Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-17-2020, 02:50 AM
SwitchToProToolsDude SwitchToProToolsDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: France
Posts: 7
Default Working with DaVinci Resolve : shot/clip markers

Hi everyone!

Soon I'll be working on some sound design for video.

Right now, if I want to easily see the beginning of every shot I have to manually add a marker to every shot using frame by frame. I'm wondering if there's a faster way to do that.

The editor is going to use Davinci Resolve and I wanted to know if there's a way he could send me a file containing markers corresponding to every shot/clip.
I've tried exporting EDL files, AAF files from Resolve but they don't contain markers.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-17-2020, 03:23 AM
Led Led is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 318
Default Re: Working with DaVinci Resolve : shot/clip markers

I don't know if there is a way with Resolve, but I find it easier to watch the video through and put a cut (cntrl+B) at each scene change, then if you click on a scene the whole scene is highlighted, so you can play from the start or just use the up and down shortcuts and use the whole scene range for trimming ambiences with Cntrl T, write automation to the whole scene etc plus it's a good way to watch the pics through a few times to get familiar with them.
__________________
Andy Evans
Sound Designer/Composer/Mixer
Melbourne, Australia
www.mud.net.au
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-18-2020, 07:29 PM
Vedat's Avatar
Vedat Vedat is offline
Quiet Art Ltd.
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 925
Default Re: Working with DaVinci Resolve : shot/clip markers

You can use an EDL from the editor and convert it to markers using EdiMarker which is free.
__________________
Vedat

WaveRider + Defaulter (now with LKFS)
QuietArt.co.nz

Catchin' SYNC app
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-19-2020, 12:46 AM
SwitchToProToolsDude SwitchToProToolsDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: France
Posts: 7
Default Re: Working with DaVinci Resolve : shot/clip markers

I'll try that! Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-19-2020, 05:51 AM
Nico Berthold Nico Berthold is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Berlin
Posts: 13
Default Re: Working with DaVinci Resolve : shot/clip markers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vedat View Post
You can use an EDL from the editor and convert it to markers using EdiMarker which is free.
You can also use Soundflow for that. There`s a great little app inside, which let`s you convert an EDL to Markes or Region Groups, which is even more useful writing automation over a scene
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-20-2020, 06:12 PM
AndrewAction's Avatar
AndrewAction AndrewAction is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Auckland
Posts: 459
Default Re: Working with DaVinci Resolve : shot/clip markers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Led View Post
I don't know if there is a way with Resolve, but I find it easier to watch the video through and put a cut (cntrl+B) at each scene change,
A donation download encoder "Shutter Encoder" has extensive options available at the encoding stage including auto scene "cut detection", edl recovery, numerous overlay functions.... I would approach the Resolve editor and suggest they use it for the delivery encoding after you have specified exactly what you need.
FWIW my understanding of this program is that it was designed by editors to make it easy for them to deliver exactly what is wanted.

Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-21-2020, 03:42 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 704
Default Re: Working with DaVinci Resolve : shot/clip markers

I tried the Shutter Encoder cut detection on a film I didn't have an EDL for and it currently doesn't work sadly.
The developer says he's going to improve it, so hopefully it will be a cool feature in the future.
The rest of the App is great though. I use it all the time.


The problem I've found with creating scene markers from EDL's is that you need to clean the EDL first before creating the markers. Otherwise you will run out of available markers (999) before the end of the film.


Its better to use dummy regions and tidy up afterwards.
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.14.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, MTRX Studio, 2xRME ADA-4, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, PT Dock, PT Control, PT 2020.5
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-21-2020, 08:20 PM
AndrewAction's Avatar
AndrewAction AndrewAction is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Auckland
Posts: 459
Default Re: Working with DaVinci Resolve : shot/clip markers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheesehead View Post
I tried the Shutter Encoder cut detection on a film I didn't have an EDL for and it currently doesn't work sadly.
The developer says he's going to improve it, so hopefully it will be a cool feature in the future.
Thanks for the sad info on cut detection.

FWIW
Resolve has a fairly good scene detect feature. Scene cut has to be used on a file before bringing the media into Resolve the first time. The resultant cuts may not be perfect with most video transitions in the file showing as 1, 2 or 3 cuts. However Resolve has excellent editing functions whilst in scene cut mode and it is easy and fast to add, remove and move cuts as required and KB commands to step between cuts. Taking the resultant scene cut file into a Resolve timeline should produce a clean edl.

I use the scene cut function in Resolve a lot to prepare old video masters for grading and restoration. Up until now I have not needed or tried to export an EDL from a scene cut timeline. Cut detection works with both Resolve and Resolve Studio.

Andrew
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DaVinci Resolve AAF problems reichman Post - Surround - Video 19 03-08-2019 12:41 AM
FRW Davinci Resolve new Filenames AAF joachim Post - Surround - Video 9 09-05-2017 02:08 AM
Black Magic DaVinci Resolve Drew Mazurek Post - Surround - Video 56 05-28-2017 06:50 PM
a Hello :-) and:- Is there a way to save a clip including its warp markers as a file? Zirus Getting Started 2 11-24-2013 08:02 AM
Moving all Bar/Ruler Markers in one shot ajedward Tips & Tricks 2 01-15-2012 04:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com