Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 12 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2017, 01:36 PM
tundra tundra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 175
Default 12.7 - Memory

Any reason why 12.7 would say it's using %50 of the Memory Available?
I've tried all the cache settings..

This is on a test machine, running 10.12.2.. 2010 27inch iMac with 8GB of Ram.

The session is new and completely blank.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2017, 04:13 PM
gnjlee gnjlee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Santa Fe, New Mexico
Posts: 59
Default Re: 12.7 - Memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by tundra View Post
Any reason why 12.7 would say it's using %50 of the Memory Available?
I've tried all the cache settings..

This is on a test machine, running 10.12.2.. 2010 27inch iMac with 8GB of Ram.

The session is new and completely blank.
I am going to go out on a limb here and say: That is because you only have 8 gig of ram. If it is only using 50% then at least you have some left.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-16-2017, 04:48 PM
VRW VRW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,251
Default Re: 12.7 - Memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by gnjlee View Post
I am going to go out on a limb here and say: That is because you only have 8 gig of ram. If it is only using 50% then at least you have some left.
+1

PT 12.7 uses disk cache and 8GB memory simply will be not enough for a decent performance in the long run. It´s all 64bit now, the OS, Pro Tools etc.
You want 16GB memory at the least for PT12.7 even if the official requirement says 8GB minimum.

I have 16GB in my i7 Quad MBP and still cannot get loaded whole sessions into the Ram by disk cache even if those sessions are only small to mid sized,
not even large ones.

Also check out if there are other programs/applications running in the background but 8GB will be not enough for PT12.7 anyway finally.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2017, 08:17 AM
tundra tundra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 175
Default Re: 12.7 - Memory

Yah, thats what I figured.. 12.5 did not exhibit the same behaviour on the same machine though, so I thought I'd ask.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-17-2017, 09:29 AM
john1192 john1192 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: los angeles
Posts: 4,046
Default Re: 12.7 - Memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by VRW View Post
+1

PT 12.7 uses disk cache and 8GB memory simply will be not enough for a decent performance in the long run. It´s all 64bit now, the OS, Pro Tools etc.
You want 16GB memory at the least for PT12.7 even if the official requirement says 8GB minimum.

I have 16GB in my i7 Quad MBP and still cannot get loaded whole sessions into the Ram by disk cache even if those sessions are only small to mid sized,
not even large ones.

Also check out if there are other programs/applications running in the background but 8GB will be not enough for PT12.7 anyway finally.
Disk Cache - you have to turn it on - it is not on by Default - and you can set it to something smaller like 256,MB 512MB, 1Gb ..
__________________
OS 10.12.5 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.5 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad Pro |Control - EuCon 3.6 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-17-2017, 09:52 AM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens / İstanbul / Oakland
Posts: 300
Default Re: 12.7 - Memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by tundra View Post
Any reason why 12.7 would say it's using %50 of the Memory Available?
I've tried all the cache settings..

This is on a test machine, running 10.12.2.. 2010 27inch iMac with 8GB of Ram.

The session is new and completely blank.
To add to others' comments, memory being used is a good thing. If it's unused, it's being wasted. PT & any modern OS will preemptively & speculatively load things (code & data) you *might* need into memory. This way they're quickly available. If memory fills up and something else must be loaded, PT / the OS will move unnecessary/unused things out of RAM & onto disk, while keeping as many in-use resources as possible loaded into RAM.

Also, contrary to others' opinions, I have gotten by fine with 8gb, using basically no VIs but plenty of tracks (up to 35 I think) & a "normal" array of plugins — i.e. lots of lightweight eqs & comps (mcdsp), a couple heavyweight reverbs (lex) & delays (soundtoys), & a welterweight limiter (ML4000). YMMV but I wouldn't worry about what the memory meter says unless you actually have problems, most likely in the form of slowdowns while things are written to & read from disk.

~Peter in Athens
__________________
my (long-term) travel system
~ Macbook Air 11" / 2gHz dual i7 / 256GB ssd / PT12 / McDSP / Apogee Duet ~
whole studio (+3 mics) weighs 7 lbs & mixes 24 tracks without a hiccup!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kontakt Memory Server (KMS) Could not start MemoryServer. Memory Extension will be... John_Toolbox Virtual Instruments 5 12-29-2011 11:03 AM
MEMORY ERROR MESSAGES- Strange memory loss hwill2008 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 09-23-2010 08:14 AM
Memory is Low? Quit and Allocate more memory to PT Unite 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-08-2004 05:38 PM
Will PC2700 memory work in PC2100 memory slot? dfusion 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-08-2004 10:30 AM
Promting lack of memory on PC with adequate memory! Any tips? will22 Digidesign Hardware & Software 12 09-20-2001 08:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com