Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-10-2019, 02:49 AM
marclop marclop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 53
Default Red Line across timeline

Hi everyone, I was wondering if any of you has experienced this before and how did you solve this? I attached a picture from my timeline.

Thank you for your time and help,
Marco
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Red Line.jpg (23.5 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-10-2019, 03:08 AM
henningaround henningaround is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 79
Default Re: Red Line across timeline

Quote:
Originally Posted by marclop View Post
Hi everyone, I was wondering if any of you has experienced this before and how did you solve this? I attached a picture from my timeline.



Thank you for your time and help,

Marco
I think that's the playhead when working with continuous scrolling while locked to a 9-pin master?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-10-2019, 03:24 AM
marclop marclop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 53
Default Re: Red Line across timeline

Quote:
Originally Posted by henningaround View Post
I think that's the playhead when working with continuous scrolling while locked to a 9-pin master?
Hi,

I am using the "No Scrolling" option and the HD OMNI is connected to the MacPro. There's no locking to a 9 pin-master.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-10-2019, 03:53 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,426
Default Re: Red Line across timeline

I think the red line marks the position where PT will start writing or something like that. Can't remember 100%. I think it's the AutoJoin feature in the auto enable window. Should be in the manual.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-2019, 04:43 AM
henningaround henningaround is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 79
Default Re: Red Line across timeline

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
I think the red line marks the position where PT will start writing or something like that. Can't remember 100%. I think it's the AutoJoin feature in the auto enable window. Should be in the manual.
Oh yes, that's true! Playhead is a black line, AutoJoin is red!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-10-2019, 07:25 AM
marclop marclop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 53
Default Re: Red Line across timeline

Thank you both so much!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-10-2019, 08:17 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,117
Default Re: Red Line across timeline

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
I think the red line marks the position where PT will start writing or something like that. Can't remember 100%. I think it's the AutoJoin feature in the auto enable window. Should be in the manual.
AutoJoin picks up latch automation after a stop and restart. Super useful for those times when you're crashing through a mix at high-speed. The only rule to be aware of is that if you stop and go back, and start writing automation again and stop before the line, you erase the AutoJoin buffer. You have to hit the line on every pass for it to remember.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grr.. Link Timeline Edit Track Edit Timeline Selection confusion deepfrequencies macOS 3 02-06-2014 03:40 PM
protools 10 clip gain line /volume line alidav Pro Tools 10 3 03-09-2013 06:21 PM
EQing dialog line by line eyrelight Post - Surround - Video 1 09-16-2010 07:49 AM
Line In Line Out Monitor Problem Connecticut 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-02-2010 08:40 PM
Timeline Mystery-why PB doesn't snap to #9 line? DVDave 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-11-2004 02:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com