Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #2401  
Old 01-12-2007, 04:46 PM
Kris75's Avatar
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,552
Default Attn: Matt P

Hey there Matt, I just came across some fans called Arctic Cooling. They are from germany and are super quiet and about half the price of the Zalmans. Have you ever tried them, they have some fluid filled pipes and I am a little concerned about that, but wow, quiet.
Shane suggested that I ask you when I talked to him earlier today.
Thanks in advance.
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!




Kris
May the music move you
Reply With Quote
  #2402  
Old 01-12-2007, 05:43 PM
pasanta pasanta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 581
Default Re: Allenstein OctaPC/dutch version

Quote:
Thanks for getting back. I did see that ram in new egg. It is ECC but not XMS as Allen specified, and isn't a dual kit - if that matters. Too many specs man! I wish I knew what I was doing. I'm on overload .

Thanks again, Dave
The link I have in my previous post to the Corsair RAM at NewEgg is what I have in my Tyan quad. No problems ( although I DID have to send one stick that arrived bad).
Reply With Quote
  #2403  
Old 01-13-2007, 09:44 AM
FRETLESS FRETLESS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 32
Default Re: Attn: Matt P

Hi all...

First, am I submitting this post correctly by clicking on "reply"?

I've got my quad up and running. Everything seems to be working pretty well with one exception. The system is dead quiet until I launch PT 7.3. Then, I get a high frequency noise/whine from the monitors. I have seen alot of this issue with Mbox, but not the 002R. Has anyone else had this issue?

Here's my specs.
Asus K8N-DL Socket 940 Motherboard
(2) AMD Optheron 270 ITALY CPU'S
4GB 1024 Corsair PC 3200 DDR-DIMM ECC REG MEMORY
Asus Geforce extreme N6800GT 256 MB DDR3 PCI-Express , Dual DVI, Dual VGA
Western Digital SATA 80GB and 160GB 7200 rpm Hard Drives
Samsung SH-182 DVD/CD/RW
OCZ Powerstream 520W PSU
Windows XP PRO SP2
Roland D-90 powered monitors
Samsom powered sub

DIGI 002R PT 7.3
Atmosphere
Amplitube
Stylus RMX
Reply With Quote
  #2404  
Old 01-13-2007, 10:58 AM
Matt P Matt P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Topeka, Kansas
Posts: 725
Default Re: Attn: Matt P

Hey Kris,

Yes I have if you are talking about this one.

Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro

And they work just as well as the Zalmans.
In fact maybe even a little better.

Here is a couple of reviews of the Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro:

3DXtreme Review

Frosty Tech Review

I've used these on some of the gamming computers that I've built for people.
And as far as Air cooling they are just as good as any of rest aftermarket but they are quiet.
Not as quiet as H2O but not bad.
Any ways I say go for them they will work great in the Quads!
I keep for getting that you guys don't use H2O!


Matt
__________________
"To Record Music Is All That Really Matter's!"
"When Not Dealing with the Darkside!"
Yoda (HOBO MASTER)"I'm Back from the NORTH POLE!"

Reply With Quote
  #2405  
Old 01-13-2007, 11:09 AM
Matt P Matt P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Topeka, Kansas
Posts: 725
Default Re: Attn: Matt P

Fretless,

Are you using the firewire port on the riser on the board or one of the ones that you plug a cable into the board come out of the front of a case for example?
Or have you tried a seperate Digi approved PCI fireewire card?
And of coarse you have your on board sound card disabled in the BIOS.
Also you might try putting a ground lift plug on your monitors.
I had to do that with my Event's.
Let us know.

Matt
__________________
"To Record Music Is All That Really Matter's!"
"When Not Dealing with the Darkside!"
Yoda (HOBO MASTER)"I'm Back from the NORTH POLE!"

Reply With Quote
  #2406  
Old 01-13-2007, 11:29 AM
Kris75's Avatar
Kris75 Kris75 is offline
Space Cabin Audio
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,552
Default Re: Attn: Matt P

Right on dood. Thanks for the reply. I will get them in a week or so and report back about the noise issues.
Thanks again Matt, now lets get Shane back on here, it's long overdue.
__________________
Sign up for all things....AWESOME!




Kris
May the music move you
Reply With Quote
  #2407  
Old 01-13-2007, 09:30 PM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: Allenstein OctaPC and Quadzilla Machine *update*

Has anyone put together a new Intel Xeon Quad here with benchmarks?

Allen
Reply With Quote
  #2408  
Old 01-14-2007, 01:57 AM
drewzee87t drewzee87t is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 21
Default Zalman coolers install for the F socket

I built my F socket quad today. I ran into a number of problems that I was able to surpass, however I am still unable to load windoz. I will break this down into two topics, first the Zalman coolers and how to get them hooked up as I did. Second is the HELP ME thread thats about why I cannot install windoz.

Zalman coolers install on the Tyan F socket board.
Here is the stuff I used:

HD 250G|ST 7K 8M SATA2 ST3250824AS - System
HD 500G|ST 7K 16M SATA2 ST3500630AS - Data/Audio
SERVER_MB TYAN|S2927A2NRF R
2* MNTR SAMSUNG|LCD 19" 2MS DVI 931C
2* CPU FAN ZALMAN|CNPS9500 AT RTL

--This is the original fans that I bought at newegg, but they are only for the Intel 775 sockets....

When these arrived more research indicates that I SHOULD HAVE ordered the CNPS9500AM2, which has the proper bracket for connecting to the backplate socket thing that is on the Opteron boards. Correcto, I fitted up the the bracket from this fan and it was a match to the cpu offset blocks provided with the ASUS board.

So now I am checking out all the jumpers and where things plug in on the ASUS board, and note that the ASUS board has all 4 pin fan plugs. And the 9500am2 has all three pin plugins with these remotely adjustable rheostats.

And then I look at the 9500 AT (Intel 775 setup) and they have the 4 pin power supplies but have unusable brackets.

So I used the 9500AT fans (4pin supply) and the brackets from the AM2. I swapped out the AT brackets and we will see how smart the egg is on returns. (sorry)

Other than that, it was really difficult to get two of these monsters mounted with the appropriate precautions to make sure the arctic stuff worked. Hardest part of the whole setup was the cpu coolers by far.


VGA ASUS N EN7950GT/HTDP/512M R
2* CPU AMD|OPT 2210 1.8G 1207 2x1M 90R
4* MEM 1G|KST DII667 KVR667D2D8P5/1G R
KB&MS LOGITECH|EX110 CRDLS DSKTP RT
DVD_BURN LITE-ON|LH-20A1H-185 BK %
Nexus_Breeze_Case Nexus Breeze 500 Watt Silent PC (End PC Noise)
Arctic silver5

The rest of the hardware setup went very smoothly, it's running right now but I am looking at black screens as I cannot get past the first reboot on XP install. I get the black screen. Post is fine, I get video on bios setup and first stage of XP install, but after it shuts down, reboots, all I get is the black screen.

I am installing an XP pro upgrade from 2002, it is probably pre SP1 or SP2. I have also tried setting up as an ACPI multiprocessor, still after reboot nothing but black screen.

Do I need to go buy a fing SP2 upgrade now? I cannot get windows to install past its first boot. Ideas would be welcome.

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #2409  
Old 01-14-2007, 03:53 PM
siga siga is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: California
Posts: 107
Default Re: Allenstein OctaPC and Quadzilla Machine *update*

can anyone please confirm the drawbacks of having the on board soundcard on in the bios vs not having it on, i know shane you said to have it off, but as i explained if it is not a major thing i would like to be able to use it on the tyan tiger, thnaks you again for your time guys!
__________________
dual opteron 280,4gb ram, win xp sp2,digi002, pt le 7.0
Reply With Quote
  #2410  
Old 01-14-2007, 06:56 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: Allenstein OctaPC and Quadzilla Machine *update*

Quote:
can anyone please confirm the drawbacks of having the on board soundcard on in the bios vs not having it on, i know shane you said to have it off, but as i explained if it is not a major thing i would like to be able to use it on the tyan tiger, thnaks you again for your time guys!
everything will work just fine, it is a performance hit though which to me is most noticable when heavy tracking with plugs and such. i just enable and disable it as i need it.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core i7 2.0GHz Quad-Core Processor or Intel Core i7 2.7GHz Dual-Core Processor? okodub Pro Tools 9 3 09-23-2011 07:33 AM
Single core vs. dual core vs. quad core John Peeples Tips & Tricks 9 11-07-2007 03:28 PM
APPLE MAC PRO or The Allenstein "Quadzilla" Machin hws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 27 03-05-2007 11:06 PM
MAC PRO or The Allenstein "Quadzilla" Machine ???? hws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 09-26-2006 11:53 AM
Opteron 165 Dual-Core, upgrading my Allenstein! RSSstudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 02-01-2006 08:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com