Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-12-2018, 11:56 AM
csharprat csharprat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Houston
Posts: 3
Default EZDrummer2 track cannot add notes

Hey everyone, I am very new to recording and editing with DAWs and this is my first post on this forum.

I have a session that I added an EZDrummer2 track and very happy with the results. But I need to add some snare hits. I opened the MIDI editor and added the notes but they don't play! In addition, none of the keys on the PT keyboard make any sound!

As a work around, I created a new Instrument track and used XPand! for the snare. I added the notes in the MIDI editor and it works fine. The MIDI keyboard also makes sound.

I'd rather use the EZDrummer snare instead of the XPand! snare but the EZDrummer track ignores my additions. I can't figure it out. Maybe since I'm a newbie but would appreciate some help! (I'm using PT 2018.7)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-12-2018, 06:40 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,876
Default Re: EZDrummer2 track cannot add notes

Can't imagine why its not working, but I approach it a bit differently. Instead of opening the midi editor, I just expand the Instrument track(and do a vertical zoom on midi notes if they show too small). Set the track to NOTES view and single-click on the existing notes(so you can hear which note is which drum sound). The use the smart tool and double-click to drop notes on the piano roll. It will also help to prep midi properties by setting the note value to sixteenth notes and set the default velocity to whatever blends with what's there(I usually go about 105). If you add a lane below, it will default to show velocity so its easy to adjust after dropping notes. It may also be worthwhile to watch some tutorials on Pro Tools and midi(plenty of freebies on youtube and lots of great help on Groove 3, but its not free)
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-12-2018, 08:11 PM
csharprat csharprat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Houston
Posts: 3
Default Re: EZDrummer2 track cannot add notes

Thanks Dave! I'll see if your suggestion fixes my problem. I'll let you know.
-Bob
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-12-2018, 09:10 PM
csharprat csharprat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Houston
Posts: 3
Default Re: EZDrummer2 track cannot add notes

I did what you suggested and was able to add some snare hits to the existing EZD2 track! Thanks!

Before doing that, I decided I should save what I had and restart PT. I did the File|Save and then Exit. The Exit said that some changes weren't accepted in the cloud. I exited anyway and restarted PT. For some reason the EZD2 track and the two Xpand! tracks were gone. It wasn't a big deal because I had already saved the EZD2 stuff in EZDrummer. It is weird that PT won't accept changes in the cloud. I need to read more about that!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi drums via ezdrummer2 Cabra Pro Tools 12 5 12-27-2017 08:24 PM
tempo control PT's and EZdrummer2 mikeyman Pro Tools | First Discussion 1 09-05-2017 08:36 PM
EZDrummer2 Upgrade or Strike? with PT12 michaelj001 Virtual Instruments 8 04-17-2015 01:52 PM
Project with EZdrummer2 out of sync - help. Dave Modisette Pro Tools 11 2 09-16-2014 05:39 PM
ezdrummer2 vs. Terry Wetzel! Terry Wetzel Pro Tools Software (Win) 7 07-17-2014 03:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com