Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-06-2017, 03:51 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 719
Default Ableton Live Rewired

Hey guys,

I almost put this in the Cubase and Pro Tools thread, but realized it was way OT.

Does anyone here run Live in tandem with PT? I realize Live can be a powerful production tool and I do like its uncluttered look, but haven't really experimented with it.

How good / easy is Live's midi? Can any users explain their Live / PT workflow? Thanks.
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.5 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-06-2017, 10:30 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 719
Default Re: Ableton Live Rewired

Bump, anyone? No Live users/
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.5 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-06-2017, 12:18 PM
Glenjb Glenjb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 656
Default Re: Ableton Live Rewired

I like Ableton Live a lot. It's got some great midi and audio effects and is awesome for sound design. I think the best way is to find some videos on youtube and play around with it. I prefer midi editing in pro tools out of habit but sometimes I will throw all my midi tracks in Live after editing is nearly done. Editing midi in live is not the end of the world, just a bit different.

I've run live in rewire and it works fine but you can only slave Live to PT. Also you can't use any vst's either in rewire slave mode- only Ableton native effects. You can't route audio from PT to Live's audio effects, you have to bounce the audio track from pt and import into to live. That got really annoying for me so I will just use one or the other.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-06-2017, 12:39 PM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 719
Default Re: Ableton Live Rewired

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenjb View Post
I like Ableton Live a lot. It's got some great midi and audio effects and is awesome for sound design. I think the best way is to find some videos on youtube and play around with it. I prefer midi editing in pro tools out of habit but sometimes I will throw all my midi tracks in Live after editing is nearly done. Editing midi in live is not the end of the world, just a bit different.

I've run live in rewire and it works fine but you can only slave Live to PT. Also you can't use any vst's either in rewire slave mode- only Ableton native effects. You can't route audio from PT to Live's audio effects, you have to bounce the audio track from pt and import into to live. That got really annoying for me so I will just use one or the other.
Hi Glenjb, thanks for the input! It's a shame you can't run vst's in rewire slave mode. That was one of the possibilities I was looking at. Also that you can't pipe audio from PT to take advantage of some of Live's more unusual effects. When you do use Live, do you do everything in there and import back into PT?
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.5 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ableton Live rewired to PT8 problem. Gothboy Virtual Instruments 1 10-05-2009 11:43 PM
problems with rewired ableton live aempee Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 05-25-2007 04:23 PM
Ableton Rewired question Kryst 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-23-2006 12:02 AM
Amplitube in Pro Tools rewired with Ableton dobyboby Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 06-04-2005 02:00 PM
Amplitube in Pro Tools rewired with Ableton dobyboby 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-02-2005 07:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com