Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 12-27-2001, 10:33 PM

Default Multiple sounds in MIDI

OK, another "i'm new to midi..." question.

say i want to record 3 midi tracks... different sound or "patch" on each one. Can i get these to trigger and play back all at once. The problem i am having now. is all my midi tracks will only play the current patch i have selected. how do i assign them successfully to different sounds and have them playback simultaneously. something to do with splitting the keyboard? is this something i can do in ProTools or settings in the Keyboard or what? I have a Roland XP-30 by the way. thanks!

- kip
Old 12-27-2001, 11:24 PM

Default Re: Multiple sounds in MIDI

That's what MIDI "channels" are for. MIDI channel 10 is normally used for drums. I've heard that channel 16 is also considered a drum channel, but I've never seen drums on anything other than 10.

So, you might assign your piano track to MIDI channel 1. Maybe your Sax track to MIDI channel 2. Your synth bass maybe on ch 3. Etc...

Get the idea? Each instrument needs to be assigned a different MIDI channel.