Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-21-2016, 05:56 AM
Hotnor Hotnor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Norway
Posts: 4
Default Currently on PT12.4 but how to get 12.5.x?

I bought me into the PT 12 plan earlier this year and downloaded 12.3 and upgraded to 12.4 subsequently. Now Im trying to search for the 12,5.x upgrade but nothing is currently present for DL at my avid account? I remember Reading at note that dl would be available shortly....I mean how long should it take?? Any advice would be helpful . Thnx guys!
__________________
Hotnor
Bergen, Norway

PT 2018.1 + Orion 32HD + Soundcraft Spirit Studio 16
Antelope Discret 8 Mic bundle
Windows 10 and HP Z240
Yamaha HS-07
Acer 27" Touch + Dtouch SW
Artist Mix+Transport and PT Control on Ipad
Slate Everything Bundle is (still) Great!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-21-2016, 06:52 AM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 771
Default Re: Currently on PT12.4 but how to get 12.5.x?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotnor View Post
I bought me into the PT 12 plan earlier this year and downloaded 12.3 and upgraded to 12.4 subsequently. Now Im trying to search for the 12,5.x upgrade but nothing is currently present for DL at my avid account? I remember Reading at note that dl would be available shortly....I mean how long should it take?? Any advice would be helpful . Thnx guys!
I was just reading the release notes regarding 12.5. It looks like 12.5 doesn't have any improvements over 12.4 unless you're running an S6. However, since 12.5.2 is the current version, you SHOULD have 12.5, 12.5.1, and 12.5.2 in your account.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, OSX 10.10.5, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, Pro Tools 12.4 HD, PreSonus Studio One 3.5, Logic X, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-21-2016, 08:00 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,659
Default Re: Currently on PT12.4 but how to get 12.5.x?

Be careful! Just because there's a new release doesn't mean you have to, or even SHOULD, update. For every one person that is having success with 12.5, there are 7 or 8 people finding it ridiculously unstable. If your 12.4 works well, and you don't need cloud collaboration, I'd give serious thought to holding out for a more stable release. In my humble opinion.

Last edited by sw rec; 08-21-2016 at 08:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-21-2016, 09:03 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,365
Default Re: Currently on PT12.4 but how to get 12.5.x?

If it's not there in your account and your plan is active, then just contact support and they'll fix it asap
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-21-2016, 09:18 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,133
Default Re: Currently on PT12.4 but how to get 12.5.x?

If it ain't broke...
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-21-2016, 09:33 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,507
Default Re: Currently on PT12.4 but how to get 12.5.x?

For me(another Windows user) 12.5.2 has sucked wind and I am back on 12.4. Feel free to update anytime you like, but do yourself a favor and have a backup plan! Drive imaging and drive cloning are a must for any Pro Tools user(you have been warned)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT12.5 GUI Lag TrentWilliams Pro Tools 12 0 04-15-2016 02:03 PM
Is there an upgrade from PT12 to PT12 HD? Hot Banana Studio Licensing & Accounts 16 11-21-2015 12:13 PM
Need Help: PT12.2.0 and S6 quadraphonics Post - Surround - Video 5 10-19-2015 02:13 PM
PT12 and PT12 HD surround? theom Pro Tools 12 17 10-12-2015 09:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com