Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-29-2017, 11:09 AM
audiotx audiotx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 4
Default Standalone MBOX2

Does anyone have a circuit diagram or knowledge how I can use an MBOX2, powered with USB but NOT connected to any computer as a simple headphone amplifier?

Due to new mixing desk we have a MBOX2 that is not used

We want to put line in, then use the MBOX just an amplifier for headphones, nothing more, no signal out via USB or digital

We have powered the MBOX2 with USB power and panel lights do come on but the unit appears dead without a computer linked to it, even though we have stored default conditions in it.

Is there firmware in the unit that at least operates the interface circuits for line in and headphone out?

What is stopping this simple function?

Many thanks for any advice/solution
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-29-2017, 11:18 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,601
Default Standalone MBOX2

You can use the Mix knob to control the hardware monitoring of an analog input.... but why? A crappy old Mbox2 is likely to sound worse than a modern low cost headphone amp... and there are lots of great headphone amp/DAC combos that get you nice digital input.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 12-29-2017 at 11:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-29-2017, 01:12 PM
audiotx audiotx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 4
Default Re: Standalone MBOX2

Thanks for your message

If you can recommend an headphone amp that would be welcome
We have discarded some modern DAC interfaces as they gave a tin like add to the sound so we are wary now

We dont want a DAC input and so far the MBOX does not function at all with just USB power and no computer -

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-29-2017, 02:31 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,759
Default Re: Standalone MBOX2

Have a look at the Magni 3.

I have the Magni 2, which does not have the outputs. Clean, crisp and clear amplification - and lots of it. Great bang for the buck.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-29-2017, 05:48 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,601
Default Re: Standalone MBOX2

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiotx View Post
Thanks for your message

If you can recommend an headphone amp that would be welcome
We have discarded some modern DAC interfaces as they gave a tin like add to the sound so we are wary now

We dont want a DAC input and so far the MBOX does not function at all with just USB power and no computer -

Thanks
I really like headphone amps from Meier Audio (http://www.meier-audio.homepage.t-on...amplifiers.htm), but they tend towards higher end pricing, but they have very nice cross-feed circuitry and I can't stand listening to headphone amps that don't have that. The other headphone amps I use are from Grace Design, but they are mostly DAC focused and still more expensive. There are lots of other lower-cost options, but personally...

The Mbox 2 has no stand alone mode/can't do anything with digital In or other signal routing without a DAW host, I thought the analog in hardware monitoring still worked without that (be sure to turn the mix knob fully to hardware monitoring), but maybe I'm wrong there.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-30-2017, 04:12 AM
audiotx audiotx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: France
Posts: 4
Default Re: Standalone MBOX2

Many thanks for your replies
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win 7 & mbox2 standalone drivers SteveGam 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-26-2009 06:26 PM
Standalone Mbox2 mini Vista drivers Martinus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-12-2009 10:28 AM
How to set up a MBOX2 Pro as a standalone firewire interface Quicksilver General Discussion 11 08-05-2008 08:16 AM
Help! MBox2 firmware update killed my mBox2 kova 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 09-27-2006 05:19 PM
Using Mbox2 as standalone pre? brinaddison 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-22-2005 08:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com