Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-05-2018, 01:59 PM
PatriotsBiker PatriotsBiker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 731
Default Izotope Nectar?

New version - v3 - is now out. I've v2 for a while. Nothing's gonna help me as far as vocals are concerned, but it did OK despite the challenge. The presets were decent starting points. I stopped using it a couple years ago, but do not remember why. It might have been to use some of the various analog sims from others that found their way to my plugins folder.

Not sure I can be all smiles and sheetcakes about paying an $149 upgrade fee, though. Sheeesh.

Anyone here tried this out yet?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-05-2018, 06:00 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,135
Default Re: Izotope Nectar?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PatriotsBiker View Post
New version - v3 - is now out. I've v2 for a while. Nothing's gonna help me as far as vocals are concerned, but it did OK despite the challenge. The presets were decent starting points. I stopped using it a couple years ago, but do not remember why. It might have been to use some of the various analog sims from others that found their way to my plugins folder.

Not sure I can be all smiles and sheetcakes about paying an $149 upgrade fee, though. Sheeesh.

Anyone here tried this out yet?
I upgraded to it. There are some things I like and some things I don't. The assistant has been sort of useless for dialogue. To radical with stuff that need to be tamed a bit.. Had to turn off most of the suggestions on some interview stuff for a short film. It could work on subtle changes though and some of the Nectar 3 stuff is really nice. Not really a fan of the harmony thing, but would be cool for creating ideas. I probably need to explore it more as I was on several deadlines over the weekend and only got it yesterday. It's probably worth the expense before it goes up. I would try it out for free. they have a fully functional trial right? I would also encourage you to look at the tutorials and testimonial demos also. They are always helpful. I still like Alloy 2 a a lot and also Nectar 2.
G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2018.7 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid HD IO
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Sierra 10.12.6, Digital Performer 9.5
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2018, 04:23 AM
simon.a.billington simon.a.billington is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 657
Default Re: Izotope Nectar?

I just updated RX. With Christmas around the corner this update may just have to wait. Sadly.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-06-2018, 12:32 PM
Righty27 Righty27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Spain
Posts: 979
Default Re: Izotope Nectar?

Not upgraded from V2 and only commenting to agree with PatriotsBiker about the upgrade fee ... just find that Izotope major updates arrive relatively regularly across their range (less so minor updates in between) and, combined with not particularly attractive upgrade pricing that possibly contributes to putting off new customers/revenues, the experience for existing customers feels too much like a stealth subscription.

FWIW, I normally keep my plugins up-to-date regardless of how much I use them but, along with Waves (one of many users who have built up a collection at recent ‘low’ prices and would now essentially have to repurchase them for negligible changes in V10, other than future OS compatibility), Nectar and Ozone are the only plugins I have intentionally allowed to lapse.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-06-2018, 01:42 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,480
Default Re: Izotope Nectar?

I love Nectar 2. It's great for dialogue, voice-over, video, podcasting and of course vocals. Everything you need in one plugin, one interface. It's even great for making wacky radio voice drops.

But, the upgrade price is a bit steep IMO. The upgrade from Music Production Suite 1 (which I already have) is $249. That's not horrible, but I already bought VocalSynth 2 and there isn't a different price for those that already have more of the plugins that are now included. But I guess we should be use to that, same for the Komplete package.

Maybe we'll get some black friday sales. Of course come the new year Ozone is due for an upgrade and they still never fixed the solo band issue with the EQ in Pro Tools
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-07-2018, 03:21 PM
Righty27 Righty27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Spain
Posts: 979
Default Re: Izotope Nectar?

FWIW Benoni, Plugin Boutique have launch offers including the upgrade from V2 ... and Izotope Neutron is included with any purchase:

https://www.pluginboutique.com/deals/show?sale_id=4510
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-07-2018, 04:14 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,480
Default Re: Izotope Nectar?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Righty27 View Post
FWIW Benoni, Plugin Boutique have launch offers including the upgrade from V2 ... and Izotope Neutron is included with any purchase:

https://www.pluginboutique.com/deals/show?sale_id=4510
I already have Neutron 2 advanced, it was included with the first Music Production Suite. I usually try to upgrade a full bundle since it's cheaper than getting them individually.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-07-2018, 07:28 PM
PatriotsBiker PatriotsBiker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 731
Default Re: Izotope Nectar?

I'm in some sort of alternate universe with the Izotope products and bundles. Too many name changes, and too many opportunities to update the bundle at the same price no matter what I have. Strange stuff.

But on the Nectar 3 - unless I see it on a decent upgrade price, I'm not even bothering. I don't sing worth a crap anyhow.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-08-2018, 01:54 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,018
Default Re: Izotope Nectar?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PatriotsBiker View Post
I'm in some sort of alternate universe with the Izotope products and bundles. Too many name changes, and too many opportunities to update the bundle at the same price no matter what I have. Strange stuff.
Yes, I have almost everything in the Music Production Bundle, but they just give a single discount for one product multiple times, so it ultimately represents poor value.

Oh well. Nothing in any of the bundles looks especially tempting given what I have, and moreover the workflow in Nectar 3 isn't the one I use, since it wants to take over the duties of all inserts and sends at once. Neutron 2's analysing thing can be quite handy for EQ at times, but expanding it out to include all these creative choices feels redundant - I'd rather use Neutron EQ where appropriate and my own compressor, reverb, delays etc.

This is a pretty easy update to pass up.
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk

PT 2018HD; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Izotope Nectar 2 bradch00 AAX Plug-ins 16 10-30-2013 05:35 PM
Izotope Nectar Elements mccoyrare@yahoo.com Pro Tools 10 4 10-13-2013 09:45 PM
Izotope Nectar AAX issue (Pro Tools 11) soldavox AAX Plug-ins 7 09-04-2013 10:08 AM
iZotope announces Ozone 5 and Nectar AAX sunburst79 AAX Plug-ins 26 02-04-2013 06:17 PM
iZotope Nectar in Post Craig F Post - Surround - Video 4 03-01-2012 06:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com