Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-16-2019, 05:03 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,734
Default Dialogue Assembly / Conform

Hello fellow DUCers.

Here's a question that I know has been asked before, but I'm having trouble finding an answer for this specifically.

I'm starting an Indi film, and am going through the AAF they provided. They edited off of some mix track that wasn't even the mix track off of the production sound mixer's files.

Editors exported an EDL and provided all of the production audio to me, but I’m not able to re-link the actual poly files to their edit either through EdiLoad or using the field recorder workflow in PT. Field recorder workflow looks like it's just matching it to many duplicates of the same track.

The poly files from production have lots of metadata and the splits sound so much better than the files they’re using in the AAF, but it’d take years to hand sync based on the naming discrepancies. Is there any way to create a pro tools session with every production audio file, spot to original timecode or something, and then conform those to the AAF? Any other option?

I can provide EDLs, screenshots, or whatever anybody might need to give me a helping hand. I'm not opposed to buying reasonably priced software if it'll for sure get the job done, too.

Thanks in advance!!

-Ryan
__________________
-Ryan Young

•2019 Mac Pro 3.5 GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon W - 48 GB 2666 MHz DDR4 (OS 10.15.5) •HD Native PCIe, HD Omni, 192 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •Avid S3 + Dock •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •5.1 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

Additional Systems

•2010 Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon - 48 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native PCIe, 192 I/o, 96 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x4), McControl (x1), JLCooper Surround panner for D-Command ES, Avid Control •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •7.1.4 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

•2017 MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz i7 - 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native TB, HD Omni, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x1), McControl (x1), Avid Control * or * D-Command ES Main Unit •Fed into whichever system is the main system

Last edited by Ryan Young; 11-16-2019 at 06:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-17-2019, 02:03 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,196
Default Re: Dialogue Assembly / Conform

Hey Ryan,
Surprised EdiLoad didn’t work, maybe try Kraken (disclaimer: written by a friend of mine but it is good!) http://krakensoftware.co.uk

Cheers,
Pete
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-17-2019, 03:59 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 677
Default Re: Dialogue Assembly / Conform

If that mix track doesn't have the original metadata in it, it will never re-link to anything.


EDL is one way to go, with Kraken as Pete says.


Personally I'd get an edit assist to conform the sound rushes to the picture and re-deliver it to you.
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.14.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, 888 IO, 192 IO, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, PT Dock, PT Control, PT 2020.3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-2019, 05:00 AM
ubxf ubxf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: LA
Posts: 62
Default Re: Dialogue Assembly / Conform

you might want to give this a try.
https://www.synchroarts.com/products/titan/overview
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-17-2019, 06:33 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,496
Default Re: Dialogue Assembly / Conform

It's hard to see from those low res screenshots but to me it looks like you were given a regular CMX EDL which truncates any source names to 8 or 10 characters and 999 events. This leads to wrong results as different material will look the same to the conforming software. Ask the cutting room for a file32 format EDL which won't truncate long names contained in it and try again.

file32 should be the default for any EDL exports nowadays because usually no one incl. cameras stick to 8-character naming anymore.

Unless I am on the wrong path here and those are in fact correct EDLs?

That being said, the field recorder workflow using the AAF should work regardless as the EDL isn't needed. Could be a million reasons. match criteria set wrong, AAF with stripped meta-data (use a non embedded AAF to check) or both. Very hard to diagnose. What are your match criteria settings and can you make more hi-res screenshots? If you get that to work you won't need to mess around with EDLs in the first place which saves a ton of time.

F.
__________________
PTHDn 2020.5 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron

Last edited by Frank Kruse; 11-17-2019 at 06:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-17-2019, 02:23 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 778
Default Re: Dialogue Assembly / Conform

Would it be possible to sync the audio using something waveform based? Like Resolve or PluralEyes?
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5. OSX 10.14.6. HDX1. Avid Omni. Mac Pro 2013. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. AJA XT IO. Sync HD. Dobly Production Suite 3.4.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-18-2019, 01:06 PM
mfranken's Avatar
mfranken mfranken is offline
Sounds In Sync
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 243
Default Re: Dialogue Assembly / Conform

Ryan looking at your EDL screen shot (from what I can just make out) it looks like it contains the WAV Sound Roll name in the clip name column. You can use the EdiLoad column transfer window to transfer this info into the Roll Name column. You can also use the EDL cleaning function to reduce the track count before exporting the conform reference tracks. See the video in the following blog post for more info on how to manipulate an EDL in EdiLoad for conforms:

https://www.soundsinsync.com/blog/cu...-using-ediload

I’d also be happy to look at your files if you email them to me or you can send via the support page. Best to send all EDLs and send an XLS file by opening the WAV file list window, drop the parent folder containing all location WAVs onto it and export the XLS file. I’ll be able to use the XLS file to see what metadata is contained with your WAVs.

Regards,

Mark
__________________
Mark Franken, MPSE
Dialogue editor/supervisor IMDb
Creator of 'EDI' applications for sound post editors
www.soundsinsync.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Control 24 fader pcb assembly Davidwilson ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 0 06-17-2019 12:39 AM
Production Assembly?? Naylorfreak Post - Surround - Video 0 04-06-2012 12:04 PM
Anyone still using Loco/Titan? Need to do some re-assembly mondoJML Post - Surround - Video 4 04-21-2008 01:38 PM
auto conform but no Post Conform Richard Fairbanks Post - Surround - Video 5 03-21-2004 10:35 AM
computer assembly question in10shun 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-13-2002 03:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com