Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2014, 05:37 PM
mickeyrouse mickeyrouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Beaumont, Texas
Posts: 163
Default Can't make initial launch of PT 11

After the ordeal of trial and error of iLock and it's supposed handshaking w/ PT 11 (God only knows if it's going to work every time) I can't get this damned thing to launch. First it tells me that is a naming issue (Mark? Sally? Bubba?) with the NTFS drives. Wha? And there may be loss of plug-in authorization. Plug-in What? Then the next thing says there is an improper or missing authorization of Elastic Audio. Hmm, that's not in the manual either....And that they failed to load. So? Oh and I couldn't make the requested moves to an unused folder. And then the ASIO device is configured for an unsupported buffer size. And shuts down. Honest, I have never done anything regarding buffer sizes.
I'm sure this going to be really great and all, but right now my old Sonar X1 is looking better all the time.
Any clues? Hints? Help?
Mickey in Texas
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2014, 05:51 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,860
Default Re: Can't make initial launch of PT 11

Nowhere near enough info to really help.
Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!
post a Sandra report and what you are using as an interface. Re the first issue of drive names, just rename any drive that has a name that is longer than 11 characters(a space is a character).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2014, 11:06 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,905
Default Re: Can't make initial launch of PT 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by mickeyrouse View Post
it tells me that is a naming issue (Mark? Sally? Bubba?) with the NTFS drives. Wha?
If your drive/s are named with more than 11 characters, just right click on the drive letter/s and rename them to a name with less than 11 characters.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-08-2014, 06:09 AM
mickeyrouse mickeyrouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Beaumont, Texas
Posts: 163
Default Re: Can't make initial launch of PT 11

It doesn't appear that my only drive has any name other than "C".
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2014, 09:13 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,860
Default Re: Can't make initial launch of PT 11

Once again, post a Sandra report
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-08-2014, 10:27 AM
mickeyrouse mickeyrouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Beaumont, Texas
Posts: 163
Default Re: Can't make initial launch of PT 11

Using my iPad. Sandra not available for it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-08-2014, 10:30 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,432
Default Re: Can't make initial launch of PT 11

Well when you get back to your PC, post a Sandra report run on it and maybe folks here will be able to help you.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-08-2014, 10:35 AM
mickeyrouse mickeyrouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Beaumont, Texas
Posts: 163
Default Re: Can't make initial launch of PT 11

I think "Sandra" wants to talk about this, tho:
Using a custom-assembled clone computer w 4 G. Ram.
dual core processor
Windows 7, 64 bit.
Universal Audio Quad 4 interface.
Dedicated computer, single drive.
Pro tools 11.1.1 (downloaded 1-7-14 at 3:20 CST)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-08-2014, 10:43 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,432
Default Re: Can't make initial launch of PT 11

What exact interface? An UAD Apollo Quad? Apollo 16 Quad? Something else? And what exact driver version is installed? Include that info with your Sandra report.

What playback engine are you trying to use? Hold down 'N' while Pro Tools is starting and select the UAD interface there you are tryign to use. What are all the choices that show up.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-08-2014, 10:48 AM
mickeyrouse mickeyrouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Beaumont, Texas
Posts: 163
Default Re: Can't make initial launch of PT 11

I'm at home just now. Will be a couple hours before I get to the studio, will chase tech details down then. Universal Audio Apollo Quad 4. No UAD plug ins. Apollo driver is latest available in October, but don't know how to confirm driver version.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help With Initial Set Up of MAC PRO DEXTERITY 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 04-08-2007 02:14 PM
initial m box installation terguth 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-08-2005 03:52 PM
Help on initial installation . . . GeorgeV419 Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 06-25-2002 06:51 PM
PROTOOLS 5.1.1 INITIAL LAUNCH HANG bumpman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 08-23-2001 06:16 PM
Initial Set-up Questions Paul Alvarez 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-22-2000 04:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com