Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2020, 08:10 AM
CraigLindsay CraigLindsay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 15
Default Pro Tools and hyperthreading + recommended system?

Hi,

Could anyone link me to the recommended (computer) system guide for Pro Tools? I tried the "Looking for..." sticky, but the link didn't go anywhere.

In particular, I'm wanting to know how Pro Tools does with hyperthreading these days.
I recall there being issues many years ago, and I'm looking at a new Mac, however many options come with hyperthreading and it can't be turned off afaik.

Appreciate any help.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-01-2020, 01:53 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,365
Default Re: Pro Tools and hyperthreading + recommended system?

Hyperthreading can be turned off, google for CPUsetter. But that is not permanent setting, you need to set it after every boot
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-01-2020, 04:13 PM
CraigLindsay CraigLindsay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 15
Default Re: Pro Tools and hyperthreading + recommended system?

Thank you, that's good to know. It's not too bad having to do it each when I log in to my Pro Tools user.

Does hyperthreading work well with the latest Macs or is it still a recommendation to turn it off for best results? Or is it more a "maybe", try it and see. Turn it off if it doesn't work well?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-01-2020, 04:16 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,365
Default Re: Pro Tools and hyperthreading + recommended system?

Working well on Catalina, was on/off with Mojave, didn't have problem with it before that.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-01-2020, 04:20 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,896
Default Re: Pro Tools and hyperthreading + recommended system?

YMMV (or YkmMV) depending on your workload and plugins. What others see may not mean anything for you, but things have improved in the last year or so with general plugin performance/scaling. Start by just using your systems without changing anything.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-01-2020, 07:21 PM
CraigLindsay CraigLindsay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 15
Default Re: Pro Tools and hyperthreading + recommended system?

Thanks for the advice! Much appreciated!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C'mon Man!!!! (Pro Tools and Hyperthreading) roboman01 Pro Tools 2018 42 02-19-2019 01:58 PM
Recommended Hardware for a PT 8 LE system charlesd81 General Discussion 1 11-24-2010 07:30 AM
Advice on a recommended system specs please digi kingof6strings 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-15-2010 03:05 AM
Does Pro Tools LE Utilize Hyperthreading in the new Mac Pro's? Monaco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 08-10-2009 09:15 AM
Recommended System for Mix Plus System Beatmeister Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-26-2004 11:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com