Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | Intro Discussion

Old 10-08-2018, 12:42 PM

Default PTF quits at startup - directing to Playback Engine

Hello

I am brand new to Pro Tools, but have used Logic for many years.

I have a new windows laptop and would like to experiment using Pro Tools for DAW work on the go, but have run into an issue, and would really appreciate some help.

The issue:

PT First starts up and then pops up this message:

Welcome to Pro Tools First!

Before you get started, you will be directed to the Playback Engine, make sure that the proper audio playback device is selected.

I press OK to acknowledge this message, and then nothing happens (the application seems to quit)

I have tired to press N during startup - no change.

PTF ver: 2018.7.0
H/W: Dell XPS 9370 i7, 16 GB RAM, 500 GB SSD, 2 TB HDD
Audio: Built in / native Realtek Audio interface (which is also preferred as I will use this device on the go)

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated
Old 10-09-2018, 07:49 AM

Default Re: PTF quits at startup - directing to Playback Engine

PTF requires that you have an ASIO compatible audio interface, which most internal sound cards are not. Although I generally don't recommend ASIO4ALL, you could give it a try to see if PTF will run on your system. Don't expect great performance when using it though.

It should however get you past where you are now with PTF, then you can decide if you want an external ASIO audio interface for your laptop.

System Details
Old 10-11-2018, 12:02 PM

Thank you very much for your advice, Will - very much appreciated.

I wasn't aware of that restriction. I will explore the asio4all option and, if it works, perhaps consider an external portable asio interface option.

Regards
Nolan