Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-25-2019, 12:21 PM
milesofwire milesofwire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: California
Posts: 445
Default PT 6.4.1 link down

Not really sure I’m going to need it, I think I’m backed up, but it’s been two moves and several years since I’ve sparked up my rig, I’ve found most of it.
I was able to find the legacy download section but forgot to bookmark it, now I’m having a time finding it again.
But I did notice that the 6.4.1 download link doesn’t work.

Milesofwire
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2019, 02:01 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,351
Default Re: PT 6.4.1 link down

Most of the links on the old archives are broken now. Haven’t been there for a while, fortunately I have the installers I need backed up. There are still a few other people running mix rigs that come around here, so if you end up needing an installer you can’t find someone (myself included) probably has it backed up.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2019, 05:45 PM
milesofwire milesofwire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: California
Posts: 445
Default Re: PT 6.4.1 link down

Thanks John, I’m pretty sure I backed them all up as well, I won’t know until I fire it all up.
I used to be one of the guys giving advice and help on all the vintage TDM systems, now that I’ve been out of it, I feel like such a nube!

If I remember right, there is a particular Digi system Ini, and a specific version of digitest to run and test a MIX system.

Last edited by milesofwire; 03-25-2019 at 06:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-05-2019, 10:45 PM
Akakgak Akakgak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: L.A.
Posts: 23
Default Re: PT 6.4.1 link down

Hey all,

I'm rebuilding a "new" G4 rig and don't have the 6.4.2 installer. Any links on rebuilding the rig would be appreciated. I have my original 6.1 installs and passwords, but having trouble getting back to 6.4.2cs3.

My rock solid Dual 533 (purchased May, 2001) mix cube gave up the ghost (power supply, I believe. I'd replaced once before.) I bought a Dual 1.25 years ago as a backup and am looking to build that out, but it's a slog right now. My PT / G4 maintenance chops are rusty to say the least, because the rig was bullet proof for so long.

Any help getting me running again is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-09-2019, 10:46 PM
Akakgak Akakgak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: L.A.
Posts: 23
Default Re: PT 6.4.1 link down

Hey all,

I found my 6.4.1 install, as well as they 6.4.1cs2 - cs4 installs if anyone needs them. I'm happy to share.

That Avid wouldn't, at a minimum, offer the last good version of TDM software on a link isn't reasonable. There were thousands of professional records done with that software. Backwards compatible though subsequent versions may be for the edits, the 3rd party plugs may not be.

One of the things I hated about ProTools in my professional L.A. recording days, was Digidesign's "We don't have to care: we're the phone company" attitude because they had such a lock on the market in professional recording. It was one of the reasons I never bought another Digi product after I left L.A. Happy to see all the legit alternatives as I look to get a new rig.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-10-2019, 02:20 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,101
Default Re: PT 6.4.1 link down

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akakgak View Post
My rock solid Dual 533 (purchased May, 2001) mix cube gave up the ghost (power supply, I believe. I'd replaced once before.) I bought a Dual 1.25 years ago as a backup and am looking to build that out, but it's a slog right now.
There is a good chance you can get your old system up and running simply by installing the old cube hard drive to your backup tower
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-13-2019, 02:12 PM
Grey Grey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 288
Default Re: PT 6.4.1 link down

+1

My archives goes back to PT 3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
would auto-link link other wrong files? Rockman413 Tips & Tricks 1 07-02-2014 01:56 PM
PT HD CORE & HD ACCEL + SSL Delta Link + SSL Alpha Link Noizz focushocuspocus Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-29-2012 09:12 PM
Pro Tools Playback Issues at 88.2 with Delta Link / Alpha Link - Any ideas? azirkin macOS 1 01-17-2012 02:30 AM
PTHD 8 and SSL Delta Link / Alpha Link. Compatible? sonicam Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-24-2009 03:08 AM
Digital Audio Extraction Link. Is this a good link? GuitarEasley General Discussion 0 04-16-2002 10:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com