Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-2010, 11:52 AM
SD2 SD2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 178
Default PT9 and its options (CPTK, Digitranslator...)

Hello there,

I have a question and can't find a precise answer.
here's the scenario.
I have two stations: one PTLE and one PTHD(3).

I've just bought the PT9 upgrade and also bought the DVToolkit to CPTK upgrade.
The question is: what will happen to both DVToolkit2 and Digitranslator licences?
Will they both be replaced (=trashed) by the CPTK on my Iloks?...

If so, I'm afraid it will mean that I wont be able to:
1/Open PTLE8 (with DvToolkit options), which I still wish to use for a week or two (until PT9 is fully functionnal on it's dedicated drive and OS).
2/Use Digitranslator to open OMF/AAF on the HD station.

Any idea/experience?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-27-2010, 11:57 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: PT9 and its options (CPTK, Digitranslator...)

Well u do realize that u hav all the same functions with the CPTK rite? So u aren't losing anything although u will lose the license but I'm not sure that should be much of a worry...

Toolkit works with 9 as well... & are these 2 different iloks?
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-27-2010, 12:10 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: PT9 and its options (CPTK, Digitranslator...)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SD2 View Post
Hello there,

I have a question and can't find a precise answer.
here's the scenario.
I have two stations: one PTLE and one PTHD(3).

I've just bought the PT9 upgrade and also bought the DVToolkit to CPTK upgrade.
The question is: what will happen to both DVToolkit2 and Digitranslator licences?
Will they both be replaced (=trashed) by the CPTK on my Iloks?...

If so, I'm afraid it will mean that I wont be able to:
1/Open PTLE8 (with DvToolkit options), which I still wish to use for a week or two (until PT9 is fully functionnal on it's dedicated drive and OS).
2/Use Digitranslator to open OMF/AAF on the HD station.

Any idea/experience?
Thanks
You get to keep Digitranslater. You will have to surrender the DVTK2 asset to get the CPTK2 asset. If you need to continue working in PTLE 8.0 with the DVTK2 you should get a hold of Avid CSA and they will deposit a 2 year NFR DVTK2 asset to your iLok account to use with PTLE 8.0

IHTH
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-27-2010, 12:18 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: PT9 and its options (CPTK, Digitranslator...)

to add...there was another cat in the same bind and he called Avid support, and IIRC they issued him a 2 yr DVTK NFR license since he would lose that functionality on his PT8 system once he surrendered the DVTK for his CPTK2 upgrade. i would think the same type of call would be the only way to 'try' to maintain your current functionality on both systems as you upgrade
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-27-2010, 01:40 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: PT9 and its options (CPTK, Digitranslator...)

Unless you need to use the HD and the LE at the same time, it would have made more sense to just buy the PT9 HD upgrade. That way you'd have the functionality of CPTK and Digitranslator on both setups. You would just install the PT9 HD software on your computer that uses LE, and you could run the software that way, with all functionality, with whatever interface you want, including your current LE interface.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-29-2010, 03:35 AM
SD2 SD2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 178
Default Re: PT9 and its options (CPTK, Digitranslator...)

Thanks for the heads up guys.
That confirms what I thought. I'll try asking for a NFR, sounds like a good idea.
As far as PT9 is concerned, I have to admit that, when I picked the upgrade, I thought V9 now included both the LE and HD version. And then I saw there was also a HD upgrade...
Anyway, not that bad since I can't use PTHD9 right now. PTHD runs on a G5 (PCI ports) and I've planed a hardware upgrade to PCI-e cards but not before one month or two (and my rseller says PT9 should come along with the new cards).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-29-2010, 05:01 PM
L-Dogg L-Dogg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 583
Default Re: PT9 and its options (CPTK, Digitranslator...)

They gave me one year for some reason.
__________________
MBPR i7, 2.8 GHz, 16GB RAM,Yosemite|Mac Pro 2.66 Quad, 6GB RAM 10.6.8| Pro Tools 10 w/CPTK2|002R, Eleven Rack|Velvet|Spectrasonics Omnisphere, Trilian, Stylus RMX| Garritan Libraries-J&BB,Personal Orchestra4,Instant Orchestra| Sibelius 6| Reason 4| Drumcore3| EZ Drummer-Superior Drummer 2.0-Drumtracker|Izotope- RX2,Iris,Ozone 4| East West- Silk, RA, Gypsy, Fab Four, Voices of Passion, Symphonic Choirs, StormDrum2, Symphonic Orchestra Plat.Plus| VEPro|Symphobia
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-30-2010, 07:22 AM
SD2 SD2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 178
Default Re: PT9 and its options (CPTK, Digitranslator...)

Now, I have to find a way to reach AVID....
Support seems to be kinda overwhelmed.
All I could do was to leave a message. Two days ago...
Will it be answered?...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT9 + CPTK upgrading to 11 with CPTK functionality but without hardware? Race macOS 1 09-18-2013 09:23 PM
PT10.0.1 and CPTK only there's no CPTK features unlocked Oblivion777 Pro Tools 10 8 02-28-2012 08:55 AM
CPTK 1 + CPTK 2 question boabyd23 macOS 2 10-24-2011 07:13 AM
Original CPTK works as CPTK 2 ? JanuS Pro Tools 9 5 11-08-2010 08:40 AM
Digitranslator prob with Import Mapping Options window EricWillhelm Post - Surround - Video 0 08-24-2010 06:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com