Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #2411  
Old 01-15-2007, 08:13 PM
drewzee87t drewzee87t is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 21
Default Re: Zalman coolers install for the F socket

disregard I got it fixed..

I was using an pre sp1 xp disk. You need to create your own image with a SP2 and proper nvidia sata drivers or you won't be installing xp.....

I made mine using a tool from nLite. This was the stuff. I would have been here for a century trying if I had not come upon this tool.

http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?...9&#entry356029


grab the nLite tool and put your drivers and sp2 on there, burn to disc and voila!

Happy
Reply With Quote
  #2412  
Old 01-16-2007, 04:08 PM
drewzee87t drewzee87t is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 21
Default Dverb test

Got her all up and running on a nice clean XP, 7.3.1 dverb test hit 160 without any issues. 24/48 32 tracks 1024 and 95%. I don't know how to add any more, I tried adding 12 more tracks and loaded them up with dverb - it made it about 1:25 and choked with error something like "too much automation data, please try thinning automation data 9122"

So I know it won't do 220

160 is quite sufficient for right now.
Reply With Quote
  #2413  
Old 01-16-2007, 08:28 PM
siga siga is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: California
Posts: 107
Default Re: Allenstein OctaPC and Quadzilla Machine *update*

*Urgent*
first let me list my specs:
-2 AMD 280
-4GB ram (each stick is 2GB ram. so 2 sticks, ecc, 184pin) i put one for each cpu
-ocz 520 powerstream
-CASE TT|VA3000SWA
-VGA SAPPHIRE X550 100190L
-Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (Perpendicular Recording) ST3250620AS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive (FOR XP AND PRO TOOLS AND APPS.)"C" AND "D" DRIVES

- Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive (FOR AUDIO RECORDING) "E" DRIVE
-LITE-ON Combo Drive
-2 Thermaltake VENUS 12 80mm Ball CPU Cooler

THANKS to a great friend and all of you here this pc was put togther very fast, evrything working good,he did the bios settings that shane explained, xp sp2 installed no issues, the first hd was split into 2, "C" for xp (15gb) and "D" (for pro tools and applications),first i installed ilok driver on "D", I installed pro tools 7.0 le on "D" with no issues, i connected the DIGI002 and pro tools was set, here comes the major issue, when i started to make a "new session" PT wont allow me to save on to "E" (the audio drive) an error says "E IS NOT AN AUDIO RECORDING VOLUME" i tired to change the settings from the taps on the main PT screen under "work space" I tried to change the A (audio) TO R (RECORD) and it gave me the same error , the other 2 hard drives "C" AND "D" can be changed to an "R" with out an problem, and infact i tried to record on the "D" drive and it worked.
How do i let pro tools know that "E" is the audio drive and i can record on it? what went wrong?
Now, regarding recording on "D", it worked but guys folowing the D-verb test ruls for (48/24bit) test, my dual opteron 280 with 4 gb ram only did 103 mono deverb plugins without recording and the cpu usage went over the top to red. GUys whats going on, what is the problem,do i have to install the AMD hotfix? eventhough pt reads all 4 processor, guys its disappointing having spent alot of time and money and my friends valuble time and in the end having only 100 dverbs (eventhough its recording on the same hd the PT is on, but should it make that much difference?)guys please, can someone please direct me where thing might have gone worng, thank you for all your valuble time, thank you!
ohh one thing guys in the bios the only thing that i made my firend change was keeping the onboard audio of the mobo on,can that cause that low of plug count and not reording on the "E" drive? thank you!
__________________
dual opteron 280,4gb ram, win xp sp2,digi002, pt le 7.0
Reply With Quote
  #2414  
Old 01-16-2007, 09:12 PM
Khatru Khatru is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Saratoga Springs, NY
Posts: 310
Default Re: Allenstein OctaPC and Quadzilla Machine *update*

Could be a silly question, but did you go into Windows and configure the drives that you want to use for audio?

If not...

right click My Computer and select Manage
under Storage, choose Disk Management
In the Disk Management window, right click on the drive you want to use for audio, choose Format.
pull down the Allocation Size menu and select 32K (that's what I did anyhow).
deselect Quick Format.
close the box.
Rock on.

If so, Sorry, I can't help you .

Dave
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600/Asus P5W DH Deluxe/Nexus NX-5000/2 X 1GB CORSAIR PC2 6400/WD 80 & 250 GB Hard Drives/GeForce 7600GT/Lite-On CDRW/AcoustiCase 360/2-120mm AcoustiFans/XP Pro SP2/Mbox LE 7.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #2415  
Old 01-16-2007, 10:43 PM
siga siga is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: California
Posts: 107
Default Re: Allenstein OctaPC and Quadzilla Machine *update*

thanks Khatru for the qick reply, im formating the drive while im typing this,ihope this works , but for sure i see something different about this drive, the other 2 drives are "basic" this is not, i guess it needs to be "basic"....now with that i hope out of the way, any reason guys for the low plugin count with such a monster pc specs? any help or ideas would much apretiated, thanks you again!

*UPDATE*, Khatru's instruction did not work (but thank you again), i think i know now that i need to format mu audio drive to being "BASIC" i just got to figure out how,
I just did another d-verb test 48/24 , and i got 150 plugins and recording with the cpu usage at 92% full (i guess this is the limit) I thought i was going to get a better result (in the 170 range)one thing i notice between the mac g5 and this pc cpu usage is that the mac's was more stable, meaning it did not bounce up and down,it was more constant, the pc usage seems to keep goin g up and down (im not sure that is normal), guys again i can not figuer out why its not a higher plugin count, is it because of soundcard on from bios? or the d-verb on the 7.1 or 7.3 more optimized than the one i have for 7.0 (what im using now)0 thanks you again for any help!
__________________
dual opteron 280,4gb ram, win xp sp2,digi002, pt le 7.0
Reply With Quote
  #2416  
Old 01-17-2007, 11:07 AM
rickthestick rickthestick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 141
Default Re: Allenstein OctaPC and Quadzilla Machine *update*

You were close. In disk manager, to the left of the bar graph is where you need to right click and change it to a basic disk. Sometimes you need to delete the patition before you can do this. That will give you full access to the drive in PT.
Reply With Quote
  #2417  
Old 01-17-2007, 11:52 AM
siga siga is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: California
Posts: 107
Default Re: Allenstein OctaPC and Quadzilla Machine *upda

you are right rick! m friend also noted that earlly this morning and i changed it to basic and now i can record audio on it...thanks again guys...
now regarding plugin count, i upgraded to 7.1 than to 7.1cs10 and that added another 5 dverbs so my final test with dual opteron 280 and 4gb ram had a dverb count of 155 (using 95% of pcu's) test done at 48/24 bit, i think thats the best this can do, which is great.
__________________
dual opteron 280,4gb ram, win xp sp2,digi002, pt le 7.0
Reply With Quote
  #2418  
Old 01-17-2007, 04:02 PM
siga siga is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: California
Posts: 107
Default Re: Allenstein OctaPC and Quadzilla Machine *upda

guys another thing just occured, while recording at 44.1k only I get an error saying:The audio device buffer overflowed. This might include an invalid clock source. If this occurs frequently, try decreasing the "H/W Buffer Size" in the Playback Engine panel (-6084). I tired lowering buffer no luck, it seems that the 7.1 updated caused this, any soultion to this guys, thanks a lot for any help!
__________________
dual opteron 280,4gb ram, win xp sp2,digi002, pt le 7.0
Reply With Quote
  #2419  
Old 01-19-2007, 08:24 PM
Khatru Khatru is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Saratoga Springs, NY
Posts: 310
Default Re: Allenstein OctaPC and Quadzilla Machine *upda

Yes the time is now.

I've finalized my new rig and will order everything on Monday. My only remaining question is regarding the BFG Tech BFGR76256GTOCE GeForce 7600GT 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card. Anyone familiar with this? My builder found this to be what he considers a much better alternative to the Saphire Radeon listed in the Quadzilla post. Theres a $50 rebate from new egg which brings the price down to $89.99, which is sweet compared to the Radeon at $179 and which has gotten mediocre reviews from NE customers as being noisy. The BFG Tech has better reviews and is OC'd from the factory. The serious gamers like it's performance and comment on it being somewhat noisy. That's why we opted to add the Zalman.

So, if anyone has any suggestions I'd love to hear from you. BTW, this is dual Opteron 270. I've configured things so that at some point I may go quad ($$$ you know). The reason for posting in this thread is that y'all are more familiar with my specs.

Many thanks to everyone's posts and help thus far. The DUC has been incredibly valuable. I read and re-read, and always discover new things. I could never have built this thing without it. I just hope the silly thing works .

Have a great weekend,

Dave

Here's the specs:


AcoustiCase C6607B (Black)

ATX Ultra-Quiet PSU, 560W, 120mm Dustproof fan

2 X AcoustiFan 120mm, noiseless, dustproof fans

TYAN S2877ANRF-RS Dual Socket 940 NVIDIA nForce4
Professional 2200 ATX Server Motherboard
1 X AMD Dual-Core Opteron 270 Italy 2.0GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache
Socket 940 Dual Core Processor

BFG Tech BFGR76256GTOCE GeForce 7600GT 256MB
128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card plus ZALMAN VF700-ALCU 2 Ball VGA COOLER
CORSAIR 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM ECC Registered
DDR 400 (PC 3200) Server Memory

2 X Western Digital 80 GB 7200RPM 8MB Hard Drives

LITE-ON Black 16X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL
16X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 5X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM
48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2M Cache
ATAPI/E-IDE DVD Burner With LightScribe

Samsung 941BW Black 19”4 ms GTG widescreen DVI

PT LE 7.3 upgrade from 6.4

XPpro SP2

Mbox…Dig it
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600/Asus P5W DH Deluxe/Nexus NX-5000/2 X 1GB CORSAIR PC2 6400/WD 80 & 250 GB Hard Drives/GeForce 7600GT/Lite-On CDRW/AcoustiCase 360/2-120mm AcoustiFans/XP Pro SP2/Mbox LE 7.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #2420  
Old 01-24-2007, 02:49 PM
bean438 bean438 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 130
Default Re: Allenstein OctaPC and Quadzilla Machine *upda

So whats the deal with the UAD cards that are not working?
Are both the PCI, and PCIe versions not working?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core i7 2.0GHz Quad-Core Processor or Intel Core i7 2.7GHz Dual-Core Processor? okodub Pro Tools 9 3 09-23-2011 07:33 AM
Single core vs. dual core vs. quad core John Peeples Tips & Tricks 9 11-07-2007 03:28 PM
APPLE MAC PRO or The Allenstein "Quadzilla" Machin hws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 27 03-05-2007 11:06 PM
MAC PRO or The Allenstein "Quadzilla" Machine ???? hws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 09-26-2006 11:53 AM
Opteron 165 Dual-Core, upgrading my Allenstein! RSSstudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 02-01-2006 08:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com