Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-17-2020, 12:20 PM
murph16 murph16 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ft.Lauderdale, FL USA
Posts: 731
Default Help! - with mBox 2 Mini and Windows 10

Hi Guys,
Long time no see.

I need to do some remote voicetracking for my radio station company and someone is lending me an mBox2 mini for my Windows 10 PC. I looked over all of the compatibility sheets and see that combo doesn't work for ProTools.

How about just as a basic soundcard in/out WITHOUT ProTools? Will the mBox2 mini be recognized and stay associated with Windows 10, even if there aren't any supported drivers? I'll be using my Mac system with proTools to do my creating and then inserting into WideOrbit software with the PC.

I was going to pick up the box tomorrow and try it but I wanted to ask around in here first.

Is Mbox2 Mini too old to be compatible with Windows10 for a basic I/O card?

Thanks in advance for your knowledge!
__________________
Bill Murphy
www.murphonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-17-2020, 01:56 PM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,907
Default Re: Help! - with mBox 2 Mini and Windows 10

You might still be able to use a Win 7 driver on Win 10. I've done it previously for my Project Mix IO I had. You will need to make sure the driver is the same platform as your OS (32bit vs 64bit).

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/d...2-Mini-Drivers

If it where me, I'd find a used Focusrite Scarlete 2i2 or something though.

Joel
__________________
Jam Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Asus B450 Pro4 / Ryzen 5 2600 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2020 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-17-2020, 02:31 PM
murph16 murph16 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ft.Lauderdale, FL USA
Posts: 731
Default Re: Help! - with mBox 2 Mini and Windows 10

Yea, I could even use the most basic/cheapest of 2in/2out boxes I could find. I'm only trying to fool the company's network into thinking I'm doing audio AND using the broadcast software (which I will be) on the same PC system. The 2 ins and outs are just gonna go in and out of my Mac's Digi002.
(Yea, I'm an old schooler who stopped at OSX10.8.5 and ProTools 10.3)

Thanks so much for the reply. I thought the same thing. I was just trying this free option before I drop the 80 big ones on a proven compatible option. haha
__________________
Bill Murphy
www.murphonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-20-2020, 05:08 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,525
Default Re: Help! - with mBox 2 Mini and Windows 10

Why not just use the Mac setup?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox 2 mini Windows 7 PT 12 PhilG Pro Tools 12 6 08-02-2016 02:35 PM
mbox 2 mini on windows pc marc2627 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-01-2010 11:49 AM
mbox 2 mini on windows pc marc2627 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 05-24-2010 11:22 AM
Mbox mini @ Windows 7 sonicapg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-10-2010 05:32 PM
windows does not see Mbox mini - pls help knifegoeson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 02-19-2007 11:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com