Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-02-2018, 08:19 AM
JGuth JGuth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 423
Default Pro Tools quits unexpectedly while loading plug-ins on launch (PT-206888)

Pro Tools quits unexpectedly while loading plug-ins on launch (PT-206888)

This is a bug from the PT 12.8.3 read me which just bit my system last night.
PT 2018.1 Sierra 10.12.6 MAC. Happens in systems with 100's of plugins.
So definitely not fixed in 2018.1 !
Below is the workaround from the 12.8.3 Readme:

• Move approximately 100 plug-ins (or more) from the Plug-Ins folder to the Plug-Ins (Unused) folder (/Library/Application Support/Avid/Audio/).
• Launch Pro Tools.
• Quit Pro Tools.
• Move the plug-ins back from the Plug-Ins (Unused) folder to the Plug-Ins folder.
• Launch Pro Tools.

Why does PT have this and other vunerabilities involving plug ins??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-02-2018, 10:55 AM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,189
Default Re: Pro Tools quits unexpectedly while loading plug-ins on launch (PT-206888)

It's likely the problem is with the plugin, not Pro Tools. Which plugin is attempting to load when Pro Tools quits? That's probably the problem plugin.
__________________
Help Us Help You



Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-2018, 06:27 AM
abc1mce2's Avatar
abc1mce2 abc1mce2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Motor City
Posts: 206
Default Re: Pro Tools quits unexpectedly while loading plug-ins on launch (PT-206888)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwsand View Post
It's likely the problem is with the plugin, not Pro Tools. Which plugin is attempting to load when Pro Tools quits? That's probably the problem plugin.
Move that plugin that's being loaded when PT crashes into your unused folder and PT should load. I've had that happen to me as well due to problematic plugins.

Also when clearing my preferences PT for some reason don't like to load all my plugins again so some will crash and after PT loads I have to quit and relaunch and the crashed plugins will load the second time around.

In the past, PT was trying to load so many plugins (several hundred or so after clearing pref. but I uninstalled many used plugins since then) it would crash, so where the plugin or a little before where the crash would happen during launch I would move that plugin and all the plugins after that to a folder on my desktop, then launch PT again, after PT boots close PT then place all the other plugins back into my plugins folder and launch PT again. PT would launch as normal at that point and I was good after that.
__________________
What is more relaxing then Music?

GigabyteX79-UP4 Rev 1.1
Xeon E5 2680 v.2. 10 Core cpu Windows10 v.1803
Avid HDX 2019.6 HD - 16x16 - 8x8x8 HD I/O - PT Dock - PT Control - AVID Artist Mix (2)
Universal Audio UAD2 Pci-E and Satellite USB Octo - Pci-E Quad - SOLO 610 - Twin-finity
Antelope Trinity - 10M
Grace Design M905
Bricasti M7 (2)
Lexicon PCM96
Burl B2
Dangerous 2Bus
Neumann KH805 - KH310
Yamaha NS-10M
Avantone Mixcubes
Etc, etc, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-04-2018, 01:47 PM
JGuth JGuth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 423
Default Re: Pro Tools quits unexpectedly while loading plug-ins on launch (PT-206888)

No, it is not a particular plugin. When I first experienced the crashes, that's exactly what I did: removed the plugin that threw the error message, then another one, and another down the line. No luck. Did as the read me says and it ended the crashes, then added the suspect plugins back ( Soundtoys and Waves ! ) and they work just fine. It has to do with the number of plugins.
I'm posting it because it's a known bug which has not been fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-04-2018, 03:17 PM
blackmacdaddy blackmacdaddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 418
Default Re: Pro Tools quits unexpectedly while loading plug-ins on launch (PT-206888)

I have a lot of plugins too and this is a known bug.

However, for those of you with "problem sessions":
HOLD SHIFT while you open Pro Tools (it will animate the App Icon slowly)
This opens the session with all plugins inactive.

Then, reactivate your inserted plugins one-at-a-time using command & control + a mouseclick, or, add option too and do each insert letter at a time

Eventually, you'll find the inserted plugin(s) that is causing the "pro tools won't open" issue.

I had a heck of a time tracking down AMPLITUBE 3 that was on inactive tracks on some sessions.
After removing all of the Amplitube 3 plugs the sessions perform normally.

A sidenote: I have AMPLITUBE 4 now and it behaves, although Pro Tools often stops playback when changing presets on Amplitube 4, which is a drag.
__________________
It's only R'n'R but I like it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools MP Quits Unexpectedly at Launch spork999 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 05-09-2012 01:15 PM
Pro Tools 9 "Quits Unexpectedly" on start, when loading Plugins! dbC4G macOS 6 04-06-2012 05:51 AM
Help! Pro-tools "quits unexpectedly" when I launch plug-in Prince of Wales 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-28-2008 09:03 AM
pro tools 6.4 launch unexpectedly quits brewsky 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 07-23-2007 06:36 PM
ProTools 6.9.2 unexpectedly quits upon launch Alan Bendele 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-27-2005 02:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com