Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-28-2020, 09:18 PM
Strongtower Strongtower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Leicester
Posts: 1
Default Pro tool

Hello everyone,

what Pro tool software ideal for audio editing can install on Mac powerpc G5 - OSX 10.5,8 and how do I activate it,could'nt find any info on Avid website.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2020, 05:55 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,419
Default Re: Pro tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Strongtower View Post
Hello everyone,

what Pro tool software ideal for audio editing can install on Mac powerpc G5 - OSX 10.5,8 and how do I activate it,could'nt find any info on Avid website.
Its tough to find info as you're asking about stuff that's 12-14 years old(which is ancient in the world of computers). Looks like 8.0.4/8.0.5 are the likely options. In that era, there was Pro Tools LE, which is authorized by a code that would look like "DIGI08......" and it would only function with a compatible interface(Mbox 2, 002 or 003). There was also HD software which required an iLok(with license), an HD core card(minimum) and at least 1 interface(probably limited to the 96 IO or 192 IO). Of course none of this is very ideal because you can't buy that vintage of Pro Tools outside of the second hand market, and getting compatible plugins will be tough if not impossible.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2020, 06:36 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,074
Default Re: Pro tool

Hi, welcome to the community.

Compatibility info here.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is is possible to change the shortcuts for the Pencil Tool, Grabber Tool, ETC? jgagne1 macOS 2 09-24-2013 07:46 AM
Weird Smart Tool/Selector Tool issue? Marsdy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 01-15-2012 07:22 AM
Get Grabber tool (Object) as part of smart tool? buckaroo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 07-13-2010 04:21 AM
Pencil tool turns into mouse pointer tool when drawing arvid.lind 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 02-11-2010 12:36 AM
Smart Tool / Pencil Tool in Midi Editor AndyJCP 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 04-26-2009 08:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com