Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 12-28-2010, 05:33 AM

Default Could someone give me a bit of technical help?

Hello all, I'm completely new to recording and M-Audio programs so apologies for any stupid questions in advance.

I thought I'd move from the playing realm into the recording realm with my guitar since I've created a few licks, riffs and what not. Bought an M-Audio Fast Track interface and it came with Pro Tools M-Powered Essential (the fact that they've basically just bundled a 'demo' version of the proper recording software with it doesn't annoy me as much as I thought it would do since I was half expecting, and to be honest if I really get into this recording lark I'll more than likely spend the £120 to upgrade to the full version but still...) it but I can't seem to get it to record my electric guitar.

Probably doesn't make any difference but I'm using a PC.

I've been trying the following steps to try and record my guitar but they aren't working:

1. Create a new audio track
2. Select the correct input in the mix window (mono input 2 for guitar)
3. Press the record enable button
4. Press the record button on the transport window
5. Press play and start playing
6. Press stop
7. Listen to what has been recorded

Ok now a couple of things here. Firstly, when I create a new audio track and switch the input to input 2 in the mix window, there is absolutely no incoming guitar signal going to the audio track. The only way I can get a visible guitar signal on the level monitor is by creating an 'instrument track' rather than a mono 'audio track'.