Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-26-2000, 03:10 PM
Solan Gundersen Solan Gundersen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Norway
Posts: 22
Default PT wish list

Hi there!
Since I dont have anything to complain about, here is some wishes.
1. Hardware inserts with software/midi control.
When I am doing a hw insert with my finalizer, I would like a nice user interface of the finalizer to pop up on the screen. It would be real nice to change the parameters from pro tools using the pro control or HUI.
2. More control of fades
3. Be able to remap the funtions on the pro control/HUI.

thanks!
config: 9600/350-8.6-mix++-apogee-HUI
__________________
Tom Andresen
Norway
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-26-2000, 04:30 PM
Jules Jules is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,565
Default Re: PT wish list

I would love to stash my Finalizer & other midi outboard setting with PT midi!
Jules
__________________
Jules
London, UK
Come hang with us here!
www.gearslutz.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-26-2000, 06:35 PM
coaster coaster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: fargo nd usa
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: PT wish list

open archetecture plug ins. you know, for code people.
__________________
www.mp3.com/xtac
for the faint of goth
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-26-2000, 07:11 PM
ProTools4 ProTools4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Orange, Ca, USA
Posts: 378
Default Re: PT wish list

Record Backwards!!sdrawkcaB droceR
Disk Allocation that isn't retarted
AutoSensing External Clock / Adat sync ETC..
Customizable colors
make Bars|beats, Midi setup more user freindly (i know templates)



------------------
Tad Banzuelo
ProTools4@aol.com
__________________
NotoriouSS Tad Banzuelo
G4 Dual 1gig - 1.5G ram HDD for days * PT 5.1.1 w/ OS9.2.2
Digidesign Magma 13 slot exp chassis
2x MixCore < 3x MixFarm < 3x SCII+ TDM < 1x DSPII
2x888|16 - 4x882|20 - 4x882|16
MOTU MTP AV USB w/ Novation25SL control for Virus and HUI emulation
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-26-2000, 07:14 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: PT wish list

Well this sounds like the place to place the list of items that I'd like to see changed in PT 5.x....

1) Playlist grouping... I've asked for this before (about a year ago)

2) Playlist sorting... The choices should be MRU (Most Recently Used) which is the way it works now - and Alphabetically... There's nothing worse than trying to find take number 45 out of 120 when the list is no longer sorted alphabetically.

3) In the Delete Unused playlist dialog... why couldn't the list box be wide enough to actually see the whole track name...????

4) I guess I can set this up in QuicKeys -- but I'd like keystrokes to create a Duplicate or a New playlist for the currently selected track(s).

5) In the Bounce to Disk dialog where you may name the new sound file... the Edit menu is not allowed, so you can't copy/paste a file name.

6) In Disk Allocator, define a drive where all fade files are created... I like to create my fade files on a separate slower drive which is attached to my external SCSI buss. Similarly, when loading a session where the fade files can't be found, prompt for where to create the new fade files.

7) Comments! I think they're great!! Unfortunately they're not tied to the playlist...??? The comments should folow the current playlist (IMO) -- that way you can load another playlist into a track and the comment will still be valid.. when creating a Duplicate Playlist, the comment should be copied and when creating a New playlist, the comment field should be cleared.

A couple for the makers of AutoTune (if they should be watching):

1) How about a key input to track pitch -- when making doubles, I often want to load the pitch graph of the basic into the double, and I have to now create 2 instances of AT -- in the first one across the basic (which is in bypass) I track the pitch and create a curve, then copy it - switch instances of AT to the double track and paste the curve and have to then track the double's curve before I can alter the graph.

2) The Polling error dialog which is displayed if you touch too many controls while tracking is always displayed in the center of the AT dialog -- which you can't dismiss except with a mouse click to the OK button. If the AT dialog is off the screen so the Polling dialog appears off screen... You can't dismiss the dialog and you can't continue your PT session (or save your work, etc. -- you have to force a quit! The warning dialog should be displayed in the center of the AT dialog's parent window (IMO).

Rail

------------------
Recording Engineer
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-26-2000, 07:34 PM
meshtheflesh meshtheflesh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Singapore
Posts: 233
Default Re: PT wish list

I am with you Rail. Those playlist options would be exellent. While we are wishing. I think a history list like in photoshop would be really cool, or at least mutiple undos. 1 undo is not enough.

Cheers


Ramesh
__________________
----------------------------
Ramesh Sathiah
www.songzu.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-26-2000, 11:20 PM
blairl blairl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Posts: 1,084
Default Re: PT wish list

How about multiple automation playlists? Right now when you create a new playlist on a track, all of the current automation data is also used for the new playlist. This mode is probably the most common and desired method, but I would also like the option of having multiple automation playlists.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-27-2000, 01:59 AM
BDWillis BDWillis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nashville, TN USA
Posts: 559
Default Re: PT wish list

Something so obvious I CAN'T BELIEVE Digi hasn't gotten it done yet: A keystroke (that would also appear on a little button on the HUI or ProControl or…) for toggling between "Auto Input" & "Input Only" modes… have their design guys NEVER recorded multiple vocal takes or punched in single lines?! My God, E.T. - my mousing finger can only go so fast with pinpoint accuracy - not to mention how the screen conveniently freezes until you release the mouse! I've only been asking since January of '99 - how 'bout it, implementation-boys?!

Warmest Regards,
Brian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-27-2000, 08:03 AM
BobbyDazzler's Avatar
BobbyDazzler BobbyDazzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 996
Default Re: PT wish list

If Digi put a keystroke for Auto Input toggling....Well I'd be in heaven..
I hate having to switch that thing over, and looking like a right "Tool" in front of the client when I forget. The alternative is to always be in record, but I don't like doing that when I'm setting levels and compression etc...PLEASE give us a keystroke
__________________
5,1 Mac Pro Dual Hex Westermere 3.6Ghz, 24gig Ram, Pro Tools HD Native 2018.4, Sierra, Blackmagic Decklink HD Extreme 3D.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-27-2000, 09:55 AM
Dog BBQ Dog BBQ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: New New York
Posts: 1,120
Default Re: PT wish list

Groove Quantize.
Better DSP Sharing.
Auto DSP delay compensation.
Multiple Plugins opened at once.
Insert plugins while in play.
Did I say better DSP Sharing?

------------------
LCSProductions@att.net
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif">quote:<HR>The Greatest Risk in Life is Doing Nothing<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


__________________
The Greatest Risk in Life is Doing Nothing
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
We have an AAX list but now we need a AAX 64bit list. P,B,S AAX Plug-ins 12 05-26-2013 10:31 PM
Track List / Group List Reckless Erik Post - Surround - Video 0 06-23-2009 11:21 AM
View-Other displays-track list and regions list, only from edit window? crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-27-2009 11:46 AM
Region list display arrows not responding (No region list) peccatte 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 08-07-2008 04:30 PM
more on wish list naijhi Post - Surround - Video 2 01-23-2005 12:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com