Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-25-2015, 03:49 PM
KeyplayerG's Avatar
KeyplayerG KeyplayerG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 432
Default What's the difference between Solo Sum & Sum Select?

I looked in the Nuendo manual, the Artist MC Control User's Guide, Google and a search here. But I can't find ANY information on this feature in the MC Control. What's the difference between Solo Sum & Sum Select? They both appear to do exactly the same thing.

Solo Mode = Multiple Solo Selections
Solo Sum = Single Solo Selection
Sum Select = Single Solo Selection

Why is Sum Select necessary? What does it do that Solo Sum doesn't?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-25-2015, 09:22 PM
blackmacdaddy blackmacdaddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 418
Default

Sum Select is the button for the Option + Shift modifier command.

Option = All
Shift = Selected

Option + Shift = do to all selected (do to all is Icon Controller speak, btw)

Thus:
Sum Select = Solo all currently selected tracks
__________________
It's only R'n'R but I like it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-26-2015, 05:48 AM
KeyplayerG's Avatar
KeyplayerG KeyplayerG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 432
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackmacdaddy View Post
Sum Select is the button for the Option + Shift modifier command.

Option = All
Shift = Selected

Option + Shift = do to all selected (do to all is Icon Controller speak, btw)

Thus:
Sum Select = Solo all currently selected tracks
Thanks so much for the reply!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-26-2015, 06:42 AM
KeyplayerG's Avatar
KeyplayerG KeyplayerG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 432
Default

I guess I didn't fully understand your explanation. I just tried using the sum select button to change the EQ on 4 linked tracks. But on the actual selected channel changed. Does this feature only work for Solo Mode?

BTW, can you tell me WHERE to find this information in the manual? I couldn't find anything using the advanced search for the term or in the index. I shouldn't have to bother anyone for this kind of a question.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't Solo Tracks When Bussed To Aux Sends / Solo Safe is armed (Greyed Out) adrianrobison macOS 5 11-19-2014 05:09 PM
Protools 10: mute and solo aren't working. (Solo safe is not on any of the tracks.) charlottewrinch macOS 2 04-14-2012 05:32 PM
Solo-Yellow, Solo Clear-Green Imagine ICON & C|24 1 05-14-2011 04:55 AM
Solo/Solo-Safe dilemma xcevinx Pro Tools 9 10 12-08-2010 07:12 AM
Solo and Solo in Sends not coupled??? Andi R 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 07-20-2005 05:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com