Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2012, 07:51 PM
mmorgan31 mmorgan31 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: ct
Posts: 1
Default I need some help getting Pro Tools working again

I have been trying to get Pro Tools working on another laptop, I have Pro Tools LE with a Mbox 2. My computer specs are below and I am getting the "held off interrupts too long increase buffer size" error usually followed by an error “Audio processing is conflicting with other CPU tasks" when I increase the sample rate to high. I have followed the optimizing instructions. I have a second profile with minimal services running just for Pro Tools and I still can't get the error to go away. I have also tried each buffer size option, chose the single or dual processor, I have gone into the task manager and set the priority and affinity for the Pro Tools process and have had no effect on the message. I have searched for answers and I seem to be at a road block. I just want to be able to record some simple tracks again.

Thanks for any help I can get.

Computer
Model : Dell Precision M65
Workgroup : MSHOME
Host Name : home-d953cd1df9
User : Administrator

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU T7200 @ 2.00GHz
Speed : 2GHz
Cores per Processor : 2 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Type : Mobile, Dual-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 2x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache : 4MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 16-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing

Computer
Platform Compliance : Intel Centrino Mobile Technology
Mainboard : Dell 0JF242
BIOS : Dell A10 10/16/2008
Bus(es) : ISA X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB PCMCIA CardBus USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 3.25GB DDR2 SO-DIMM

Chipset
Model : Dell 955XM/945GM/PM/GMS/940GML Express Processor to DRAM Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 333MHz (1.33GHz)
Total Memory : 4GB DDR2 SO-DIMM
Channels : 2
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 666MHz (1.33GHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Wintec 2GB DDR2 SO-DIMM PC2-5300U DDR2-666 (5-5-5-15 3-20-5-3)
Memory Module : Wintec 2GB DDR2 SO-DIMM PC2-5300U DDR2-666 (5-5-5-15 3-20-5-3)

Video System
Video Adapter : NVIDIA Quadro FX 350M (4 PS3.0, 3 VS3.0 1MHz, 256MB DDR3 2x405MHz, PCIe 1.00 x16)

Graphics Processor

Storage Devices
Hitachi HTS541660J9SA00 (60GB, SATA150, 2.5", 5400rpm, NCQ, 7MB Cache) : 56GB (C:)
SONY CDRWDVD CRX880A (ATAPI, DVD+-R, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : 479MB (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 56GB (NTFS) @ Hitachi HTS541660J9SA00 (60GB, SATA150, 2.5", 5400rpm, NCQ, 7MB Cache)
Pro Tools LE (D:) : 479MB (CDFS) @ SONY CDRWDVD CRX880A (ATAPI, DVD+-R, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Dell 82801GBM (ICH7-M) LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : SMSC FDC37N769
Audio Device : Dell 82801G (ICH7) High Definition Audio
Audio Codec : Sigmatel 9200 HD Audio Codec
Audio Codec : Conexant HDAudio Soft Data Fax Modem with SmartCP
Serial Port(s) : 2
Disk Controller : Dell 82801GBM/GHM (ICH7-M) Serial ATA Storage Controller
USB Controller 1 : Dell 82801G (ICH7) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : Dell 82801G (ICH7) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 3 : Dell 82801G (ICH7) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 4 : Dell 82801G (ICH7) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 5 : Dell 82801G (ICH7) USB 2.0 Enhanced Host Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Dell Integrated OHCI IEEE 1394 Host Controller
CardBus/PCMCIA Controller 1 : 65025 OZ711EZ1 MemoryCardBus Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Broadcom NetXtreme 57xx Gigabit Controller - Packet Scheduler Miniport
Network Adapter : Dell Wireless 1390 WLAN Mini-Card - Packet Scheduler Miniport (Ethernet, 54Mbps)
Wireless Adapter 1 : Dell Wireless 1390 WLAN Mini-Card - Packet Scheduler Miniport (802.11g (ERP), WEP n-bit, 54Mbps)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line
Battery No 1 : 100%

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 3)
Platform Compliance : x86
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2012, 08:28 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,534
Default Re: I need some help getting Pro Tools working again

Start by disabling all networking and wifi when running Pro Tools. Next, what drive are you recording to? If its the system drive(or a partition of it) then you won't get much in the way of performance. You can try recording to a USB2 drive, but its not supported with XP(it IS supported with Windows 7). If you have an eSATA port, that would be a great choice for a recording drive. Some laptops will allow you to remove the optical drive and add a second hard drive with the appropriate drive caddy(check with Dell on that one). You need to record to a 7200 rpm or faster drive and avoid any drive that uses the word "green" in its title or description (power saving features are something you DON'T want in a recording drive). Dell's in general(with a handful of exceptions) are a crap shoot when it comes to Pro Tools compatibility

If you only work on small sessions, you might get away with recording to the C: drive if you replace what you have with a 7200 rpm drive(no SSD for recording). Use a drive cloning program to make that swap simple(Acronis True Image is my choice).

If Dell loaded up a bunch of "bloatware" as they often do, you might help by going to Add/Remove programs and uninstalling some garbage
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi Control Not working in Pro tools 11.0.1 but works in pro tools 10.3.6??? bleudog Pro Tools 11 17 04-30-2014 03:13 PM
Pro Tools 8.0.3 Not Working ! sirneeva Windows 7 02-15-2014 10:40 AM
Pro tools 9 and 002 not working ( help) daniell Windows 1 05-24-2011 03:24 AM
WMV in Pro Tools 8 not working? audiocr381ve 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 02-19-2010 05:22 PM
Pro Tools not working after.... Lanois WannaB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-28-2006 06:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com