Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-14-2011, 12:40 PM
Sr Coffee Sr Coffee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Falls Church
Posts: 14
Default Access violation... CFnd.dll

Trying to get PT M-Powered Essential 8 running on my laptop:
Toshiba Satellite A665
Intel Core i3 2.27Ghz
4GB RAM
Windows 7, 64-bit

I have only the default PT install, no plug-ins, working off the internal hard drive.

After successfully recording one track, while recording the second track I began getting massive distortion and error messages popping up:
"Access violation occurred, unable to write to location.... in module: CFnd.dll"

Trying again, the messages kept coming up and I had to reboot to kill the process.

Searching the forums, I find a hodge-podge of speculative solutions, so I don't know where to start. Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-14-2011, 01:14 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,595
Default Re: Access violation... CFnd.dll

Try right-clicking on the Pro Tools application and choosing 'Run As Administrator'.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-14-2011, 02:32 PM
Sr Coffee Sr Coffee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Falls Church
Posts: 14
Default Re: Access violation... CFnd.dll

Thanks. I had already done that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-14-2011, 04:09 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,595
Default Re: Access violation... CFnd.dll

We're going to need more info then - see the Help Us Help You thread for details...
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-15-2011, 11:19 AM
Sr Coffee Sr Coffee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Falls Church
Posts: 14
Default Re: Access violation... CFnd.dll

Today, I haven't seen the access violation error, but I can only record for a few seconds before massive distortion sets in.

Here is my sandra report: (Note, this is for my laptop, not the computer described in my profile.)

SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : Toshiba Satellite A665
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Host Name : Owner-PC
User : Owner

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 350 @ 2.27GHz
Speed : 2.26GHz
Cores per Processor : 2 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Mobile, Dual-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 2x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 Cache : 2x 256kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L3 Cache : 3MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 12-way, Exclusive, 64 byte line size, 16 threads sharing

Computer
Mainboard : Toshiba NWQAA
BIOS : Toshiba 1.50 07/02/10
Bus(es) : PCI PCIe IMB USB i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 3.8GB DDR3 SO-DIMM

Chipset
Model : Toshiba Core (Auburndale/Havendale) DRAM Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 133MHz
Total Memory : 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM
Shared Memory : 34MB
Channels : 2
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 532MHz (1GHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Kingston TSB1066D3S7DR82G 2GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-8500S DDR3-1066 (7-7-7-20 4-27-8-4)
Memory Module : Kingston TSB1066D3S7DR82G 2GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-8500S DDR3-1066 (7-7-7-20 4-27-8-4)

Video System
Video Adapter : Intel(R) HD Graphics (12 SM4.0 667MHz, 66MB DDR3 1GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics)

Graphics Processor

Storage Devices
Seagate ST9500420AS (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache) : 466GB (C:)
HL-DT-STDVDRAM GT30F (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 1MB Cache, 192kB Flash) : N/A (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
TI105835W0O (C:) : 454GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST9500420AS (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache)
System : 1GB (NTFS)
Optical Drive (D:) : N/A @ HL-DT-STDVDRAM GT30F (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 1MB Cache, 192kB Flash)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Toshiba HM55 LPC Interface Controller
Audio Device : Toshiba P55/PM55/3400 High Definition Audio
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi High Definition Audio
Disk Controller : Toshiba P55/PM55/3400 4 port SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller : Toshiba Standard SD Host Controller
USB Controller 1 : Toshiba P55/PM55/3400 USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : Toshiba P55/PM55/3400 USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Snagit 10 Printer (600x600, Colour)
Printer : Send To Microsoft OneNote 2010 Driver (1200x1200, Colour)
Printer : Amyuni Document Converter 400 (2400x2400, Parallel, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)
Printer : Canon MX850 series Printer (Colour)
Printer : Canon MX850 series FAX (200x200)
Printer : Adobe PDF Converter (4000x4000, Colour)

Scanners and Cameras
Scanner : WIA Canon MX850 ser_000085F99F45 (Scanner, USB)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller (Ethernet)
Wireless Adapter : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Advanced-N 6200 AGN (802.11g (ERP), WEP n-bit, 54Mbps)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line
Battery No 1 : 100%

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Home 6.01.7600
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 4.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-21-2011, 02:45 PM
Sr Coffee Sr Coffee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Falls Church
Posts: 14
Default Re: Access violation... CFnd.dll

Umm, help?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-22-2011, 07:57 AM
scenicrecords scenicrecords is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 177
Default Re: Access violation... CFnd.dll

You need to be recording to an external hard drive via eSata if possible. If you do not have a eSATA port use USB. Having integrated graphics will cause problems too. You need to run through all the optimizations for Windows 7 (disabling Aero and setting the graphics for Basic will be essential with integrated graphics). I would also remove most of those printers and disable your network adapters in BIOS.

Follow these optimizations:

http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/self...p?DocId=349411
__________________
Dell Studio 1555 Laptop, Intel Core Duo T6600 2.2GHz, 4GB RAM
Windows 7 64-bit
Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.4cs2
M-Audio Firewire 410 via Digi-Qualified SIIG FireWire 2-Port ExpressCard {NN-EC2012-S1}
Glyph 050Q 500GB via eSATA
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-22-2011, 11:17 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,595
Default Re: Access violation... CFnd.dll

Scenicrecords has good advice, though the integrated graphics is a known incompatibility and may mean this computer simply won't work with Pro Tools.

Let us know if anything changes after going through ALL the optimizations and testing with an external drive.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-10-2011, 11:57 AM
Sr Coffee Sr Coffee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Falls Church
Posts: 14
Default Re: Access violation... CFnd.dll

I am getting back to this after a long hiatus. I have done all the optimization steps that seem applicable to my laptop. I find that i can record without encountering DAE errors.

The problem I continue to have, however, is intermitten severe distortion in the monitoring path. During recording or playback, distortion will suddenly set in, often after a few minutes of flawless performance. if I bounce the track to wav, the file sounds great. So clearly, the problem is in the monitoring.

what to do?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Access Violation ericsvizeny Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 07-27-2011 12:17 PM
Please help wrong cfnd file in /Frameworks/CFnd.framework/Versions/A/CFnd bobo94 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-05-2010 11:08 AM
Access violation and CFnd.dll - related to Quicktime? AlainZagar General Discussion 3 04-11-2010 08:52 AM
First ever Access Violation Greg M 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-09-2006 07:41 AM
access violation/access is denied dj_czech 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-02-2001 12:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com