Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-05-2008, 12:16 PM
Ravenheart Ravenheart is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Default ProTools Prerelease

I see word on the main DigiDesign page of ProTools prerelease 7.4.2pr. Is it recommended that MacBook Pro users running ProTools LE and an Mbox upgrade their operating systems and ProTools to this version?

We have a MacBook Pro running 10.5 (is that different from 10.5.1?) and a version of ProTools 7.4 with file dates from late October/early November. A Digidesign phone support person suggested in late February that I try this ProTools version, but now it seems it's unsupported. It seems to work well, except for a recurring "You are running out of CPU power" error box. A perhaps safer alternative might be to try harder to resolve that.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-05-2008, 02:31 PM
perceive perceive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 17
Default Re: ProTools Prerelease

Have you made sure you have set your RTAS processors to n - 1?

So if you have two cores, like my MBP, you only use one CPU core for RTAS. If you have four, only use three?

That is a fix for the new pre-release but may work for you as well..

as to the upgrade it worked fine for me ... others seem to be having issues so it is a little hit andmiss... I would say if you don't need it then wait for the proper release...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-05-2008, 03:41 PM
Ravenheart Ravenheart is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: ProTools Prerelease

Perceive, thanks. Where is that setting? I saw that noted in another thread, looked, but didn't turn it up.

[edit]Never mind--here, I have found it. We'll see how that works.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 8.0.3pr Snow Leopard Prerelease blackpoetry Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-04-2009 06:19 PM
Pro Tools Prerelease Now Available for Mac OS X Snow Leopard Gemylon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 17 09-30-2009 06:53 PM
Mac OS X Snow Leopard Pro Tools Prerelease Now Available Avid Technical Alerts 0 09-24-2009 12:08 PM
Protools Mpowered Leopard prerelease problems , plz help ! vanhaze2000 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 06-14-2008 02:12 PM
XP service pack 3 prerelease tamasdragon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-11-2008 01:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com