Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-21-2007, 06:51 PM
rob4mlts rob4mlts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 7
Default Importing WAV files

I am using a Mac G5, OS X 10.4.9; digidesign 002 Rack, ProTools LE 6.9.2.

I am trying to import WAV files created on a Windows system using some other software (digital performer? not sure). I use "Import Audo to Track" and get the message "unreadable by Protools". However, QuickTime will open them and save them. Then I am able to import them as "Audio From Other Movie". This method works but all the movie files are imported as stereo even when they are mono.

Any suggestions to make this work correctly?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-22-2007, 01:07 AM
jojos jojos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 3
Default Re: Importing WAV files

Hello,

I've got the same problem. (PPC Mac G5/ os x 10.4.8 / Digi002 Rack /PT LE 7.3) Very frustrating for sure! I'm going to talk to Digidesign tomorrow -so I still have hope they can solve it.

Till then, I found a neat little file conversion app. called MAX. I converted my .wav file into an AIFF, and was able to import that into Protools. It's free. Here's the link: http://sbooth.org/Max

I'll post the solution if I get it. At least I found a work-around for now.
__________________
www.JoLynnSeaman.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-23-2007, 10:32 PM
rob4mlts rob4mlts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Importing WAV files

Thanks! I appreciate the help!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-24-2007, 01:32 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Importing WAV files

Open one of them in SoundHack and tell us the format of the data - is it PCM or (as I suspect) 32 bit IEEE floating point. Pro Tools only supports PCM audio files.

Digital Performer is Mac only BTW... Perhaps Cubase or Nuendo?

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2007, 09:00 AM
685 685 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 291
Default Re: Importing WAV files

Quote:
Open one of them in SoundHack and tell us the format of the data - is it PCM or (as I suspect) 32 bit IEEE floating point. Pro Tools only supports PCM audio files.

Digital Performer is Mac only BTW... Perhaps Cubase or Nuendo?

Rail
cosign

I have gotten several sessions to mix that were recorded in other DAWs. Even after telling the clients to make sure the files were 24bit wav. I usually have to resave each file as a 24bit wav using something like Sound Forge. Then I import with no problems
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-29-2007, 04:56 PM
rob4mlts rob4mlts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Importing WAV files

Thanks again. I tried Max and it worked however, I got the same result: a stereo file. Essentially two indentical tracks R & L, even though I was importing audio to a mono track. Do you know a way to make a stereo track mono?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-29-2007, 05:14 PM
rob4mlts rob4mlts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Importing WAV files

I had trouble downloading SoundHack. They offer a lot of freeway. I tried downloading the one actually titled "soundhack" but couldn't get it. Is that the correct software to download? Maybe the trouble was at their end?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-29-2007, 06:00 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Importing WAV files

http://www.soundhack.com/freeware.php

Soundhack 0.893 Carbon

http://music.ucsd.edu/~tre/soft//SH893.hqx

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-01-2007, 09:50 PM
rob4mlts rob4mlts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Importing WAV files

I can't get it to download. I select download and get a folder on my desktop labeled "SH893 Folder.sit" that I can't open. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-01-2007, 10:40 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Importing WAV files

You need to unstuff it. A SIT file is a stuffit compressed file.

There's a free unstuff utility.. http://www.stuffit.com/mac/index.html

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importing 32-bit files into PT9 DontLetMeDrown Pro Tools 9 1 08-24-2011 08:43 PM
Importing OMF Files forensicdoc Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-25-2005 11:35 PM
BUG WITH IMPORTING WMA FILES rsmith123 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 09-04-2002 07:18 AM
importing wav files cutman707 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-12-2001 12:46 AM
Importing .WAV files bluemt Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 09-04-2000 05:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com