Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-10-2000, 06:11 PM
KIMJAZ KIMJAZ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 26
Default Windows AVI to Quicktime and vice-versa ! Is that possible ?

Hi.
I have a client that wants me to change the sound track and fx of his .AVI files (windows movie format). So I will need to export it to Quick Time (.mov) before open it on Pro Tools to work on the audio.
So my question is: How to export AVI to MOV then vice-versa ? What app should I use ?
I never did this kind of thing before, so pls help me !!!

Thx in advance for any comment !

------------------
-KIMJAZ-
Config: PT24, Adat B. I/O (2 cables), 02r, G4 400, Digidrive 9, PT 5, OS 9...
ps: sorry for my english !!
__________________
-KIMJAZ-
ps: sorry for my english !!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-11-2000, 12:20 PM
oscargoldman oscargoldman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 4
Default Re: Windows AVI to Quicktime and vice-versa ! Is that possible ?

Media Cleaner Pro 4.0 is your ticket!


<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif">quote:<HR>Originally posted by KIMJAZ:
Hi.
I have a client that wants me to change the sound track and fx of his .AVI files (windows movie format). So I will need to export it to Quick Time (.mov) before open it on Pro Tools to work on the audio.
So my question is: How to export AVI to MOV then vice-versa ? What app should I use ?
I never did this kind of thing before, so pls help me !!!

Thx in advance for any comment !

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-11-2000, 12:23 PM
dcornutt dcornutt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,308
Default Re: Windows AVI to Quicktime and vice-versa ! Is that possible ?

Check out Terrans Media cleaner pro.
It will do lossless conversions between formats....avi/mov/mpeg1..etc.

Youll need to experiment along with your client to find the best way.

But heres the scoop...

Quicktime pro will convert back and forth from avi to mov..and visa versa. The deal is..not all windows compressors are available on the mac side. What this means is..that if your client saves the AVI with a windows proprietary codec..then..you won't be able to open it on your mac.

Quicktime is cross platform..windows/mac. If your client hands you a quicktime movie..made on their PC..any codec they use..thats available in the Windows version of Quicktime..is also available on the mac..and you will have no problems reading or converting it.

If they don't have quicktime (its free)..or..don't won't to use it..then..you should know that..if you use the right codec...(try cinepack...or animation..youll have to expereiemnt here)..and you "export" your quicktime movie from your mac..using save as avi..and you add the .avi extension..many times..this will show up on a PC as a standard windows AVI.

Media cleaner pro..is the best app for this..but its expensive..about 500 bucks.

For 29.95..you can upgrade your QT to QT pro..and give it a shot.

There are also "Indeo" windows codecs avaialble within Mac Quicktime for saving avis'. Youll need to experiment back and forth to find the right solution..ie..quality..playback.

I like Cinepack. Its cross platform..and it allows you to control or limit the data rate..and frame rate. The more you limit the data rate..the better frame rates you get..but the worse the quality is..because it compresses more. Animation is a nice looking codec..it produces higher color info.

Hope this helps.

dfc
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-11-2000, 12:36 PM
dcornutt dcornutt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,308
Default Re: Windows AVI to Quicktime and vice-versa ! Is that possible ?

oops, forgot some important info..

If your client uses a "cross platform" codec..that your mac can read..ie..cinepack...then when you open it on your mac..it will automatically show up as a quicktime movie. (you don't need to convert it..in this case to view it on your mac)

From here..Im not sure if PROtools for mac will import avis...eventhough it is a quicktime movie. So, you may need to still convert but try just importing it first. Have you client use cinepack codec.

As long as PRotools has full QT support..you should be able to just edit..and export as QT movie..then..use the QT pro options to pick..avi..and the same/cinepack compressor.

I haven't tried this yet..so..like I said..a little experimentation will do the trick.

If you can't import/export using the avi..you can still convert using QT pro..but in this case..media cleaner pro is a better solution as it provides better conversions..ie..cleaner...hence the name.

Start with...your client sending you avis to see if you can open them on your mac. If you can't ...have them use a different codec when they save it. Its still an avi..just uses cinepack compressor instead of ..an intel one. Once you have a file..that you can open..then..try importing into PRotools. It should work. If it doesn't..and you need to convert it..to a .mov ..then..upgrade your QT to QT pro for 30 bucks..online. Open the avi in QT pro..and save as..quicktime movie..using the same frame rate etc. Import this into protools..do the edit..and export your movie. If you can't export as avi..then..export as QT..opent the QT in QT pro..and export from there as avi. AGain..in this case..media cleaner pro..would do an even better job..but..for 30 bucks..QT pro is a deal. (also..you can do minor video edits in QT pro...just place the marker in the player..cut..and paste..frames).

cheers,
dfc
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-11-2000, 02:36 PM
Dermc Dermc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: St.John\'s NF Canada
Posts: 45
Default Re: Windows AVI to Quicktime and vice-versa ! Is that possible ?

If your not looking to spend alot of $$$$.
There are a couple of small utilities out there for converting QT to AVI and back.
Vital has developed "AVI to QT utility" and
"VFW converter". They are downloadable from www.tucows.com atleast thats where I got them.
They've worked great for me.
Goodluck
DC
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-12-2000, 10:54 AM
KIMJAZ KIMJAZ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 26
Default Re: Windows AVI to Quicktime and vice-versa ! Is that possible ?

WoW...Thx a lot guys !!! That's why DUC Rules. I'll check all that apps right now ! I'll let you know the results.
thx

cya

------------------
-KIMJAZ-
Config: PT24, Adat B. I/O (2 cables), 02r, G4 400, Digidrive 9, PT 5, OS 9...
ps: sorry for my english !!
__________________
-KIMJAZ-
ps: sorry for my english !!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Syncing MV 8k w/ PT or vice versa MookHustle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 09-07-2005 10:52 AM
Man to woman or vice versa 2fly Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 05-14-2004 07:51 PM
L.E. TO H.D. and Vice Versa HELLLLP Robby Hamilton Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 03-10-2003 06:49 PM
L.E. TO H.D. and Vice Versa HELLLLP Robby Hamilton Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-10-2003 04:01 PM
Syncing PT to 2" and vice versa... PeeTee Tips & Tricks 10 03-17-2001 02:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com