Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2019, 03:51 AM
kava kava is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vienna
Posts: 107
Default Ultimate 2019 slow gui instead of 2018

I'm running a large setup (atmos, 32ch s6, hdx2) on sierra with huge sessions with lots of automation. Upgrading to another os is not possible at the moment. (dadman and other issues)

most 2019.x versions of PT Ultimate run really slow. gui is slowly responding, track zoom takes ages and sometimes mouse clicks are registered way too late (when the mouse has already been dragged away, so the it'c clicking somewhere else)

during large rerecording sessions for ex. 2019.6 is totally unusable. 2018.12 runs like a charme.

whats wrong here? are there any system optimisations I could do? I want to use the new PT2019 and Eucon features but it's impossible at that tempo.
__________________

2xMac Pro 2014 6-Core, 48GB Ram, OS X 10.12
ProTools HD12 and Ultimate, 2x HDX
NTP Penta720 I/O + 192 HD I/O + SSL Madi Link
Sync HD, Dolby Atmos RMU
S6 - M40 - 32channel.
Filmpost at cosmix studios vienna
http://www.cosmix.at
http://www.tom-kava.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2019, 05:18 AM
nedd nedd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Europe-NL
Posts: 175
Default Re: Ultimate 2019 slow gui instead of 2018

I do get slow GUI when Izotope Insight 2 is open and even more if it is big.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-29-2019, 05:40 AM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,888
Default Re: Ultimate 2019 slow gui instead of 2018

I've had this exact same issue for a long time. It even affects completely empty sessions with no plugins and not even tracks loaded.
Do you happen to have several screens connected or a 4K one? This seems to be somewhat related to those issues.
There's a supposed workaround to start PT in low res mode as well as change the color profiles of all screens to sRGB IEC61966-2.1 but that doesn't solve the issue for me.
What KINDA works is open activity monitor, then force close windowserver. This results in throwing you back to the lock screen. Once everything reopens, PT runs more smoothely for a while. Still not perfectly though, but at least usable.
I have no idea wtf that is, but it is driving me totally nuts.

I've had this issue on several Hackintoshes as well as on an iMac Pro.
I do have one other Hackintosh where everything runs perfectly smoothe, but I couldn't pinpoint, why that is. It has the same video card as the iMac Pro (a Vega 64) so it's not video card related, either.
I have spent so much time trying to find the culprit, but to no avail other than that windowserver thing.

If anybody finds a solution I'd be eternally greatful because this is a HUGE hinderance and disrupts workflow big time.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock

Last edited by Meads; 10-29-2019 at 05:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-29-2019, 08:01 AM
kava kava is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vienna
Posts: 107
Default Re: Ultimate 2019 slow gui instead of 2018

thank you for your replies.

- yes I also have plugins that have significant impact on gui performance. Flux Analyzer uses a lot of graphic power, but the difference it makes if I use this plugin with 2019 or 2018 is really huge. nearly all "gui-speed" affecting things I do/open really influence 2019 way more. larger sessions are still "ok" with 2018. but totally unusable with 2019.5 or 2019.6

- Yes is use a 4K widescreen and two more HD screens. The color profile change didn't help - and I think the problem got even worse two weeks ago when we connected the 4k Screen (used for edit window). quitting the windowserver didn't help but thank you for the tip.
__________________

2xMac Pro 2014 6-Core, 48GB Ram, OS X 10.12
ProTools HD12 and Ultimate, 2x HDX
NTP Penta720 I/O + 192 HD I/O + SSL Madi Link
Sync HD, Dolby Atmos RMU
S6 - M40 - 32channel.
Filmpost at cosmix studios vienna
http://www.cosmix.at
http://www.tom-kava.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-29-2019, 11:39 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,645
Default Re: Ultimate 2019 slow gui instead of 2018

Slow GUI for me on Windows, but only when I have a MIDI edit window open with two or more automation lanes. Driving me nuts. Inexcusable on something so simple.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2019.10 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2019.12 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2019.5 Ultimate on a Mac Pro 5,1 DenverAudioGuy Pro Tools 2019 44 05-28-2019 04:25 AM
2019 ultimate and heat mixer Pro Tools 2019 27 05-24-2019 12:26 AM
2018.7 Ultimate Slow Load stanonbass Pro Tools 2018 14 08-27-2018 01:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com