Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-23-2010, 12:18 PM
WildHoney WildHoney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 978
Default PT9HD upgrade -- which product to upgrade?

In the middle of upgrading to PT9 HD download and the Avid site is asking me which product I want to upgrade -- I guess I have multiple licenses registered with them. . . .so, do I upgrade PT7, PT7.4 or PT8? Does it matter?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-23-2010, 12:19 PM
WildHoney WildHoney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 978
Default PT9HD upgrade -- which product to upgrade?

Sorry for cross-posting this, but I'm right in the middle of the process and looking for a quick answer. . . .
In the middle of upgrading to PT9 HD download and the Avid site is asking me which product I want to upgrade -- I guess I have multiple licenses registered with them. . . .so, do I upgrade PT7, PT7.4 or PT8? Does it matter?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-23-2010, 12:21 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,557
Default Re: PT9HD upgrade -- which product to upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WildHoney View Post
Sorry for cross-posting this, but I'm right in the middle of the process and looking for a quick answer. . . .
In the middle of upgrading to PT9 HD download and the Avid site is asking me which product I want to upgrade -- I guess I have multiple licenses registered with them. . . .so, do I upgrade PT7, PT7.4 or PT8? Does it matter?
Hi,

It doesn't matter, i selected 7.4 then you get a message about PT8 being queued etc, but PT9HD bundle has pt8 and pt9 auths


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-23-2010, 12:33 PM
WildHoney WildHoney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 978
Default Re: PT9HD upgrade -- which product to upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
Hi,

It doesn't matter, i selected 7.4 then you get a message about PT8 being queued etc, but PT9HD bundle has pt8 and pt9 auths


Chris
so, if I select PT7, I should still have an xtra PT8 HD license in my account? (the 8 license that I currently own + the 8 license that comes with 9)?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-23-2010, 01:03 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,557
Default Re: PT9HD upgrade -- which product to upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WildHoney View Post
so, if I select PT7, I should still have an xtra PT8 HD license in my account? (the 8 license that I currently own + the 8 license that comes with 9)?
Hi,

I don't think so!! quite sure my PT8 auth was removed as the PT9 HD is a dual PT8/9 HD auth.

If you have another ilok registered to your account you could move your current PT8HD auth to that ilok and download the new PT9 auth to the ilok with just PT7 on it. or even remove from the computer the ilok that you moved the PT8 to.


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-23-2010, 03:15 PM
jeremiahmoore jeremiahmoore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 478
Default Re: PT9HD upgrade -- which product to upgrade?

I did the upgrade last week. Here's what happened:

You can choose any of those licenses to surrender; I chose PT HD 7.

iLok assets Prior to upgrading:
2x Pro Tools HD 7
2x Pro Tools HD 7.3
2x Pro Tools HD 7.4
2x Pro Tools HD 8

After the upgrade:
1x Pro Tools HD 7
2x Pro Tools HD 7.3
2x Pro Tools HD 7.4
2x Pro Tools HD 8 (one of these is assigned to PT HD 9 bundle)
1x Pro Tools HD 9 (part of PT HD 9 bundle)
1x Pro Tools 9 (part of PT HD 9 bundle)

It appears there is no longer a backup license to the primary PTHD asset. Might be a reason to fork over for the iLok protection plan.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-23-2010, 06:11 PM
WildHoney WildHoney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 978
Default Re: PT9HD upgrade -- which product to upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremiahmoore View Post
I did the upgrade last week. Here's what happened:

You can choose any of those licenses to surrender; I chose PT HD 7.

iLok assets Prior to upgrading:
2x Pro Tools HD 7
2x Pro Tools HD 7.3
2x Pro Tools HD 7.4
2x Pro Tools HD 8

After the upgrade:
1x Pro Tools HD 7
2x Pro Tools HD 7.3
2x Pro Tools HD 7.4
2x Pro Tools HD 8 (one of these is assigned to PT HD 9 bundle)
1x Pro Tools HD 9 (part of PT HD 9 bundle)
1x Pro Tools 9 (part of PT HD 9 bundle)

It appears there is no longer a backup license to the primary PTHD asset. Might be a reason to fork over for the iLok protection plan.
Thanks. This is similar to what I found. I still have a PT8 license as well as the PT 9 "bundle" which includes PT8 and 9.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: PT9HD Upgrade to PT10HD Licence lifer Buy & Sell 3 07-08-2012 11:10 AM
PT9HD upgrade - license required for surrender was on broken iLok A Chapman Pro Tools 9 4 06-28-2011 10:54 AM
PT9 and PT9HD a couple upgrade questions smc917 Pro Tools 9 5 12-02-2010 02:11 PM
Upgrade question - can I use mbox2 micro upgrade on 002 system? spreston 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-22-2009 11:22 AM
Upgrade link 'Sorry, no product found.' How can I upgrade?? dim 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-15-2008 12:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com