Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 05-26-2020, 08:10 AM
mkosacek mkosacek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 346
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5 GUI FREAK OUT on Windows 10

I'm pretty sure it has something to do with the dual displays I have, but it works fine with 2019.12 (and as far as I recall, every 2018 and 2019 build prior to that). They changed something in the 2020.x builds that broke it. Today I'm back on 2019.12 and it's working fine, but I don't get the new features even though I'm paying my annual support fees.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.12
UAD Apollo 16 (v9.11)
Dell XPS (i5-7400)
Win10
www.studiodrumtracks.com
www.doubledogrecording.com
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-26-2020, 09:27 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,534
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5 GUI FREAK OUT on Windows 10

Curious indeed! FWIW, I see none of that here in any version of PT thru 2020.5.
I do have a 4K screen(a 43" LED TV), but I run it at 1920x1080 with scaling set to none(100%). I tried running at 4K, but everything was way too small for me
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-28-2020, 06:51 PM
jrgillam jrgillam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 23
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5 GUI FREAK OUT on Windows 10

The new fun problem with my system is that track freeze and offline bounce aren't working. I guess I shouldn't be surprised. All you have to do is look at the ugly and inconsistent window borders and grey background to know that Avid is fine with giving a big middle finger to Windows PT users. I love Pro Tools and I think Avid has done a great job implementing many new features, but I sometimes I feel a bit cross with them.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-29-2020, 06:24 AM
mkosacek mkosacek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 346
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5 GUI FREAK OUT on Windows 10

Avid support finally stopped reading me the script and asked for logs - which I provided. they do show several asserts and stack traces so i am hopeful that it leads to identifying a fix.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.12
UAD Apollo 16 (v9.11)
Dell XPS (i5-7400)
Win10
www.studiodrumtracks.com
www.doubledogrecording.com
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-29-2020, 06:55 PM
BCnSTL's Avatar
BCnSTL BCnSTL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Flyover states, USA
Posts: 203
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5 GUI FREAK OUT on Windows 10

My system is doing the same thing. Windows 10 - PT 2020.5 - Edit window is totally janked. I'm coming from macOS and my windows experience has S U C K E D.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-30-2020, 12:29 AM
polycorn polycorn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Posts: 34
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5 GUI FREAK OUT on Windows 10

I was advised to use DDU by Guru3D (google it) to remove my display drivers completely and then reinstall them using custom installation and to uncheck anything GForce Experience related.

To be thorough I booted in safe mode when removing the drivers.

Like you I come from Mac. Have used nothing else but apple in the studio for almost 20 years. But it’s ok, it takes time to find my way. My apple did not have less problems, they were familiar problems.

Give it time, I’m sure you will feel at home in this environment some day.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-30-2020, 06:49 AM
thebeatless thebeatless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 56
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5 GUI FREAK OUT on Windows 10

Thanks for sharing! Any idea what equivalent install options should be selected/deselected for Radeon graphics cards?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-30-2020, 07:08 AM
polycorn polycorn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Posts: 34
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5 GUI FREAK OUT on Windows 10

I’m afraid I can’t help you there.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-30-2020, 02:07 PM
BCnSTL's Avatar
BCnSTL BCnSTL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Flyover states, USA
Posts: 203
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5 GUI FREAK OUT on Windows 10

FWIW - I’m running an i7-9900k and using the Intel UHD 630 integrated graphics driving a Dell 38” UltraSharp widescreen monitor.

I changed the display settings from 3840x1600 with display scaling set at %150 to 2560x1080 with scaling set to %100 and wow - what a difference. No GUI weirdness and System Usage dropped considerably.

I was ready to chuck this PC and go back to my Mac.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 06-02-2020, 11:42 AM
thebeatless thebeatless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 56
Default Re: Pro Tools 2020.5 GUI FREAK OUT on Windows 10

Issue still solved for you guys? Maybe I should get a different graphics card so I can use the fix mentioned above, or maybe a different display? I can't set my scaling at 100% and be happy with the results. Everything is either too big, or too small.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox Pro 3 on Windows 10 with Pro Tools 2020.3 unkJE FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 1 05-22-2020 02:27 AM
Windows 10 - PT 2020.3 - Exporting Video lowlights Pro Tools 2020 0 05-05-2020 02:24 PM
Pro Tools 2020.3 in Windows 10 StillHollow Windows 8 04-19-2020 06:51 PM
Pro Tools (2020.3) on MacBook Air 2020 compatibility pellekuipers Pro Tools 2020 1 04-04-2020 08:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com