Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-28-2018, 05:11 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,433
Default Re: HDX card not recognised - repair fee?

No idea, but why not find and call your Avid authorized repair center and ask.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-28-2018, 10:02 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,669
Default HDX card not recognised - repair fee?

Cards only in USA, Ireland or Japan (caveat applies but you can read it also)

Per this article

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/f...roduct-Repairs
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-28-2018, 10:08 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,433
Default Re: HDX card not recognised - repair fee?

Great link. (Card repair is also available in Brazil and India and Australia... which you meant by Caveat?) I am very surprised no ARCs in Europe do that. Ouch.

I would be checking that HDX card over very careful for visible damage, heat or physical damage to components.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-29-2018, 12:59 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,077
Default Re: HDX card not recognised - repair fee?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
I am very surprised no ARCs in Europe do that. Ouch.
Wait. I know things have been difficult but is Ireland not part of Europe?
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-29-2018, 01:05 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,433
Default Re: HDX card not recognised - repair fee?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Wait. I know things have been difficult but is Ireland not part of Europe?
Sorry Doh. I was thinking continental... but yes Ireland is the place to contact.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-29-2018, 02:47 AM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 696
Default Re: HDX card not recognised - repair fee?

Avid instructed me to send the card to a local service in Poland. They will send the card to Ireland and only then I will find out what the cost of repair might be. So I guess there's no fixed repair fee.
__________________
UAD Apollo x16,
UAD Apollo Twin Duo,
UAD Octo Thunderbolt,
Mac Mini i7 2018,
Reaper DAW,
Presonus Faderport,
Arturia Beastep for DAW control,
Former Pro Tools HD user (from V7 until V12.6).
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-29-2018, 02:57 AM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 696
Default Re: HDX card not recognised - repair fee?

In the old days they had an overnight replacement service:
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=239512
__________________
UAD Apollo x16,
UAD Apollo Twin Duo,
UAD Octo Thunderbolt,
Mac Mini i7 2018,
Reaper DAW,
Presonus Faderport,
Arturia Beastep for DAW control,
Former Pro Tools HD user (from V7 until V12.6).
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-29-2018, 08:49 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,669
Default HDX card not recognised - repair fee?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jacko View Post
In the old days they had an overnight replacement service

In the old days those cards were 1.5-2.0 times more expensive (each one)

What was an HD3 ? About 12k-15k?

Big difference
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-18-2018, 04:47 AM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 696
Default Re: HDX card not recognised - repair fee?

How long does it usually take to repair an HDX card?
__________________
UAD Apollo x16,
UAD Apollo Twin Duo,
UAD Octo Thunderbolt,
Mac Mini i7 2018,
Reaper DAW,
Presonus Faderport,
Arturia Beastep for DAW control,
Former Pro Tools HD user (from V7 until V12.6).
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-18-2018, 11:34 AM
Hugh-H Hugh-H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 193
Default Re: HDX card not recognised - repair fee?

Hello,
Two separate occasions a PT update ruined some of our HDX cards. The last occasion Avid wouldn't replace them, I paid the exchange fee of approximately $1800 ($900 per card), and they sent replacements in a day or two with 30 days to return our broken cards.
That was in the US, not sure about Poland.
Hugh
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
11.2.1 Update, Card not recognised aymore edwinstar Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 08-22-2014 02:02 AM
Repair A/D card on 192 WernerF Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-19-2014 12:53 PM
Core card not recognised - Help! Razorfish Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-10-2012 11:43 AM
Core card being recognised Raoul23 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 05-12-2011 10:52 AM
001 card not recognised xp Paul T 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-05-2002 06:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com