Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2007, 12:00 PM
Keniko Keniko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Addison,IL
Posts: 237
Default Mixing Multiple Songs In One Session

I'm mixing a demo cd for my band. We recorded six songs into one session and I wanted to know what's the easiest way to keep the volume, Aux send/return and plug in settings seperate from song to song. I have all the plug ins I'm using set up for automation along with the sends and returns. I don't want to change something say in song #2 and have this move effect song #1. Does Pro Tools automatically put a automation node at the start of each song for all the volume and plug in parameters or do I do this manually? What's the best way to acheive this?
__________________
iMac 27" 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 Pro Tools 10.3.10, Digi 002, Octopre w/Adat light pipe, Glyph GT052
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2007, 12:06 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Mixing Multipul Songs In One Session

I would have all the songs in one session. Set-up your plugs, returns, inserts for that one "assembled" session.

Then edit out each song to an individual session. That way you can change song #1 without effecting song #2.

You can save and restore plug settings for the different sessions (songs).
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2007, 01:15 PM
Keniko Keniko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Addison,IL
Posts: 237
Default Re: Mixing Multipul Songs In One Session

Hey Park,

Thanks for the respnose.....I'm sorry but I'm not following you.
__________________
iMac 27" 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 Pro Tools 10.3.10, Digi 002, Octopre w/Adat light pipe, Glyph GT052
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2007, 01:41 PM
tomdiek tomdiek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 201
Default Re: Mixing Multiple Songs In One Session

What I would do is set up your mix for the first song. Cut out all of the other songs/audio and resave under the name of that song. Then re-open the original compilation and repeat the process, this time setting up the second song, and so on........
If I'm not mistaken I think this is what Park was suggesting.
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.12
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015)
4 GHz Intel Core i7
24 GB 1867 MHz DDR3
Apogee Symphony MKII Thunderbolt 2X6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-2007, 02:25 PM
Keniko Keniko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Addison,IL
Posts: 237
Default Re: Mixing Multiple Songs In One Session

Thanks Tom and Park,

If I understand this right I'm essentially creating a new session for each song from the original session erasing all audio except the new save as..... song Right?

That's actually less work. I've mixed three of the songs and after editing tracks and consolidating I've been naming tracks by track and song name.....Kick_LittleTime_Keeper just to keep my audio regions bin less confusing. You can imagine 24 tracks for each of the six songs.....well the region bin is huge. Your way keeps that easier to manage as only the files used for the song are present in the region bin. Kuul !!!. When all songs are mixed to their own individual session can I erase the original Session with all the songs? Will there be an issue with parent files?
__________________
iMac 27" 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 Pro Tools 10.3.10, Digi 002, Octopre w/Adat light pipe, Glyph GT052
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-20-2007, 05:52 PM
Naagzh Naagzh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,175
Default Re: Mixing Multiple Songs In One Session

Quote:
Thanks Tom and Park,

If I understand this right I'm essentially creating a new session for each song from the original session erasing all audio except the new save as..... song Right?

That's actually less work. I've mixed three of the songs and after editing tracks and consolidating I've been naming tracks by track and song name.....Kick_LittleTime_Keeper just to keep my audio regions bin less confusing. You can imagine 24 tracks for each of the six songs.....well the region bin is huge. Your way keeps that easier to manage as only the files used for the song are present in the region bin. Kuul !!!. When all songs are mixed to their own individual session can I erase the original Session with all the songs? Will there be an issue with parent files?
Be careful. THe situation you're currently in has been known to precede this statement:

"What?! Where'd my audio go? OH NOOOO!"

One session per song, man. But first things first: now would be an excellent time to BACK UP YOUR WORK! In fact, many here know how to solve your dilemma, but I'm begging you to make a back up (just copy all the audio onto a few DVD-Rs) before you take anyone's advice about removing unused regions.

Post back here after you've backed up. It's smart to learn from mistakes; it's wise to learn from others'.
__________________
002R PT7.3.1
MacBook Pro 2.33
OS 10.4.8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breaking up multiple songs in one session into multiple sessions? rmandelbaum Windows 10 08-14-2013 11:05 PM
Bit of an odd one maybe... multiple songs, one session AdamPT8 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 02-27-2010 06:41 PM
Multiple songs per session... Sascha Pendegraft Tips & Tricks 5 10-24-2007 11:00 PM
Multiple songs...one session.... LFarah Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 11-20-2006 10:45 AM
Multiple songs in a session or one for one? Jeff Hodges Tips & Tricks 5 02-05-2002 12:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com