Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-06-2010, 09:31 AM
dgkenney dgkenney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 72
Default One PT9 to rule them all?

I have a HD2 as well as a LE system at a different location. If I am understanding things correctly, there is only one installer and that the installer simply checks the license on the iLok as opposed to any particular hardware attached.

If that is right, can I upgrade to PT9 HD and install on both machines, realizing that I would have to swap the iLok when I want to use the other rig? In short can I upgrade both rigs for $350 rather than $600?

Dan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-06-2010, 09:33 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,151
Default Re: One PT9 to rule them all?

That's the way we understand it.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2010, 09:40 AM
wizprodux wizprodux is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 94
Default Re: One PT9 to rule them all?

Yup!

Just upgraded my Professor's HD rig yesterday and he's stoked because now he can use PTHD software on his laptop with his Mackie to track live bands
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-06-2010, 10:10 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: One PT9 to rule them all?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgkenney View Post
If that is right, can I upgrade to PT9 HD and install on both machines, realizing that I would have to swap the iLok when I want to use the other rig? In short can I upgrade both rigs for $350 rather than $600?
Yes, as long as you don't need to run them simultaneously.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-06-2010, 10:28 AM
dgkenney dgkenney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 72
Default Re: One PT9 to rule them all?

Thanks for all the answers.

So here's another question....what is the new engine for PT 9 is it 32 bit or 48bit integer? If you have PT 9 is it 32 and if you use PT 9 HD it remains as 48 integer. What if you use PT 9 HD on your laptop - don't forget to use those extra master faders to account for gain staging.

Dan
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-06-2010, 10:46 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: One PT9 to rule them all?

When you're not using the HD hardware the mixer is 32 bit floating point, the TDM system uses 48 bit fixed point.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Rule of Three (New 11R track) Ciscokid Eleven Rack 8 11-14-2012 11:50 AM
3 to 1 Rule is vague at best Ping Pong 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 07-04-2007 01:02 PM
New Jobs RULE!!!!! basschair 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 05-25-2004 10:30 PM
3:1 rule and X/Y configuration John Link General Discussion 5 03-15-2004 02:13 AM
OK........So I broke a rule.......who's rule? Wayne 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 36 10-09-2002 10:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com