Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-03-2020, 04:45 PM
mike841 mike841 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Default Akai MPCX Software w/ HD Interfaces

Hey Gang,

In theory, is it possible to get Akai MPCX software to load the HD Driver?
The Akai software has worked well with 5 other interfaces. But when I try my Omni I get "Error Opening Device Driver". Is it a "no go" for software such as this (because the Omni works fine with Nuendo) or am I doing something wrong? I've tried both TB and PCIe. Also, I use an Asus Prime II running Windows 10 if that matters.

Thanks for any suggestions,
-mike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-04-2020, 08:53 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,539
Default Re: Akai MPCX Software w/ HD Interfaces

How is the OMNI connected? Is Windows using the OMNI(or card) as its "Default Playback Device"(if yes, then change that to the on-board sound card and try again).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-2020, 11:12 AM
mike841 mike841 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Default Re: Akai MPCX Software w/ HD Interfaces

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
How is the OMNI connected? Is Windows using the OMNI(or card) as its "Default Playback Device"(if yes, then change that to the on-board sound card and try again).
Hey Albee, let me make sure we're on the same page... as you know Windows cannot be set to Avid drivers, so this is not an issue. Or am I misunderstanding?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-04-2020, 12:22 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,539
Default Re: Akai MPCX Software w/ HD Interfaces

I'm referring to the situation where Windows takes control of the interface, so no other program(including Pro Tools) can access the hardware. I wasn't sure if you were aware of that, or if it matters on HDN or HDX. Sadly, I know zip about MPCX Software. My experience with Akai has not been very good here. I bought an Akai Advance 61 with their VIP software that is supposed to all opening other VI's inside the VIP plugin for total control from the keyboard, but it doesn't work very well(can't load several of my VI's) and causes serious midi glitches on some others. I've had to resort to connecting a midi cable and not running the Akai software at all. Have you checked if Akai has a forum for users with problems?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-04-2020, 10:09 PM
mike841 mike841 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Default Re: Akai MPCX Software w/ HD Interfaces

Man Albee, thanks for the info. You answered two more questions I had. Your gonna laugh but I have a 61 I haven't even opened yet. I got so frustrated with the NI Maschine sequencer but loved the Komplete Kontrol platform, that on a whim I got the MPCX. The sales guy assured that VIP would load all my Maschine Expasions so well, I wouldn't even miss it. So have you tried VIP lately? The updates are supposed to be much better. And yes, I have posts on the Akai forum and Gear Slutz.. 0 replies on both, and only you on this one. So I guess my problem is very unique. Anyway I'll keep experimenting and again, thanx for the info.

mike
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-05-2020, 08:36 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,539
Default Re: Akai MPCX Software w/ HD Interfaces

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike841 View Post
Man Albee, thanks for the info. You answered two more questions I had. Your gonna laugh but I have a 61 I haven't even opened yet. I got so frustrated with the NI Maschine sequencer but loved the Komplete Kontrol platform, that on a whim I got the MPCX. The sales guy assured that VIP would load all my Maschine Expasions so well, I wouldn't even miss it. So have you tried VIP lately? The updates are supposed to be much better. And yes, I have posts on the Akai forum and Gear Slutz.. 0 replies on both, and only you on this one. So I guess my problem is very unique. Anyway I'll keep experimenting and again, thanx for the info.

mike
You may be fine with the Maschine stuff(you'll just have to try it) My whole experience with it is fresh as I only got the keyboard last month(I bought the last one from a closeout from Alto Music buying all the stock from Akai). I'm guessing that Akai may have a new line coming out(but I got a smoking deal). The specific issues I had were VI's that VIP would not find(MiniGrand and DB-33 get a lot of use here). And using the keyboard over USB to trigger MiniGrand by itself, if I played any harder than medium(like velocity of 80-90), the piano notes would choke. When using the keyboard over a midi cable to the interface, it plays MiniGrand perfectly. I hope you can make it all work!!!
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-05-2020, 10:05 AM
mike841 mike841 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Default Re: Akai MPCX Software w/ HD Interfaces

Again something I didn't think about, It's been so long since I used a 5 pin, I forget that they may be better then USB in some cases. Will keep that in mind.

Thanks-a-bunch bro.

mike
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-06-2020, 07:50 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,539
Default Re: Akai MPCX Software w/ HD Interfaces

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike841 View Post
Again something I didn't think about, It's been so long since I used a 5 pin, I forget that they may be better then USB in some cases. Will keep that in mind.

Thanks-a-bunch bro.

mike
In this case, you can actually use both connections. Since the keyboard is bus-powered(I didn't buy the optional power supply), I still have the USB cable connected, I just use the midi input path in Midi Studio setup. I can easily ALSO have the USB connection available for times when I might want to use the VIP plugin(assuming my keyboard chops ever become good enough to suck)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Akai Advance - VIP Software in Pro Tools 12 Seafoam_Green Pro Tools 12 22 08-12-2016 10:12 AM
Software Sampler that can read Akai discs Tim R. Virtual Instruments 3 03-18-2010 01:27 PM
using other software with HD interfaces? SGP Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 12-27-2007 08:08 AM
Akai software samplers poppy General Discussion 0 09-06-2003 04:08 PM
AKAI CDrom archive software Yano General Discussion 0 11-20-2000 08:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com