Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #251  
Old 10-18-2019, 10:39 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,909
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by babaorum View Post
I say Bye Bye subscribe i will not renew next month , all features are only for Ultimate , Athmos or postprod .... I have a 2019.06 with I'm satisfied ... I will not continue to pay features that I'll never use in my live ciao arrivedercci ...
Bye bye ..
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #252  
Old 10-18-2019, 11:29 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,103
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexLakis View Post
Are you guys not printing your tracks for archiving?
Of course we are, but there are always some that don't and blame others for own mistakes
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #253  
Old 10-18-2019, 11:46 AM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 238
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by babaorum View Post
I say Bye Bye subscribe i will not renew next month , all features are only for Ultimate , Athmos or postprod .... I have a 2019.06 with I'm satisfied ... I will not continue to pay features that I'll never use in my live ciao arrivedercci ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Bye bye ..
I don't know how I'm going to continue on...
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 36GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #254  
Old 10-18-2019, 12:02 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,909
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by off the wall View Post
I don't know how I'm going to continue on...


I dont like to see people leave so my Bye Bye was more a ”wink” to the guy who I quoted and nothing serious.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #255  
Old 10-18-2019, 03:04 PM
babaorum babaorum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: france
Posts: 89
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by off the wall View Post
I don't know how I'm going to continue on...
Ultimate & HDX it's easy for you I told about a basic PT Vanilla subscribe which I'm less less concerned by the last updates
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.x Eucontrol v18 - Cubase 10.x 64bits- Windows 10 pro 64bits - wavelab element 9.5.x - core i9 9900K - 32 Go RAM - 500 Go SSD + 750 Go SSD + 4.750 To HDD. ANTELOPE Discrete 4.
Ideal-Sound Not_To_Flow
Reply With Quote
  #256  
Old 10-18-2019, 04:44 PM
WombatStudio.Org's Avatar
WombatStudio.Org WombatStudio.Org is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Gibbsboro, NJ
Posts: 530
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Eventually, this won’t be enough and they will lose customers... perhaps in droves. At that point, it’s too late.
I've seen that sentiment many times over the years - I may have even said it? But, this forum is busy as always with the people who love Pro Tools and can't understand Avid.

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
If only avid would not have to chase apples tail all the time they might have the ability to actually have forward thinking designs instead of trailing all the time, chasing the latest Apple update
I see people blame Apple all the time too. Apple releases their OS to developers in advance so they can be ready when the time comes. In some cases, developers aren't ready in time and send emails to their customers to not upgrade, etc.

I thought PT went 64bit when they "rewrote from scratch" and that's when RTAS went away? Was that 10 or 11? I don't remember - but all software developers have had the opportunity to go 64bit for a very long time. Never made sense not to take full advantage of the manufactured CPU.

Anyway, my 2’ as I pulled a two-year payment so $198 for 2 years rather than $199 for 1 year. Everyone keeps saying they doubled the price, if that were true, it'd be $198/yr. It's actually MORE than doubled. Avid is absolutely consistent in that little detail, those $1s will add up.
__________________
WombatStudio.Org • Digital Recording, Mixing and Mastering in Gibbsboro, NJ • USA
"It's not the gear ... it's the ear"
Reply With Quote
  #257  
Old 10-18-2019, 05:19 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,103
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by WombatStudio.Org View Post
I thought PT went 64bit when they "rewrote from scratch" and that's when RTAS went away? Was that 10 or 11?
PT application went 64bit in v11 but there are still some so called "frameworks" that are 32bit and need to be 64bit until PT can launch on Catalina
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #258  
Old 10-18-2019, 05:30 PM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 238
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by babaorum View Post
Ultimate & HDX it's easy for you I told about a basic PT Vanilla subscribe which I'm less less concerned by the last updates
My comment was more of a wink wink jab jab at how I was ever going to survive after you left.

My sarcasm and witty humor isn't always appreciated.

I'm not happy about paying $400/machine/year (one at home and 10+ at work -- at least that's not MY money although I have to fight for it). To not even get prompt OS compatibility upgrades is annoying but there is no "real" choice. It's the cost of doing business. Anything other than Pro Tools is a non-starter in my business.

We used to complain about the $1000/year Pro Tools upgrade cost but at least you could safely avoid a couple of years of those with no penalty of jumping back in when you felt the need. That all changed with PT 10(?) when it started saving file formats that couldn't be opened in 9. Lots of headaches there. Previously you'd just get a notice that some features would not be supported.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 36GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #259  
Old 10-18-2019, 05:41 PM
Jazzbass56 Jazzbass56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: LA
Posts: 406
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Blow Tools... 2 updates for bug fixes for 400.00...
__________________
Intel Intel Core i7-5930K 3.5 GHz Processor
ASUS X99-PRO/USB 3.1 Motherboard,64 gb crucial DDR4 ram
Thunderbolt EX 2
Windows 10 Pro
................................
2013 MacBook Pro Retina i7 Quad core, 16gb ram.
Mac OSX 10.11.6
...........
Mac Pro (Late 2013)
2.7 Ghz 12-Core Intel Xeon E5
Memory 128 GB 1866 MHZ DDR3
Graphics AMD FirePro D700 6144 MB

PT Ultimate 2019.6 on Mac
PT Ultimate 2019.6 on Windows
Logic Pro X 10.4.6
Nuendo 10.1
...........
Apollo X8 and Apollo X6 Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #260  
Old 10-18-2019, 05:47 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,103
Default Re: Are we not due an update??!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by off the wall View Post
My sarcasm and witty humor isn't always appreciated.
I can relate to that
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Update Module Firmware message after 3.7 update WildHoney Pro Tools | S6 1 10-21-2017 12:28 PM
Sierra 10.10.6 - To COMBO update - or App Store Update ? Seafoam_Green macOS 4 09-15-2017 02:19 PM
HD Native cant Update Firmware after installing PT9.0.5 Update Aditu Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 72 11-27-2012 04:57 PM
10.3 Update - Windows shutdown issue has returned. Update at your own risk. crm0510 Windows 14 09-19-2012 02:50 PM
10.5.6 update. Is it safe to apply the system update from 10.5.5? SBCCMusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 02-02-2009 03:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com