Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-07-2020, 03:37 PM
toolz toolz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 193
Default Re: Folder Tracks?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Don't know if "promise" is a correct word, but they said it was planned for 2019.3 which never happened. Native voice packs were released in 2019.5 so yes you could say HDX needs some love soon. Though I believe there are more people waiting for full Catalina support in next 2020.x release. Great if it has HDX firmware update but it has been so long already I am not holding my breath.
Still waiting for the extra voices too.

What if folder tracks didn't happen in the next release, would that not be a promise broken?

If it got announced.. it's a promise to all the people paying the yearly subs.
__________________
[B][SIZE="1"]System:
PT 12.8.1 HD-Native PCIe, 48 I/O 16x16, 2012 Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz 64gig RAM, UAD Quad FW, Apple 30” Cinema
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-07-2020, 04:29 PM
innesireinar innesireinar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 720
Default Re: Folder Tracks?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Don't know if "promise" is a correct word, but they said it was planned for 2019.3 which never happened. Native voice packs were released in 2019.5 so yes you could say HDX needs some love soon. Though I believe there are more people waiting for full Catalina support in next 2020.x release. Great if it has HDX firmware update but it has been so long already I am not holding my breath.
I don't need more voices than what hdx can handle today. Just for saying that avid announces new features, then months pass, the plan need to be renewed, we have to pay and nothing happens apart from some bug fixes (that a serious company should do without asking money). I know dozen of users who have switched to other daws and other will, including myself (at least pt will not be my main daw anymore) due to this crazy policy. Actually I hoped that things would change better with the end of Hernandez era. But it seems that the Rosica management is getting worse. Sorry for the OT.
__________________
Avid HDX - Avid HD I/O 16x16 Analog - Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 - Cubase Pro 10
Mac Pro 5.1 quadcore 2.8 16GB Ram - Mac OS 10.13.6
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-07-2020, 04:31 PM
innesireinar innesireinar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 720
Default Re: Folder Tracks?

Quote:
Originally Posted by toolz View Post
Still waiting for the extra voices too.

What if folder tracks didn't happen in the next release, would that not be a promise broken?

If it got announced.. it's a promise to all the people paying the yearly subs.
Well said
__________________
Avid HDX - Avid HD I/O 16x16 Analog - Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 - Cubase Pro 10
Mac Pro 5.1 quadcore 2.8 16GB Ram - Mac OS 10.13.6
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-07-2020, 07:03 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,133
Default Re: Folder Tracks?

I'm sure folder tracks will be very well received. Even if only used for organization, it will be a huge game changer.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-08-2020, 05:09 AM
del cosmos del cosmos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 259
Default Re: Folder Tracks?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
I'm sure folder tracks will be very well received. Even if only used for organization, it will be a huge game changer.


Yes, some day...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-08-2020, 06:00 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,053
Default Re: Folder Tracks?

While I seldom have more than 15 or 20 tracks (Which means I am not necessarily chomping at the bit) BUT even then the organizational benefits, would seem to worth while, if not fairly obvious.
For me showing and hiding happening by clicking directly on the tracks in the mixer or especially in the edit window, as opposed to messing with the tracks view window or using key commands, just makes sense and seems like a good work flow improvement. Now it's just a matter of when ?
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB, Radeon Pulse RX 580 8GB GDDR5 Dual HDMI Graphics Card..... OS- Mojave 10.14.6, and PTHDN 2020.3 on on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2nd Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB -- both in dual drive Crest I/O PCIE controller adaptor card


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-08-2020, 08:40 AM
Ed Douglas's Avatar
Ed Douglas Ed Douglas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Toronto Ont, Canada
Posts: 259
Default Re: Folder Tracks?

Quote:
Originally Posted by del cosmos View Post
Yes, some day...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
When the release doesn't have show stopping bugs. I'd rather wait than have a project messed up due to a major bug that slipped through incomplete testing.

my 2¢
__________________
Neotech Concepts
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0235036/
! sonic gymnastics for the illusionary arts !

2019 i9 MacBook Pro (15,3), macOSX 10.14.6, PT Ultimate 20.4.0.113, Atmos Production Suite 3.4, MDA Creator1.5, Rx7 Advanced, Ozone 8 Advanced, Kontakt 6.2.2, Soundminer v4.5Pro, Spanner 3.0.5, SoundHack 0.896
EuControl 20.4.0.113, Avid Control 20.4.0.14, Avid S1, iPad Pro 12.9" gen 1, iPad Pro 12.9" gen 3, Apollo 8 Duo tb2, UAD-2 Satellite Quad tb2, Glyph 2TB tb3 NVMe SSD, x2 Glyph 2TB SSDs, x1 Glyph 4TB SSD, OWC tb3 Dock, OWC Thunderbay 4 28TB

Last edited by Ed Douglas; 03-08-2020 at 10:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-08-2020, 11:33 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,133
Default Re: Folder Tracks?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Douglas View Post
When the release doesn't have show stopping bugs. I'd rather wait than have a project messed up due to a major bug that slipped through incomplete testing.

my 2¢
MY feelings exactly.

Typically we have seen a new release within the quarter in which the announcement for it occurred.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-08-2020, 12:45 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,523
Default Re: Folder Tracks?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Agree with Passion

Missed this soo much after working in Live10suite and other DAW’s.

Now we are waiting for ARA2 and then we can start using PT Ultimate much more.
That's definitely the next most important feature. Once that is done, all PT really needs to do is small improvements here and there throughout releases. PT will not suddenly lose all the workflow features it already has that many other DAWs don't, so once it has folders and ARA2 I think it's ahead for me personally. I guess to wrap it up to be right at the top they need to make elastic audio better quality and maybe some extended midi features and plugins but it's so close now to being perfect (IMO). I think we may be in luck as I believe on last survey that was at the top of requested features (ARA).
And implementing ARA is no where near as complex as folder tracks, as well as being much quicker to do than inventing their own graphical pitch editor (like variaudio or flexpitch). So I really hope they surprise us and add this soon, will be amazing!

:)
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, UA Apollo x3 + Octopre x3, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2020.3
-Aorus X5 V8, 6 core Intel 8850H, 32GB ram, GTX 1070, Win 10 Pro, PT 2020.3/Nuendo 10, Apollo Twin TBolt
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™)
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-08-2020, 12:49 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,523
Default Re: Folder Tracks?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Don't know if "promise" is a correct word, but they said it was planned for 2019.3 which never happened. Native voice packs were released in 2019.5 so yes you could say HDX needs some love soon. Though I believe there are more people waiting for full Catalina support in next 2020.x release. Great if it has HDX firmware update but it has been so long already I am not holding my breath.
I wonder if Mojave will become the minimum OS once full Catalina support is in.

If Avid decide to go metal, it won't work prior to Mojave.

PT does slow down a lot visually with heavy projects even on a new mac pro/imac pro/imac/16" macbook pro with the top line GFX cards, so metal acceleration could drastically help that. I think that's the next step in its evolution.
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, UA Apollo x3 + Octopre x3, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2020.3
-Aorus X5 V8, 6 core Intel 8850H, 32GB ram, GTX 1070, Win 10 Pro, PT 2020.3/Nuendo 10, Apollo Twin TBolt
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folder Tracks on MC Control KeyplayerG Artist Series 0 10-05-2014 02:55 PM
Why can't I set my plugins root settings folder outside PT's default folder? RiF Pro Tools 9 4 09-26-2011 12:11 PM
Help! Getting Tracks From a Songs Audio Files Folder??? batchmister1 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 04-04-2010 04:04 PM
Plug-Ins Alias folder points to wrong folder??? nod25 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-26-2009 03:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com