Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2017, 11:40 PM
edwinstar edwinstar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 175
Default i7 not recommended for 12HD, why?

Avid on their Pro Tools HD System requirements Page only recommends a Xeon Processor for Windows Pro Tools HD12. Does anyone know why the i7 is not recommended?


Gesendet von iPhone mit Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-15-2017, 04:45 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,895
Default Re: i7 not recommended for 12HD, why?

Probably outdated info. Faster i7 quad and i7 6-cores are great with PT(all versions)
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-15-2017, 05:19 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,200
Default Re: i7 not recommended for 12HD, why?

I suspect marketing, help make the HD price point seem right, maybe some desire to be on a ECC memory workstation.

In reality there is no need, and an i7 will deliver everything the Xeon will at lower cost (except ECC memory, and that's likely not needed).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2017, 10:36 PM
edwinstar edwinstar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 175
Default Re: i7 not recommended for 12HD, why?

interesting, thanks for your answers!


Gesendet von iPhone mit Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wtb 12hd degs7 Buy & Sell 0 07-13-2016 08:54 AM
Serious Bug in 12HD Carl Lie Pro Tools 12 Discussion 6 02-15-2016 10:45 AM
PT 12HD volume issues mhender Pro Tools 12 Discussion 11 09-16-2015 01:35 AM
Wanna knows what's new in PT 12 and PT 12HD?... Justin1524 Pro Tools 12 Discussion 0 09-03-2015 02:18 PM
ProTools 12HD does not see Intensity Pro esparza audio Pro Tools 12 Discussion 1 04-05-2015 12:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com