Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 04-28-2000, 10:52 AM
Steve MacMillan Steve MacMillan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 2,038
Default Re: PT wish list

Also...

Is there any reason why the next update of ProTools couldn't have 64 busses? It could be two banks of 32 like voices.

sm
__________________
macmandigital.com
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 04-28-2000, 03:54 PM
BDWillis BDWillis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nashville, TN USA
Posts: 559
Default Re: PT wish list

Large thanx to S. Gunderson for starting this thread!

Okay - it'd be great of the MASTER INSERTS could be selectable as PRE or POST, to function (in pre) like the 2 Mix send/return on an analog console. Particularly for stereo buss compression, this is the only way to properly set it up for fadeouts, etc.
(I know, I can print a mix w/o fade & then go and fade THAT, but I'm trying to streamline the entire process, and besides, I WANT IT ALL!!)

Glad to hear of the shared pain on the Auto Input switching issue… Singers love PT for its agility & conspicuous absence of search-to-cue time, but toggling by mouse to feed them a cue line negates some of this - I'd like to work faster AND smarter! Here's to Playlist Grouping, Multiple Undo Levels and Application-Wide Numeric Input. (personal wish list…)

After all the whining, I wanna add that I love working in PT…

Warmest Regards,
Brian
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04-28-2000, 04:59 PM
Captain Crunch Captain Crunch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Portland, OR / Los Angeles
Posts: 362
Default Re: PT wish list

in addition to all of the above (which I'm in complete agreement with):

1. make the Smart Tool NOT turn into the grabber when you are in the lower half of a waveform. 4.x SmartTool made you hold down "command" to become the Grabber, which made for a lot less dumb errors. I can't tell you how many times I've erroneously moved a region because I was off by a millimeter. Please change it back, or at least make it a Pref. option.

2. nested plug-in folders for both TDM and AS

3. fades that disappear when you want to move a region with them--like it did up until PT5

4. audio quantization values other the straight stuff--like swing, and percentages

5. automatic Input and Output Allocators, like the nifty new Voice Reallocation (thanks Digi!)

6. an indicator in the presently empty upper right corner showing whether you are in Auto Input or Input only


Finally, all of you who are unhappy about the missing Auto Input/Input Only toggle, do what Rail suggested, get QuicKeys. It will give you the ability to do that, and just about any other thing you can think of. I'm easily 25% faster with of QuicKeys than I would be without.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-29-2000, 09:56 AM
Steve MacMillan Steve MacMillan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 2,038
Default Re: PT wish list

How about a null connection for inputs and outputs.

sm
__________________
macmandigital.com
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04-29-2000, 12:13 PM
coaster coaster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: fargo nd usa
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: PT wish list

here's an obvious one:
audiosuite buffer settings.

while in preview, the settings should be automatically set to 'mini'

while processing, it should be automatically set to 'jumbo'

doing this manually is a pain in the keester

------------------
www.mp3.com/xtac
__________________
www.mp3.com/xtac
for the faint of goth
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 04-30-2000, 03:08 AM
stevegalante stevegalante is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Montreal, QC (Canada)
Posts: 1,712
Default Re: PT wish list

So Digi, why don't you tell us which one of these features are you planning to include in PT 5.1 and when will it be released ???
__________________
http://www.stevegalante.com
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04-30-2000, 08:50 AM
coaster coaster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: fargo nd usa
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: PT wish list

and while i am in wish-land, i also want meters that work.

non realtime bounce option.

ability to set pt to chase an ailing midi sequencer during midi-only record. i have to keep a friends key for vision just to do this.

and, of course, the ever non-present stereo track.

------------------
www.mp3.com/xtac
__________________
www.mp3.com/xtac
for the faint of goth
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-06-2000, 09:47 AM
KIMJAZ KIMJAZ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 26
Default Re: PT wish list

Agree with Dog...Groove Quantize !!!

Midi Event list would be nice too.


------------------
-KIMJAZ-

ps: sorry for my english !!
__________________
-KIMJAZ-
ps: sorry for my english !!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-06-2000, 11:52 AM
KIMJAZ KIMJAZ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 26
Default Re: PT wish list

I almost forget......
At least 10 UNDO levels !!!!!!!!!!
+ Undo history.

------------------
-KIMJAZ-

ps: sorry for my english !!
__________________
-KIMJAZ-
ps: sorry for my english !!
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-06-2000, 12:37 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: PT wish list

In the Spot dialog -- have the Use subframes setting saved in the PT preferences so I don't have to always turn it on at the start of my PT session. Once again, this is something I asked for years ago (when they first introduced this checkbox).

Rail

------------------
Recording Engineer
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
We have an AAX list but now we need a AAX 64bit list. P,B,S AAX Plug-ins 12 05-26-2013 10:31 PM
Track List / Group List Reckless Erik Post - Surround - Video 0 06-23-2009 11:21 AM
View-Other displays-track list and regions list, only from edit window? crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-27-2009 11:46 AM
Region list display arrows not responding (No region list) peccatte 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 08-07-2008 04:30 PM
more on wish list naijhi Post - Surround - Video 2 01-23-2005 12:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com