Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2019, 04:29 PM
Hugh-H Hugh-H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 193
Default BUG - using N key for PB engine select with HDX cards installed

Hello,
There's a bug in the programming for using the N key to select the PT playback engine on startup. If you have HDX cards installed and no audio interface attached the following occurs -
- Using the N key has no effect, PT always boots to the HDX engine.
- Having no audio interfaces attached naturally PT doesn't come up, as expected.
- There's no way to select another audio interface with the HDX cards present.

Seems odd, I thought the N key method was the first thing PT looked for, apparently not. If the HDX cards are present they override the N key option.
Odd.
You may ask why anyone would do that. That's a separate question, suffice to say if there's an issue and you need to use something else, pulling the HDX cards is inconvenient.
Did I mention ODD?

Hugh
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2019, 08:03 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,877
Default Re: BUG - using N key for PB engine select with HDX cards installed

What other interface are you trying to use? Its not possible to give too much info
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2019, 11:03 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,670
Default Re: BUG - using N key for PB engine select with HDX cards installed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh-H View Post
There's no way to select another audio interface with the HDX cards present.

Like ever?

I agree with Dave there isn’t enough info here to make a judgement as to how best to resolve the issue.

OS versión
other interfaces
What exactly you are trying to do
PT Version
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2019, 09:09 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,644
Default Re: BUG - using N key for PB engine select with HDX cards installed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh-H View Post
Hello,
There's a bug in the programming for using the N key to select the PT playback engine on startup. If you have HDX cards installed and no audio interface attached the following occurs -
- Using the N key has no effect, PT always boots to the HDX engine.
- Having no audio interfaces attached naturally PT doesn't come up, as expected.
- There's no way to select another audio interface with the HDX cards present.

Seems odd, I thought the N key method was the first thing PT looked for, apparently not. If the HDX cards are present they override the N key option.
Odd.
You may ask why anyone would do that. That's a separate question, suffice to say if there's an issue and you need to use something else, pulling the HDX cards is inconvenient.
Did I mention ODD?

Hugh

Like the others said, need more info, but FWIW, 'N' key behaves as expected here (and on any other rig I've been on recently); I can always choose alternate interfaces by booting with it.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-24-2019, 10:15 AM
Hugh-H Hugh-H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 193
Default Re: BUG - using N key for PB engine select with HDX cards installed

Hello,
Thanks for the responses, here is some more information.
- MP 5.1 / OS10.12.6
- PTHD(ultimate,greatest,etc.) 18.3
- HDX2, and normally SyncHD + 2x HDMadi attached
- System works correctly with everything attached.
- Alternate testing interface - PT Aggregate, RME UFX+, built-in, any, doesn't matter in this case.

Repro -
- Unplug the Digilink audio interfaces, in this case the two HDMadi and SyncHD units.
- Plug in any supported CoreAudio interface or use the built-in.
- Launch PT using N key.
- Usually N key works if pressed immediately. Test launching it with whatever timing you can. Immediately, incrementing 0.5 seconds after launching, at splash screen, etc.
- Result is always the same - PT sees the HDX cards in the system, ignores the N key, and comes up with the message similar to "... no audio interfaces connected..." and as expected will not launch.

The reason I care is if there's an "oddity" in a cpu/system I'd like to pull it, swap in another cpu immediately to continue work, bring the suspect one to the lab and test it. Many instances of testing, setup, and maintenance can be completed with any generic audio interface. In this case I needed to test some surround bussing and weirdness and an RME interface works well for that due to TotalMix's I/O meters, but again the audio interface in this issue doesn't matter.

Having to pull the HDX cards from the chassis is not timely, especially in a number of our Sonnet chassis systems that require some work to accomplish that.

Thanks again for any information you may have,
Sincerely,
Hugh
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2019, 04:56 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,671
Default Re: BUG - using N key for PB engine select with HDX cards installed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh-H View Post
Hello,
Thanks for the responses, here is some more information.
- MP 5.1 / OS10.12.6
- PTHD(ultimate,greatest,etc.) 18.3
- HDX2, and normally SyncHD + 2x HDMadi attached
- System works correctly with everything attached.
- Alternate testing interface - PT Aggregate, RME UFX+, built-in, any, doesn't matter in this case.

Repro -
- Unplug the Digilink audio interfaces, in this case the two HDMadi and SyncHD units.
- Plug in any supported CoreAudio interface or use the built-in.
- Launch PT using N key.
- Usually N key works if pressed immediately. Test launching it with whatever timing you can. Immediately, incrementing 0.5 seconds after launching, at splash screen, etc.
- Result is always the same - PT sees the HDX cards in the system, ignores the N key, and comes up with the message similar to "... no audio interfaces connected..." and as expected will not launch.

The reason I care is if there's an "oddity" in a cpu/system I'd like to pull it, swap in another cpu immediately to continue work, bring the suspect one to the lab and test it. Many instances of testing, setup, and maintenance can be completed with any generic audio interface. In this case I needed to test some surround bussing and weirdness and an RME interface works well for that due to TotalMix's I/O meters, but again the audio interface in this issue doesn't matter.

Having to pull the HDX cards from the chassis is not timely, especially in a number of our Sonnet chassis systems that require some work to accomplish that.

Thanks again for any information you may have,
Sincerely,
Hugh
You need to hold down the 'n' key BEFORE you launch PT. Any other way won't work right. You appear to be doing it wrong.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-25-2019, 07:38 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 991
Default Re: BUG - using N key for PB engine select with HDX cards installed

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
You need to hold down the 'n' key BEFORE you launch PT. Any other way won't work right. You appear to be doing it wrong.
Yes the:
Quote:
Usually N key works if pressed immediately. Test launching it with whatever timing you can. Immediately, incrementing 0.5 seconds after launching, at splash screen, etc.
is likely the problem
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB, Radeon Pulse RX 580 8GB GDDR5 Dual HDMI Graphics Card..... OS- Mojave 10.14.6, and PTHDN 2019.6 on on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2nd Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB -- both in dual drive Crest I/O PCIE controller adaptor card


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-25-2019, 10:01 AM
Hugh-H Hugh-H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 193
Default Re: BUG - using N key for PB engine select with HDX cards installed

Hello,
I think I tried that but not sure, I won't see the systems for another week or more but will test at that point.
Thanks,
Hugh
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-08-2019, 05:16 PM
Hugh-H Hugh-H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 193
Default Re: BUG - using N key for PB engine select with HDX cards installed

Hello,
I thought I had tried the N key before launch but wanted to be sure. I just received some systems back and gave it a try. Here still not working -

If HDX cards are installed and audio interfaces are not attached ProTools always gives the "... no audio interfaces connected...." error without the ability to change the playback engine, N key pressed or not at any time before or after launch.

Odd and makes troubleshooting more difficult.

Hugh
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-08-2019, 06:17 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,671
Default Re: BUG - using N key for PB engine select with HDX cards installed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh-H View Post
Hello,
I thought I had tried the N key before launch but wanted to be sure. I just received some systems back and gave it a try. Here still not working -

If HDX cards are installed and audio interfaces are not attached ProTools always gives the "... no audio interfaces connected...." error without the ability to change the playback engine, N key pressed or not at any time before or after launch.

Odd and makes troubleshooting more difficult.

Hugh
You have to hold down the 'n' key until PT fully launches
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Playback engine select grayed out Josh523 Pro Tools 12 1 04-11-2017 02:54 PM
No HD Native option in Playback Engine select ronstephens Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 9 07-02-2015 10:16 AM
PT11HD can't relaunch/select new playback engine sersol Windows 0 05-31-2014 05:31 PM
No sound coming from my 003, even when I select it as my playback engine. HELP ThrillHillStudios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-10-2012 12:03 PM
Cant select "1 processor" in Playback Engine Ross H 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-24-2008 03:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com