Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-14-2018, 06:46 AM
mickeyrouse mickeyrouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Beaumont, Texas
Posts: 159
Default Windows auto updated, now things are S-L-O-W

Yesterday Windows 7 automatically updated while my computer was on overnight. I wasn’t signed on at the time ( gee thanks Microsoft.)
PT12 now loads at glacial speed, but not every time. Project load functions are very slow, as are almost all functions.
But not every time.
This has happened about every six months or so, and in the past I have gone to Control Panel>Programs and removed the most recent Microsoft updates and operating speed returns to normal.
Not so this time. Has anyone else expetienced this, and what can be done?
And as long as we’re talking about this, how can I prevent these unsolicited updates? I have experienced my computer being tied up as long as an hour and a galf while “the system is geing configured.” It seems Microsoft should at least ask before taking over our computers- I don’t always have an hour and a half I can give up with no notice.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-14-2018, 09:25 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,386
Default Re: Windows auto updated, now things are S-L-O-W

Why not turn off auto update in Windows Control Panel?
Also why not just unplug from the net when you don't need it? That way you don't get blindsided like you did.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-14-2018, 09:37 AM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 522
Default Re: Windows auto updated, now things are S-L-O-W

I restored to 8/26 last night because the last update caused Pro Tools to crash while loading and made some of my isotope stuff "disappear". I am running 3 Win 7 machines so I have the auto updates turned off and only do them one at a time to test-this one failed so the other two wont be getting this particular update.Oh, I tried restoring t 8/29 first which did not work so I went back to the next save , which worked.
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 18.7 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-14-2018, 10:12 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,386
Default Re: Windows auto updated, now things are S-L-O-W

Quote:
Originally Posted by 64GTOBOY View Post
I restored to 8/26 last night because the last update caused Pro Tools to crash while loading and made some of my isotope stuff "disappear". I am running 3 Win 7 machines so I have the auto updates turned off and only do them one at a time to test-this one failed so the other two wont be getting this particular update.Oh, I tried restoring t 8/29 first which did not work so I went back to the next save , which worked.
Do you do manual restore points or let Windows do it on it's own? Back when I had my Windows system running XP and Sonar 8 I learned to not trust Windows to do restore points like it was advertised to do so I got in the habit of doing my own. Same reason I don't trust OSX and Time Machine and use a 3rd party program (Carbon Copy Cloner) to do what I need.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-14-2018, 11:39 AM
mickeyrouse mickeyrouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Beaumont, Texas
Posts: 159
Default Re: Windows auto updated, now things are S-L-O-W

Didn’t know I could disable auto updates until today. But how do I get it back to running at “normal” speed?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-14-2018, 01:55 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,386
Default Re: Windows auto updated, now things are S-L-O-W

Quote:
Originally Posted by mickeyrouse View Post
Didn’t know I could disable auto updates until today. But how do I get it back to running at “normal” speed?
What's your previous restore point? Windows creates them at irregular intervals.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-14-2018, 04:37 PM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 522
Default Re: Windows auto updated, now things are S-L-O-W

I have backup hard drives if necessary but I always try the Windoze backup first cuz it's usually the quickest. Plus I know when it last was working properly most of the time so I can usually just do one restore. Although I had to do two this time.
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 18.7 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto Tune updated to 8.1.8 WorldStudios AAX Plug-ins 7 04-28-2017 05:06 PM
New updated Imacs out today, plus other things nst7 General Discussion 0 10-13-2015 08:51 AM
newly updated win xp doing strange things banjo71 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 6 03-21-2010 09:30 PM
Anybody know what's up with Auto-Tune EVO Audiosuite making things late Jperkins 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-10-2009 04:27 PM
Auto-Tune updated. scottedog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-25-2005 12:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com