Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Old 05-29-2012, 07:33 AM

Default Waverider

I have several "reality type" programs to mix for local tv. I bought Waverider as it seems to be the perfect tool for producing this type of audio material that has no budget for manual film like dialogue editing and mix. I was hoping that Waverider would balance the dialogue but I am getting far too many volume level errors. I have never used this type of automatic mixing before so I think I am not setting Waverider correctly.

I need to get my dialogue to be: max peaks -11 dbfs, dialnorm -24 (average volume for standard television broadcasting in stereo).

Is Waverider's default film dialogue setting suitable for what I am trying to do? or is there another preset I can download?
Old 05-29-2012, 09:26 AM

Default Re: Waverider

I used Waverider very successfully for a reality TV show with a -24 LKFS requirement. I did have to put a limiter on my Dx bus to keep the peaks in spec, and also found that I needed to clean up some of the automation, but it was helpful.

Randall
Old 05-29-2012, 04:56 PM

On a short film I recently mixed, I spent more time trying to get the desired results from waverider than it would have taken me to ride the faders manually.

Hitting it with the proper gain staging is important too. I used it on a In January on PT8 and had to really crank the gain in order to keep the fader movements out of the +6 to +12 range. This past film was PT10 I thought that clip gain would help that , but it didn't. Still had to gain it up alot to hit the silence threshold properly to allow the proper fader headroom. Kind of a PITA. If anyone has any tips I would sure appreciate them.