songs per session...

Open your session, import the audio from the lecture. As it plays insert markers where you want the tracks to start by hitting "enter" on the numeric pad. Your markers will be set up in numerical order.

Once you have the markers set up, bounce each song by selecting the start and end marker. For example, if your song starts at marker 1 and ends on marker 2, hit ".1." hold down shift and then ".2." That will select the audio for track 1. Track 2 would be ".2.", hold shift, and then ".3." and so on.

Once it is selected, bounce it to disk. Do this for each song/track and you should be good.

Hope this helped,

Mike
__________________
Still working.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breaking up multiple songs in one session into multiple sessions? rmandelbaum Windows 10 08-14-2013 11:05 PM
Bit of an odd one maybe... multiple songs, one session AdamPT8 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 02-27-2010 06:41 PM
Mixing Multiple Songs In One Session Keniko 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 06-20-2007 05:52 PM
Multiple songs...one session.... LFarah Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 11-20-2006 10:45 AM
Multiple songs in a session or one for one? Jeff Hodges Tips & Tricks 5 02-05-2002 12:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com