Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2006, 11:04 AM
David Penick David Penick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 268
Default Latency problems with Mini-Me

I just bought a Mini-Me and used it to record vocals for the first time. I was having severe latency problems even at 128 samples, so I had to resort to "low latency monitoring," which I would prefer not to do. Has anyone else experienced these latency issues with a Mini-Me? I'm recording at 48K, 24 bits and am using the Mini-Me as the clock. And I'm using a Focusrite Voicemaster Pro as my main preamp, running my mic into the Focusrite first, then into the Mini-Me. I'm also using "SLC" on the Mini-Me. No other hardware is hooked up to the MIni-Me. The Mini-Me is hooked up via S/PDIF to my 002.
Thanks
__________________
3.2 GHz Intel Core i7
Mac mini (2018)
Mac OS Mojave 10.14.6
Pro Tools 2019.10
Avid HD Native Thunderbolt
Avid HD Omni
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-01-2006, 11:57 AM
yoursickstudio yoursickstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: myplace
Posts: 252
Default Re: Latency problems with Mini-Me

don't you have an external mix desk ? small one.
if you have a mini-me or not you will always get latency

use a small mixing desk for 2 channels protools return and 2 from the mini-me mini aux ouput
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-01-2006, 12:03 PM
David Penick David Penick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 268
Default Re: Latency problems with Mini-Me

I don't have a small mix desk. Can you recommend one?
__________________
3.2 GHz Intel Core i7
Mac mini (2018)
Mac OS Mojave 10.14.6
Pro Tools 2019.10
Avid HD Native Thunderbolt
Avid HD Omni
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-01-2006, 12:28 PM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Latency problems with Mini-Me

Working at 128 samples shouldn't produce much latency. It should be a few milliseconds (like 6 ms.) Anyway, if Low Latency mode works (I never tried it with an S/PDIF input), what's your objection to that?

Just for latency experiment, have you tried the 002 mic preamp, at 128 samples buffer, with and without Low Latency? Was the latency significantly different from using the S/PDIF input?
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-01-2006, 01:13 PM
globaleric globaleric is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 372
Default Re: Latency problems with Mini-Me

Are you saying that you're getting MORE latency with the external A/D using the SPDIF input than with the 002's internal preamps / ADC?
If so I'd be interested in a statement from Apogee's tech support...

BTW even 64 samples latency is an issue when recording vocals - it's resulting in a weird "chorus" effect in the performer's headphones not everyone can cope with.
__________________
Mac Mini 2018, i7 3.2 GHz, 32G RAM, 1TB SSD
Mojave 10.14.6, PT 2019.12, Waves and Massey plugins
Presonus Quantum, MC Transport, Avid Control, Tascam HS-P82 Field Recorder
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-01-2006, 02:26 PM
David Penick David Penick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 268
Default Re: Latency problems with Mini-Me

When I was using the 002's preamp, I could record at up to 512 samples with no problem. I have more latency with the Mini-Me going through S/PDIF. Low latency monitoring works fine, except it disables plug-ins that are on the record-enabled track, and since I don't usually use plug-ins when I'm recording vocal tracks, it's not that big a deal.
__________________
3.2 GHz Intel Core i7
Mac mini (2018)
Mac OS Mojave 10.14.6
Pro Tools 2019.10
Avid HD Native Thunderbolt
Avid HD Omni
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-01-2006, 02:29 PM
David Penick David Penick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 268
Default Re: Latency problems with Mini-Me

Yes, I'm getting more latency with the Mini-Me AD than with the 002's internal preamp AD.
__________________
3.2 GHz Intel Core i7
Mac mini (2018)
Mac OS Mojave 10.14.6
Pro Tools 2019.10
Avid HD Native Thunderbolt
Avid HD Omni
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-01-2006, 03:14 PM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Latency problems with Mini-Me

Quote:

BTW even 64 samples latency is an issue when recording vocals - it's resulting in a weird "chorus" effect in the performer's headphones not everyone can cope with.
I'd say the vast majority of users here on the DUC would disagree with you on that, most make do just fine without using an external, no-latency mixer setup.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-01-2006, 03:37 PM
globaleric globaleric is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 372
Default Re: Latency problems with Mini-Me

Of course I was meaning a Digi002-only setup without any external mixer!
And I bet the vast majority will hear the latency with such a setup.
__________________
Mac Mini 2018, i7 3.2 GHz, 32G RAM, 1TB SSD
Mojave 10.14.6, PT 2019.12, Waves and Massey plugins
Presonus Quantum, MC Transport, Avid Control, Tascam HS-P82 Field Recorder
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-01-2006, 03:46 PM
yoursickstudio yoursickstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: myplace
Posts: 252
Default Re: Latency problems with Mini-Me

your fix with no external mix desk would be:

mini-me -> s/pdif -> digi002
mini-me aux output -> analog -> digi002

that way you can use the low latency monitoring the digi002 offers
same thing can be done with the MBOX2.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mbox mini latency Ericsov 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 07-18-2012 09:03 PM
MBox 2 Mini Mix Latency my808 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 11-06-2007 03:11 AM
MBox2 Mini and Zero Latency? jandue 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-10-2007 05:54 PM
mbox + mini me latency issues jvancorduroy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 09-22-2003 07:08 AM
Help !! Mbox +Mini Me latency issue jvancorduroy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-18-2003 10:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com