Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 08-23-2013, 11:59 PM

Default Backup Plan Questions

I've been reading the thread on having a backup plan and I realized I needed to put together my own backup plan, but I have a couple of questions before I start. First, can I use any hard drive, or does it have to meet certain specifications? I know that Avid recommends using certain kinds of hard drives as audio drives, but I haven't seen anything yet on hard drives for backup. Second, how often do I need to backup my system/ when should I backup my system? I am just starting to use Pro Tools to do some basic home recordings, so I don't need the most complex backup plan. I'm not a professional, I'm just doing this as a hobby. Any advice is greatly appreciated.
Glyph GPT50 external hard drive
Old 08-24-2013, 03:33 AM

Default Re: Backup Plan Questions

For the simple backup of data (e.g PT Sessions, Audio, Samples etc), Pretty much any HD should work.

If you are talking about backing up your system (Operating system, programs etc), then you need to be able to boot from the backup / cloned HD . In which case it needs to be Firewire as USB won't work.
Old 08-24-2013, 07:55 AM

the best is to backup on a cloud like dropbox. if you store the backup in the same building as the original, it's not safe (fire, burglar...)

use synctwofolders to synchronize your backup regularly (every hour e.g.):

create a folder like "backup" (on a different drive) which you copy to a cloud e.g. with dropbox and use synctwofolders to synchronize your project folder with "backup".
Do not use your project folder as a dropbox folder!!!

You have the folder "backup" on a different drive as a simple copy and the cloud for worst case.
Old 08-24-2013, 01:28 PM