Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-23-2013, 04:24 PM
gallsey gallsey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 2
Default DAE Buffer -9514

Hey new to the forum

I have been using other DAW for years, after hearing great things decided to give Pro Tools a go. Tried installing version 10.3.5 on windows 7 pro 64. The install goes smooth, when running the application I get presented with the error.

"Could not allocate memory for the disk cache. Try lowering your disk buffer (DAE Buffer),.......(-9514) .

So far I have uninstalled with CCleaner , reboot, reinstall launching the setup as administrator, have also added users for full privilege and deleted my preferences. Any advice would be great
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-23-2013, 07:55 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,909
Default Re: DAE Buffer -9514

So did you try lowering buffer? Pro Tools>Setup>playback Engine.

Are you recording to a separated drive; If so what are it's specs?

How much RAM do you have in your system?

If lowering your buffer doesn't work, post a Sandra Report, it'll make helping you easier for folks here.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-24-2013, 08:40 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,659
Default Re: DAE Buffer -9514

We have ZERO information about your system, so it's hard to tell exactly what's going on. Please read the HELP UP HELP YOU thread at the top of the forum and post a sandra report.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-27-2013, 09:48 AM
gallsey gallsey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 2
Default Re: DAE Buffer -9514

The program displays the error when I open it! Here is my info, is there anything else you require?


SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : MSI MS-7522 High-End Desktop
Serial Number : To Be Fille***********
Chassis : MSI Desktop
Mainboard : MSI X58 Pro-E (MS-7522)
Serial Number : To be fille***********
BIOS : AMI (OEM) V8.15 03/19/2011
Total Memory : 6GB DIMM DDR3

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 930 @ 2.80GHz (4C 8T 3GHz, 2.14GHz IMC, 4x 256kB L2, 8MB L3)
Socket/Slot : FC LGA1366

Chipset
Memory Controller : MSI X58 I/O Hub 2x 2.41GHz (4.82GHz)
Memory Controller : Intel Core Desktop (Bloomfield) UnCore 2x 2.41GHz (4.82GHz), 3x 2GB DIMM DDR3 1.07GHz 192-bit

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : OCZ OCZ3G1600LV2G 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-8500U DDR3-1066 (7-7-7-16 4-26-8-4)
Memory Module : OCZ OCZ3G1600LV2G 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-8500U DDR3-1066 (7-7-7-16 4-26-8-4)
Memory Module : OCZ OCZ3G1600LV2G 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-8500U DDR3-1066 (7-7-7-16 4-26-8-4)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : ACR S230HL
(1920x1080, 23.1")
Monitor/Panel : (Standard monitor types) Generic Non-PnP Monitor
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti (448 SM5.0 1.46GHz, 1.3GB 3.8GHz 320-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti (448 SM5.0 1.46GHz, 1.3GB 3.8GHz 320-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti (448SP 14C 1.46GHz, 1.3GB 3.8GHz 320-bit)
Compute Shader Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti (448SP 1.46GHz, 1.3GB 3.8GHz 320-bit)
CUDA GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti (448SP 14C 1.46GHz, 640kB L2, 1.3GB 3.8GHz 320-bit)

Storage Devices
OCZ-VERTEX3 (120GB, SATA600, SSD) : 112GB (C:) (H:)
WDC WD3000HLFS-01G6U4 (300GB, SATA300, 3.5", 10000rpm, 16MB Cache) : 279GB (F:)
WDC WD1500HLFS-01G6U1 (150GB, SATA300, 3.5", 10000rpm, 16MB Cache) : 140GB (D:) (E:)
HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH22LS50 (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (G:)
DTSOFT BDROM (993.4MB, ) : 947MB (I:)

Logical Storage Devices
res 2 (H:) : 100MB (NTFS) @ OCZ-VERTEX3 (120GB, SATA600, SSD)
Production (F:) : 279GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD3000HLFS-01G6U4 (300GB, SATA300, 3.5", 10000rpm, 16MB Cache)
res 1 (D:) : 100MB (NTFS) @ WDC WD1500HLFS-01G6U1 (150GB, SATA300, 3.5", 10000rpm, 16MB Cache)
Hard Disk (C:) : 112GB (NTFS) @ OCZ-VERTEX3 (120GB, SATA600, SSD)
Hard Disk (E:) : 140GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD1500HLFS-01G6U1 (150GB, SATA300, 3.5", 10000rpm, 16MB Cache)
Optical Drive (G:) : N/A @ HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH22LS50 (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)
LIVESUITE90132 (I:) : 947MB (CDFS) @ DTSOFT BDROM (993.4MB, )

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : MSI LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : Fintek F71882FG/F71883FG
Audio Device : MSI HD Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi High Definition Audio
Audio Device : ASUS GF110 High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : nVidia Riva 128 Graphics Accelerator [NV3]
Audio Codec : nVidia Riva 128 Graphics Accelerator [NV3]
Audio Codec : nVidia Riva 128 Graphics Accelerator [NV3]
Serial Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : MSI 4 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : MSI 2 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : MSI JMB36X PCIE-to-SATAII/IDE RAID Controller
USB Controller 1 : MSI USB UHCI Controller #4
USB Controller 2 : MSI USB UHCI Controller #5
USB Controller 3 : MSI USB UHCI Controller #6
USB Controller 4 : MSI USB EHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 5 : MSI USB UHCI Controller #1
USB Controller 6 : MSI USB UHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 7 : MSI USB UHCI Controller #3
USB Controller 8 : MSI USB EHCI Controller #1
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : MSI IEEE 1394 Host Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 2 : VIA VT6306 VIA Fire II IEEE-1394 OHCI Link Layer Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller (Ethernet, 100Mbps)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 7.0
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-27-2013, 01:32 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,514
Default Re: DAE Buffer -9514

What interface are you using? If its a firewire interface, its quite possible that the VIA FW controller is the problem. The solution may be to add a firewire card with the approved TI chipset. The good news is that most X58 based rigs have been solid performers with Pro Tools(running a pair of X58 rigs here with great success)

Other things to consider:
how big is your power supply(especially the 12V rail(s)
Have you done ALL the required system tweaks?
If its a USB interface, have you turned OFF the power management feature for all USB ports(called USB Root Hub in Device Manager)?
Was this an "off-the-shelf PC or was it built for recording?(if its an off-the-shelf PC, it may have a bunch of "bloatware" that should be uninstalled). If you run an anti-virus program, try turning it off(go to Services and set it to Manual instead of Automatic).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Solution to the error -9514 on Windows 8 (memory / cache / DAE buffer) PySikE Windows 16 01-09-2015 05:06 PM
DAE buffer -9514 error jonwade92 Windows 14 08-01-2013 12:16 PM
Error -9514 with ProTools 10.3.4 on win 8 hattom Windows 2 03-20-2013 06:55 AM
DAE Buffer 9514 L-Train Studios Windows 13 02-24-2013 11:28 AM
Can't launch PT 10.3.2 dae buffer issue -9514 Blackers Pro Tools 10 3 11-28-2012 08:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com