Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #201  
Old 04-21-2020, 07:19 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 936
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeHoward View Post
Yeah, mine may not be active, it's this one I think. I think you should be fine with the TB3 to DP adapter, it's definitely no worse than my MacPro5,1 was (which had an RX480 with DisplayPort outputs in it). I'm using this adapter.
Latency is hard to measure precisely without the tools to measure it. I realised that, as what I'm describing I notice when, say, Cmb-Tab'ing or scrolling (and it's subtle, it's not unusable by any stretch) it could also be on the input side. I enabled "game mode" on the monitor and used SwitchResX to reduce the bit depth. Maybe it's a bit better? Maybe not. I feel (much like audio latency) without objective measurements it's probably best not to think about it :)

Edit: things that appear to have helped with perceived UI latency:

* reducing bit depth from 10bpc to 8bpc with SwitchResX (I also made a custom display override for my LG display cloned from the UltraFine one)
* using DPAM (DisplayPort Alternate Mode) USB-C adapter rather than Thunderbolt to DisplayPort
* setting "Reduce transparency" in Accessibility settings
* removing desktop wallpapers, disabling animations, etc (the usual)

Last edited by LukeHoward; 04-23-2020 at 07:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #202  
Old 05-01-2020, 08:31 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 936
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Updated –
  • 128GB (4 DIMMs) – 1132/14936
  • 144GB (6 DIMMs) – 1131/14928
  • 160GB (8 DIMMs) – 1141/14684
  • 192GB (6 DIMMs) – 1129/15677
Reply With Quote
  #203  
Old 05-02-2020, 01:41 AM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 661
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeHoward View Post
Updated –
  • 128GB (4 DIMMs) – 1132/14936
  • 144GB (6 DIMMs) – 1131/14928
  • 160GB (8 DIMMs) – 1141/14684
  • 192GB (6 DIMMs) – 1129/15677

So what the config? All of these configurations have the same size rams chips?
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
7,1 MacPro, 3.2GHz 16-core, OSX 10.15
S6 M10 16-5, Dolby Atmos RMU
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
Certified for Dolby Atmos Home Entertainment
Reply With Quote
  #204  
Old 05-02-2020, 01:43 AM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 936
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Updated GeekBench scores with DIMM configurations, sorry I left this out before.
  • 128GB (4x32GB) – 1132/14936
  • 144GB (4x32GB+2x8GB) – 1131/14928
  • 160GB (4x32GB+4x8GB) – 1141/14684
  • 192GB (6x32GB) – 1129/15677
Reply With Quote
  #205  
Old 05-02-2020, 07:44 AM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 661
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Interesting. Thanks for posting that.

So Apples’s claim that the best performance comes from 6 chips or 12 chips of identical size seems to be corroborated by that test. Although not at all to the single core scores. Only multi core.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
7,1 MacPro, 3.2GHz 16-core, OSX 10.15
S6 M10 16-5, Dolby Atmos RMU
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
Certified for Dolby Atmos Home Entertainment
Reply With Quote
  #206  
Old 05-02-2020, 11:03 AM
Coll Coll is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 19
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

How is everyone handling video, specifically picture for post production? Feeding projector via HDMI from graphics card? My current system is using an AJA Kona LHi, but me thinks that won't work in the new Mac Pro. Would love to hear from anyone who is up and running with picture.

Thanks!

C.
__________________
Coll Anderson M.P.S.E.
Reply With Quote
  #207  
Old 05-02-2020, 11:09 AM
Nico Berthold Nico Berthold is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Berlin
Posts: 13
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Long time AJA Kona User here,
but for the Mac 7.1 is switched to a Blackmagic UltraStudio HD Mini,
as the Kona was giving me headaches.
I didn't`t have any problems at all so far with the UltraStudio!!

Also the UltraStudio with its TB3 Port is giving me the luxury of an extra PCIe Slot.
Reply With Quote
  #208  
Old 05-02-2020, 11:19 AM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 661
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coll View Post
How is everyone handling video, specifically picture for post production? Feeding projector via HDMI from graphics card? My current system is using an AJA Kona LHi, but me thinks that won't work in the new Mac Pro. Would love to hear from anyone who is up and running with picture.

Thanks!

C.
I hope it works. LHi user here too. I'll find out when my new MP gets here in a week or so.

I reached out to AJA, and all they said was "the cards that have been tested are listed on the website". They didn't answer my question specifically about the LHi.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
7,1 MacPro, 3.2GHz 16-core, OSX 10.15
S6 M10 16-5, Dolby Atmos RMU
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
Certified for Dolby Atmos Home Entertainment
Reply With Quote
  #209  
Old 05-02-2020, 05:02 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 936
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucienpalmer View Post
Interesting. Thanks for posting that.

So Apples’s claim that the best performance comes from 6 chips or 12 chips of identical size seems to be corroborated by that test. Although not at all to the single core scores. Only multi core.
Yeah, and I guess it depends on how memory bandwidth intensive your workload is compared to GeekBench.

Edit: if anyone wants to buy my factory 4x8GB RAM, I posted something in the FS section.
Reply With Quote
  #210  
Old 05-02-2020, 05:04 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 936
Default Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nico Berthold View Post
Long time AJA Kona User here,
but for the Mac 7.1 is switched to a Blackmagic UltraStudio HD Mini,
as the Kona was giving me headaches.
I didn't`t have any problems at all so far with the UltraStudio!!

Also the UltraStudio with its TB3 Port is giving me the luxury of an extra PCIe Slot.
Likewise, I got the UltraStudio HD Mini (hanging off the thru port of an OWC Thunderbolt 3 Dock). I wanted the spare PCIe slot, and also the ability to maybe run a Video Satellite from another (sans slots) machine at some point in the future. And somehow I've managed to fill up all the other slots anyway!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com