Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-07-2020, 07:19 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,717
Default Re: Control Surface v. Mouse and Keyboard

It depends on what you are mixing. If you have a deadline and are mixing TV or Film with 100's of tracks being able to balance more than one thing at a time greatly speeds things up.

Sent from my HMA-L29 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-07-2020, 07:28 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 442
Default Re: Control Surface v. Mouse and Keyboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
It depends on what you are mixing. If you have a deadline and are mixing TV or Film with 100's of tracks being able to balance more than one thing at a time greatly speeds things up.

Sent from my HMA-L29 using Tapatalk


Amen to that.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-07-2020, 07:36 AM
Ellis Beckwith Ellis Beckwith is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Shawnee Hills, OH
Posts: 68
Default Re: Control Surface v. Mouse and Keyboard

Update:

I've downloaded the Control App to an iPad and been learning what it does. I'm leaning now toward a combination of it and an Artist Mix to have rotary control of plugin parameters and of course, the faders.

Do you know if the Artist mix encoders will work the plugin controls on the Control App?
__________________
Ellis Beckwith
iMac (mid 2011), Intel Core i5 2.5 GHz, 32GB; Samsung 500Gb SSD, PT 2019.5.0, Avid Control; M-Audio Oxygen 25, Faderport 1
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-07-2020, 07:44 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: Control Surface v. Mouse and Keyboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ellis Beckwith View Post
Do you know if the Artist mix encoders will work the plugin controls on the Control App?
Yep. In Insert mode the Artist Mix will spill a plug-in on the encoders. You can even flip to faders. Occasionally I have two plug-ins on encoders at the same time, one on S3, and the other on Dock. You could probably pull off the same trick with Artist Mix and the Control app.

Everyone works differently, but if I had a choice between Artist Mix and Dock, I would go with Dock. Big wheel, dedicated Punch Preview, more soft keys, sturdier design, easier to reach knobs... all of that more valuable than 7 faders.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-07-2020, 07:50 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: Control Surface v. Mouse and Keyboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanC View Post
IMO the biggest issue with control surfaces in a modern workflow is more in the implementation/support department, then in value of one in a raw sense.

Consider an S3. If it had full surface plugin mapping, you could map an EQ so you have gain on the fader, freq on the first knob row, and q on the top. You could have 5-6 bands and still have a lot of surface left.

If then you could also store a channel strip preset plus mapping, to where you could also map your favorite gate, comp, and even put some sends with send pans etc all on one "channel mode" flip of the surface. Then throw in macros, layouts, vca spill, and a small enough surface that you can stay in the sweet spot (things it has now) and IMO you would have something really useful.

But can you do all that? No.
Custom mapping on the S3 would be great. But even without it, your muscle memory of where the parameters fall is learned quickly and Eucon is snappy, so it's all working fine. Most of what you describe is here now with S3/Dock.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-07-2020, 08:28 AM
RyanC RyanC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 656
Default Re: Control Surface v. Mouse and Keyboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
Custom mapping on the S3 would be great. But even without it, your muscle memory of where the parameters fall is learned quickly and Eucon is snappy, so it's all working fine. Most of what you describe is here now with S3/Dock.
For me with say synths, there is no real muscle memory when cutoff is on fader/knob 3 for one synth. And Page 14 fader/knob 7 for the next.

Horses for courses I guess, and I can see how that's true for you and likely moreso also for post, but on my end that type of feature isn't really 'luxury'.

For me, where there is at least great plugin mapping, track sync, great hardware metering, and still control of fader level and 3 auxes, the Softube Console 1 is more useful overall (in a daw that supports it) than my Dock+mix.

I can certainly see that not being a good option for post though...
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-07-2020, 08:39 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: Control Surface v. Mouse and Keyboard

Page 14! Okay, yep. That's a lot of parameters. In post I rarely have to go past page 3.

You do need Custom Mapping.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-08-2020, 06:14 AM
RyanC RyanC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 656
Default Re: Control Surface v. Mouse and Keyboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ellis Beckwith View Post
Update:

I've downloaded the Control App to an iPad and been learning what it does. I'm leaning now toward a combination of it and an Artist Mix to have rotary control of plugin parameters and of course, the faders.

Do you know if the Artist mix encoders will work the plugin controls on the Control App?
I would do dock plus control over mix as well.

You can put 8 plugins parameters on the mix, but they wont sync to the control app page you've selected. Only the dock will do that, which makes sense because they work together.

To access plugins on the mix you will have to hit the insert button on there, then select the plugin, then page through the parameters (8 at a time). And you can choose to have them on the faders or the knobs via flip. This works independently of what the control app is doing.

The dock/control is nice because it works with the control app and shows 4 pages of parameters on the control and you can select which you want to edit with the knobs.

Do you use automation preview mode (PT|U only)? Are you doing music or post? You might also check out an old command|8 along with the control app.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S3L, keyboard & mouse not working when connected to surface. voidmix VENUE Live Sound Systems 4 12-26-2016 01:57 AM
Control surface vs mouse??? stormmusic Artist Series 19 01-17-2011 08:36 PM
Mix plus with control surface or HD2 with a mouse? WannabeSQ Post - Surround - Video 20 08-24-2005 01:51 PM
digi 002 - control surface? or the mouse? romerom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 09-13-2004 09:49 AM
Who prefers a mouse to a control surface? Wnna 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 27 11-12-2002 12:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com