Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-31-2008, 05:13 AM
SixChurchStreet SixChurchStreet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New City, NY
Posts: 1,296
Default Good PSU for Pro Tools PC

I currently have a Thermaltake 430W PSU in my Pro Tools PC...
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153023

I was a good budget buy at the time, and has an excellent rating, but it's starting to get real noisy (but more of a high hum then a noisy fan kind of thing. it's very clean, it's possibly bogged down by the 3 hard drives, DVD drive, and Quad cpu....

In this computer is..
Asus P5K
Intel Q6600 PSU
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 cooler
1 Promise ATA PCI card controller
2 WD IDE hard drives hooked up to the promise card (80GB and 250GB).
1 WD SATA hard drive hooked up to system board (160GB).
1 DVD-R drive hooked up to system IDE.
Fanless video card (MSI NVidia 7300LE), nothing fancy, no extra power required on it.

I know the +12v rail on that Thermaltake is pretty low at 18A, so I'm thinking it's just not dealing well with the drives. The more I'm doing on the computer, I can hear the PSU humming a little louder.

What PSUs do you guys have in your machines, and how are they holding up? I have heard the Corsairs are some of the best out there. Just looking for some opinions. I guess I'm willing to drop up to a $100 on it. Always hurts to have to drop money on something like this instead of putting it toward a new mic, preamp, or whatever else. ;(
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 2.4GHz 8-Core 16GB RAM El Capitan | 2011 MacBook Pro 2.0GHz 4-Core i7 8GB RAM El Capitan | Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 Mk2 | Pro Tools 2018 | Studio One 3.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-31-2008, 10:30 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,361
Default Re: Good PSU for Pro Tools PC

Enermax Infinity 720 watt PSU here in both my machines.

Happy New Year!
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2008, 11:25 AM
D3lta D3lta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 80
Default Re: Good PSU for Pro Tools PC

I tend to use Antec PSU's, Thermaltake and Coolermaster units. For my audio box's I use 500w or more.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-31-2008, 12:19 PM
VanDerGraf VanDerGraf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Anytown, USA
Posts: 411
Thumbs up Re: Good PSU for Pro Tools PC

The Corsair TX750 w.
__________________
vandergraf.net

"All the truth in the world adds up to one big lie" :: Bob Dylan
¯
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-31-2008, 04:33 PM
SixChurchStreet SixChurchStreet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New City, NY
Posts: 1,296
Default Re: Good PSU for Pro Tools PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by VanDerGraf View Post
The Corsair TX750 w.
I went with the Corsair TX650W.

That should do the trick. Can't wait to get this struggling/suffering Thermaltake out of this machine.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 2.4GHz 8-Core 16GB RAM El Capitan | 2011 MacBook Pro 2.0GHz 4-Core i7 8GB RAM El Capitan | Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 Mk2 | Pro Tools 2018 | Studio One 3.5
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-31-2008, 04:39 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Good PSU for Pro Tools PC

I have the Corsair 520HX, extremely quiet! You probably made the right choice audible hum in a power supply circut is usually not a good thing long term.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-01-2009, 10:36 AM
wolfskin wolfskin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 447
Default Re: Good PSU for Pro Tools PC

+ 1 for Antec, but good to hear the Corsair PSUs work well!
__________________
Windows XP Pro SP3 & Vista Ultimate SP1 / 002R v8.0 w/ MPT2
AMD X2 4800+ Dual Core / 1000 FSB / 4 GB RAM
www.wolfskinrecords.com
www.voodoopilot.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm so good at Pro Tools ianbee Pro Tools 10 64 10-13-2013 01:24 PM
new pro tools is not as good mightyduck Pro Tools 10 148 04-06-2012 04:27 PM
003 only good for Pro Tools? ergalthema 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-28-2010 07:22 PM
Good PC for Pro Tools? Under £600 pezking 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-03-2009 04:28 AM
New Mac..Is it good with Pro tools?? gstone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-05-2009 09:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com